Concerned About Proper Airflow in P180; Suggestions Please!!

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

MarcusAurelius

Concerned About Proper Airflow in P180; Suggestions Please!!

Post by MarcusAurelius » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:30 pm

Well, this is my first post in this forum, HELLO! and THANKS for creating a great website devoted to a very important, and overlooked!, part of the PC. I have been "stalking" the forums for the past two weeks and felt the need to register and help others with the knowledge I've accumulated. I am by no means an expert and that's why I'm asking for help! Thanks once again! : )

I am so, so close to purchasing the following

e6600 Conroe
2 GB (2x1gb) Corsair DDR2 800 RAM
P5W DH Deluxe Motherboard
320 GB 7200.10 HD Seagate (thought about another HD such as WD, but price to great!)
Seasonic S12-430
P180 Case
X1900XTX Video Card
DW1650 Benq DVD-Burner

Well my strategy to combat comp noise is...
P180 case
s12-430
Zalman VF900 for X1900XTX
Scythe (spelling?) Ninja for the CPU
Debating on buying three fans (Nexus 120) to replace stock fans
Thinking about Zalman fan controller to drop voltages on fans
Really thinking about the fans for the VF900 and the Ninja; this is where I'm stumped!!!

I'm not sure if I should buy a 120 fan for the CPU, but I do plan to overclock (not hardcore, just a mild overclock) and I know I must have the Zalman fan on the VF900. I Just don't want to disrupt airflow from the P180 (three stock locations). I mean would it be good to build a duct for the cpu fan to exhaust out (maybe the top vent ?) . I am concerned with the air flow in the case and I feel having the VF900 and the Ninja might "damage" the air-flow. Any suggestions will be appreciated. I just don't to have fans galore in there cause more db and screw with case air flow in the process.

Thank you

DanW