It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:50 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:21 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: 15143, USA
Unless you're VERY heavily overvolted, you shouldn't need anything like 650W for that system. Coil whine is a tough problem, and certain PSUs simply don't like particular components. So changing the PSU might help your noise, but a more powerful PSU won't necessarily be better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
HammerSandwich wrote:
Unless you're VERY heavily overvolted, you shouldn't need anything like 650W for that system. Coil whine is a tough problem, and certain PSUs simply don't like particular components. So changing the PSU might help your noise, but a more powerful PSU won't necessarily be better.


well i have the Corsair TX650W in...but now the coil whine still happen but at cold boot...the noise disappears when i play a game once (the components heating in my computer i guess), and then the PSU seem to be fine.

_________________
Case: Antec Three Hundred (w/ Corsair TX650W) | Main Board: Asus P7P55D-E LX | Video: eVGA Geforce GTX 560 Ti SuperClocked 1gb | HDD: Western Digital WD10EALS | CPU: Intel Core i5 750 (w/ Prolimatech Megahalems rev. B + Nexus B/W 120mm @ 12V). | Memory: 4 x 2gb G.Skill DDR3-1600 | Exhaust fans: Noctua NF-S12B FLX @ 12V. & Noctua NF-P14 FLX @ 12V. | Monitor: Asus VE228H.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:18 am
Posts: 43
Location: Denmark
kel wrote:
Samsung 226CW 22"
Sleep: <=1W
"Load" (100% brightness): 44W


Odd.
My Samsung 226CW 22" draws less power than yours.
At my "Custom" Setting of 100% and 80 Contrast it uses 32W
Using the "Game" , "Sport" and "Movie" presets - Also 32W
"Internet" preset : 23W
"Text" preset : 19W

I don't use the Dynamic Contrast setting because it dims the screen way too much when showing a mostly black page - It would be nice if I could limit it to go no darker than the Internet setting.
Dynamic Contrast uses between 32W (white page) and 14W (mostly black page .. like http://ceejay.dk/ )

When displaying a completely black screen the power consumption is <=1W higher than when displaying a completely white screen , indicating that on this monitor the "relaxed" state of the LCD crystals is the white state (where the crystals let all light pass).
I think most LCD monitors have similarly less consumption when displaying white than black , unlike CRT monitors where consumption is higher displaying white than black.
Of course on a CRT the difference can be 30 - 50 W , while on a LCD the difference is negligible.

Power conversion from 220V is more efficient than from 120V , so I'm wondering how many volts yours is getting.
Mine is receiving 227V

To measure Watt I'm using a KWH-Meter from Telco Sensors http://www.telcosensors.com , that I borrowed at my local library (just like a book)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:49 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Seattle, WA
System1:
nVidia 6150MB, onboard video
AMD X2 3800 2000Mhz@ 1.15v
1Gig RAM,
2HDD (1.25TB)
Card Reader
2 ATSC, 1 NTSC Tuner
2 Remote Receivers
1 DVD Writer
Cheap Ultra V Series 400W ATX Power supply( Less than 70% efficiency).

Idle 80watts or 78watts with Antec 80plus 350watt psu

CPU Full load 110Watts


System 2:
Quadcore Q6600 2.4Ghz@ 1.06v
Gigabyte P35-DSL3 MB
nVidia 8500GT Video card,
2Gigs RAM,
Firewirecard,
1 Tuner,
1 internal HDD, 1 External HDD
1 Card reader etc.
1 DVD Writer.
Antec Case with Antec 350PS(80Plus PSU)

Idle: 77watts or 75watts without tuner
Full load: 111watts (HandBrake X264 conversion 100% CPU+HDD) or 109watts without tuner card

If you see both my systems have very similar power consumptions, but my second system is almost 3+ times powerful as AMD system and with Dedicated video card consumes pretty much same power.
:D

_________________
Media PC(Living Room): ASUS M4A785-M X4 620@ 1.15v, 4GB Corsair 42" LG 1080P LCD TV, Harmony Remote, Logtech RF PS3 Keybaord/IBM . WinTV-HVR-1600, USB ATSC Tuner with BeyondTV/XBMC

Processing PC(Den). Gigabyte P35-DS3L Quadcore Q6600@1.06v, 4GB ADATA Extreme DDR800, 24" HP LCD, Blu-Ray/HD-DVD Drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:46 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3302
Location: Essex, England
I have eventually got around to borrowing the power meter from work, and here are my results.

