Advice on Fast Quiet Gaming machine

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

wardp

Advice on Fast Quiet Gaming machine

Post by wardp » Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:57 am

Dear all - I'm new to this - but found spcr spot on for my questions. I want a new desktop that I can use in my open plan living room with wife and new baby. Hence silence is very golden - but I got an addiction to modern, high-end games to match her addiction to Top Model. I've just about saved up for a Dell XPS 710 (mid-range vers) but then found your site and thought I'd work with local builder to make a better machine and save some money (and blow the savings on a Dell 2407WFP)

I'm trying to build the faster quietest rig possible for delivery in next couple of weeks and here is what my very good guy here in Sweden came up with - suggestions? Ideas? I'm a noob but they're pros so if you have any advice - you'll have to talk real slow for me but not for them . . .

Intel Core2 Duo E6700
2 x GeiL 2 GB DDR-2 800 MHz Ultra Dual Channel
ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (Intel 975)
Antec Solo (P150 Black)
Cooltek 600W, ATX 2.2,
Samsung SH-S183A SATA
2 x Samsung 500 GB SATA-2 /7200 rpm 16 MB
Zalman CNPS-9500AT (Socket 775)
Asus GF8800GTX 768MB PCI-E
Thermalright HR-03 Plus
Microsoft Vista Home Premium Engelsk
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeMusic
Linksys WMP300N (Draft-N PCI kort)

And of course

Dell 2407WFP

Any thoughts appreciated ..

ward

laguz1

Post by laguz1 » Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:41 am

hmm, looks like a great setup, but i have a few suggestions

1. i would get an Core 2 Duo E6420 instead of that E6700...nearly the same processor, and a bit cheaper (both have the 4mb cache). do you plan on overclocking your processor at all?

2. Seasonic or Corsair PSU - both are very quiet and have high efficiency. i would go with the Energy+ 550, or HX520