Newbie here, building a HTPC, any advice??????

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

nitram_tpr

Newbie here, building a HTPC, any advice??????

Post by nitram_tpr » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:40 am

Hi all, newbie to the site, but not a newbie to PC builds.
I am in the process of putting together a list of part for a HTPC, I want a nice quiet one as it is going to be sitting in my Hi-Fi rack and will be on for the majority of the time.
So here we go, my list of bits, if anyone has a better suggestion please feel free :D

Case: Either Antec Fusion V2 or Silverstone Grandia GD01
MB: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R, this is one of the few Matx boards with an E-Sata connector on the back.
CPU: E6750
HSF: Either Scythe Ninja-CU Full Copper Heatsink with Quiet Fan or Thermalright HR-01 with a Scythe S-Flex 120mm fan. (will these fit in my case choices?)
PSU: Seasonic S12 500w or M12 500w modular.
Mem: 4gig OCZ PC-6400 CL4 (4 x 1gig)
HD's: 2 x Samsung SpinPoint HD501LJ 500GB. Not raided
GFX: MSI NX8800GT Zilent 512MB

I haven't chosen an audio card as i am hoping that the onboard will be suitable. I have a DD5.1 amp that will be providing the sound to my surround speakers, so I'll be pushing the audio straight out of the mobo into the amp. Is this O.K or should I get a soundcard with an optical output? My current standalone DVD player is connected to the amp via optical.

I am a little confused as to the Tv card to get, I want to use this machine as a PVR so will be getting Vista Ultimate (32bit or 64, haven't decided!).
So can someone recommend me a dual channel digital freeview capable card please?
In the past I have only ever used a Hauppauge card, are these still good? I'd like it internal so no USB. Thanks.

Also does the EPG on Vista Ultimate work O.K?

Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advance,

Martin :roll:

Deiz