Main PC (in Sig, does not include Monitor).

During boot up 180
Idle 105
Dual Prime 156
Single Prime 137

Not yet tested under graphics load, I will have to pick a suitable benchmark - ATITool does not work.

All in all this is a good result considering the poor idle performance of the HD4850, an overclocked CPU and a PSU that doesnt have excelent efficiency by todays standards (but is still OK).

Server (in Sig, does not include Monitor, but does include UPS).

During boot up 185
Idle 6-drives 105-117
Idle 4-drives 89

I wont test the server any further, as it is never under load, but we can assume another 80W max (and realistically 20W max if there is lots of LAN traffic and data being read/written to the single drives). The 3 single drives are set to spin down after 5-mins, only 2 do as this is running Windows (the boot drive does not). The addition of more drives in the RAID array wont cause any kind of overload as they are spun up seperately (unlike the 3 single drives that all spin up together), just before the last of the 3 drives in the RAID array span up it was measuring 133W.

I am not sure why the Idle is so varied with all 6 drives spinning, it could be that when it was tested it was still using the boot drive - unlikely.
Or more likely is that when I plugged the server into the power meter and turned it on I ran down the battery in the UPS slightly and it was still recharging, and it had recharged by the time 2 of the drives had spun down. As the system is on a UPS that eats a bit of power itself and has between 4 and 6 drives running I am rather happy with the power consumption.


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:32 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
andyb wrote:
I have eventually got around to borrowing the power meter from work, and here are my results.

Main PC (in Sig, does not include Monitor).

During boot up 180
Idle 105
Dual Prime 156
Single Prime 137

Not yet tested under graphics load, I will have to pick a suitable benchmark - ATITool does not work.
Andy


That seems really high, My system is a Q9400, Asus P5Q-EM, 4gb ram, WD 640gb drive, HD 3870 PicoPSU.

I know my PSU is more efficient, but here are my numbers with the CPU at 3.0ghz, 1.12v

Idle: 77W
CPU Load(4 cores): 118W
GPU load + CPU load: 180-190W
GPU load + 1 Core CPU load: 154W
GPU load + 2 Core CPU load: 162W

So, basically, that implies your 4850 is idling incredibly high, or you can undervolt your CPU some. Or, the Phantom is very inefficient.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:56 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3302
Location: Essex, England
Quote:
That seems really high, My system is a Q9400, Asus P5Q-EM, 4gb ram, WD 640gb drive, HD 3870 PicoPSU.

I know my PSU is more efficient, but here are my numbers with the CPU at 3.0ghz, 1.12v

Idle: 77W
CPU Load(4 cores): 118W
GPU load + CPU load: 180-190W
GPU load + 1 Core CPU load: 154W
GPU load + 2 Core CPU load: 162W

So, basically, that implies your 4850 is idling incredibly high, or you can undervolt your CPU some. Or, the Phantom is very inefficient.


I was rather surprised, I didnt remember that the Phantom 500 was so efficient, at those power levels ist not far off of the PicoPSU.!!!

The 4850 is a bit of a bastard at idle, if I get the chance tomorrow (about to play BF2 now) I will test my system under load, and with my old X1950 Pro, which is low power at idle.

Other than that, the differences are minor with the, Mobo, RAM and HDD. The RAM will be 4W at most, the motherboard can affect the efficiency but I believe mine is pretty good (not that I care), the HDD will save you about 4W if you have the 5400rpm model, and then there is the CPU which which apart from the graphics card will make a big difference. My CPU is exactly half of yours, running at the same voltage but 160MHz faster. All considered mine should use a fair amount less power under load, and a little less at idle.


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Last edited by andyb on Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:35 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:21 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: 15143, USA
andyb wrote:
Other than that, the differences are the CPU, Mobo, RAM and HDD.
So apart from the CPU, mobo, RAM, HDD, vidcard & PSU, they're exactly the same, right? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:27 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Posts: 3302
Location: Essex, England
HammerSandwich wrote:
andyb wrote:
Other than that, the differences are the CPU, Mobo, RAM and HDD.
So apart from the CPU, mobo, RAM, HDD, vidcard & PSU, they're exactly the same, right? :)


I think you have mis-quoted me :wink: I never said that 8)


Andy

_________________
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,000MHz, 256 GB Samsung 830, 500-GB 7K500, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr, PC is super quiet :o
Server, 6-TB RAID-5 array, + 2 x 2-TB backup drives, 380W Enermax Pro82+, 4x very quiet fans, positive pressure only, no exhaust fans
Living Room PC, 3500+, 2-GB RAM, HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 5:35 pm
Posts: 282
Location: In the Palace
k, for future reference:


24/7 server - to be replaced soon, now I know what it pulls...

Epox 8K3A+
Athlon XP 1600+
Zalman CNPS3100-AlCu + Zalman fan
512MB PC3200 & 256MB PC2700 DDR, thought suspect the 256 isn't working nice with the 512.
Asys V7100 Deluxe Combo - should try an older card really, its just a headless thing..
200GB WD & 300GB Maxtor
Antec Sonata I with Antec 380W PSU

Idle this pulls about 120W
Loading while hashing emule it pulled about 135W



Encodig machine (for now, will be replaced coming weeks as well with the replacemet for the 24/7 machine)

see .sig


idle: about 110W
encoding x264: 125W

_________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic S12II-380W | Asus EAH3450/HTP/512M
Asus M3A-H/HDMI | AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850E @ +5% | Ninja Rev B
Sony-NEC AD-7200S & Lite On LH-20A1H | Samsung HD501LJ & 4x F1 1TB.
Toshiba Satellite 1900-102.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 3:29 am
Posts: 96
Location: Edinburgh
My own system:

AMD Athlon LE-1620 with Scythe Ninja Rev B
GeForce 6150 based motherboard (Biostar MCP6P-M2)
Samsung Spinpoint 80Gb
1Gb DDR2 667MHz (single channel)
Seasonic S12II-330

39W idle (33W if I let the HDD go to sleep - set to 15 mins)
78W under load (Povray)

House server:
Acer Travelmate - 10W at idle without the battery in. I don't know what it gets under load, because it never happens. External 250Gb Seagate HDD (I measured the power once, but now forgotten. About another 10W I think, when it comes on..)

Gaming system I build last week for a friend:
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ (65nm with stock cooler)
GeForce 7050 motherboard (Asus M2N-VM)
Inno3D nVidia Geforce 9600GT 512Mb
Samsung Spinpoint F1 500Gb
2Gb DDR2 800MHz (dual channel)
Antec Earthwatts 380W

72W idle
130W+ playing Open Arena


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:44 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Posts: 713
Location: Denmark
AMD 4850e
Jetway NC81-LF
4 GB RAM
Mtron SSD
picoPSU-120
Edit: WLAN card

Idle: 34W
Loaded with RTHDRIBL + Orthos: 73W

_________________
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury


Last edited by AuraAllan on Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
150w idle, 281w (highest) running ATI autotune and prime95 64bit, monitor not included.

System in .sig

_________________
Silverstone FT02 w/ Seasonic X750 Gold / WD 1TB Black /12gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 / Asus P6X58D Premium / Intel Core i7 975 Extreme / XFX HD5870 / Pioneer BD-205 Blu-Ray Burner / Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme / Gateway FHD2400 24" LCD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:23 pm
Posts: 37
Stats for my new PC build.

Intel P4 Core 2 Duo 2.5Ghz E7200
2GB ram.
Asus P5K-VM mobo
Western Digital 250Gb 2.5" Scorpio HD
M-Audio Audiophile 192 soundcard
DVD-RW drive, can't remember brand.
Silverstone 250W TFX PSU.
Using onboard X3100 graphics card.

General idle is about 52W, full load is about 60-70W ish.

_________________
Arfa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:07 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:21 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: 15143, USA
I just received this info from a client who recently bought a new system.

Dell XPS 730 H2C
QX9650 OCed to 3.67GHz
CPU watercooled with TEC
2x Radeon 3870X2s in Crossfire
etc.

Idle: 500W

With 30" & 20" LCDs, 5.1 PC speakers and a couple minor items, running Crysis triggers the overload alert on his SmartUPS 1500VA.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:04 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
I just assembled a file server with some spare parts,

AMD X2 4000+ G1 Brisbane 1.0ghz 0.8v
AN-M2
WD GP 1TB
WD WD5000AAKS
4GB Ballistix
Optical Drive
Enermax Whisper series 350W - Old, probably inefficient at these loads, not sure though

Idle: 45-50W
Load: 54W

Does this seem high? Any ideas on reducing? I'd probably save a few watts going to 2 sticks of RAM, but what else can I do?

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:00 am
Posts: 247
ryboto wrote:
I just assembled a file server with some spare parts,

AMD X2 4000+ G1 Brisbane 1.0ghz 0.8v
AN-M2
WD GP 1TB
WD WD5000AAKS
4GB Ballistix
Optical Drive
Enermax Whisper series 350W - Old, probably inefficient at these loads, not sure though

Idle: 45-50W
Load: 54W

Does this seem high? Any ideas on reducing? I'd probably save a few watts going to 2 sticks of RAM, but what else can I do?


Swap the PSU for an 80+ one (picoPSU with 120W brick would be even better, but is expensive). I think that would drop idle consumption with at least 15 watts.

Here's what I got out of an AN-M2:

Image

Numbers are:
RMClock idle
Cool 'n Quiet
Idle
RMClock load
Load


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:44 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:05 am
Posts: 618
Location: State College, PA
X2 5000 using 1GHz@0.8V, 2GHz@0.925V and 2.6GHz@1.05V, managed using CrystalCPUID
Gigabyte GA-MA74G-S2H board
2x1GB 667 RAM
640GB WD6400AACS GP HDD
DVR-216 DVD drive
4yr old FSP greenpower PSU

39W idle (woohoo!)
70W double Prime95+ATITool load

I'm pretty pleased :) Glad I didn't bother paying extra for a 4850e!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:51 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
Palindroman wrote:
Swap the PSU for an 80+ one (picoPSU with 120W brick would be even better, but is expensive). I think that would drop idle consumption with at least 15 watts.



I actually already have Pico and a PW-200, all I need is a second power brick. if I have time this weekend, I'll give it a try.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:47 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Slovenia
My system:

P4 3.0GHz @ 3.6GHz Prescott
Abit IS7
1.5Gb of memory
Saphire X1950 Pro
2 disk in raid 0
dvd+-rw
LC 6550 power supply

Idle about 100W
Orthos about 200W
Orthos with graphic test we are touching 300W

Time to change...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:16 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hi,

My 24" iMac 2.8gHz system has 4GB of RAM, along with the ATi video card and 320GB HD.

43 watts during sleep

89 watts at idle

115 watts during normal operation

[Edit: running SMP Folding@Home with monitor on: 125watts, and with monitor off: 74watts.]

Please remember that these power uses include the 24" monitor!

[Edit: You can have 2 dual cores or 2 quad cores with support for 32GB (!!) of RAM in the Mac Pro. But I'm not sure how much power they consume...]

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Last edited by NeilBlanchard on Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:57 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Minnesota
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Hi,

My 24" iMac 2.8gHz system has 4GB of RAM, along with the ATi video card and 320GB HD.

43 watts during sleep

89 watts at idle

115 watts during normal operation

I'll post 100% load after I get Folding@Home to run.

Please remember that these power uses include the 24" monitor!


I love iMac's for that reason. A ton of power for the space, and pretty "green".

Now if they only had quad-cores, and more memory support.

_________________
Chris Randel
Network Administrator, Quiet Enthusiast.
Corsair 600t
Lian-Li Q08 FS
Lian-Li Q07 Pics
New - P183 Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:51 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
I've updated my HTPC-Server with an FSP Zen 400W, no more efficient than the 350W Enermax,

X2 4000+ @ 1.0ghz w/0.8v CrystalCPUID
AN-M2
WD GP 1TB
WD 500gb AAKS
FSP 400W Zen
Measured with a Kill-A-Watt
Idle: 45W
Load(prime 95): 52W

I plan on adding an HD4350, and a few more hard drives in the future, the video card being a first priority to decode HD content. Hopefully power wont skyrocket. Not sure how I can get this lower

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Last edited by ryboto on Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
NEC Mobile Pro 900C
Intel XScale PXA255 400MHz ~0.5W TDP
64MB RAM/64MB Flash
640x240 passive matrix touch screen
Microsoft Windows CE.NET 4.2

3W with display at minimum brightness
4W with display at maximum brightness

ASUS Eee PC 1000HA
Intel Atom N270 1.6GHz 2.4W TDP
1GB DDR2 533
160GB Samsung 5400.4
1024x600 LED backlight TN LCD
Windows XP Home

Code:
                 LCD off              LCD min              LCD max       
EIST Mhz     495/990  1010/2019   495/990  1010/2019   495/990  1010/2019
Idle          8.5     10.5         9.5     11.5        12.5     14.5
Orthos       10.5     14.5        --       --          --       --
ATI Tool     12       17.5        --       18.5        --       21.5
ATI + Orthos 12.5     18.5        13.5     19.5        16       22.5


Foxconn A74MX-K (740G)
4GB AData DDR2 800
500GB Hitachi P7K500
Lite-On DVD-ROM
1.44MB floppy
Flash card reader
In Win 300W PS

w/ Athlon X2 4400+ 65W TDP
1GHz @ 0.784V -- 38W Idle / 43.5W Orthos
1.5GHz @ 0.784V -- 47W Orthos

w/ Athlon LE-1620 45W TDP
1GHz @ 0.784V -- 39.5W Idle

w/Sempron LE-1250 45W TDP
800MHz @ 0.784V -- 35.5W Idle / 37.5W Orthos
1.6GHz @ 0.784V -- 37W Idle / 41.5W Orthos
--clockspeed doesn't effect power consumption much.

Unplugged the DVD-ROM, floppy, and card reader:
800MHz @ 0.784V -- 34.5W Idle / 36.5W Orthos

The 500GB P7K500 is specified at a 4.5W idle. The In-Win IP-P300AJ2-0 is probably around 65% efficient at these loads. So the motherboard + processor + memory consumption is:

800MHz @ 0.784V -- 18W Idle / 19W load
1.6GHz @ 0.784V -- 19W Idle / 22W load

I should figure out how much power the memory uses.


Last edited by QuietOC on Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:53 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
QuietOC wrote:
w/ Athlon X2 4400+ 65W TDP
1GHz @ 0.784V -- 38W Idle / 43.5W Orthos
1.5GHz @ 0.784V -- 47W Orthos

w/ Athlon LE-1620 45W TDP
1GHz @ 0.784V -- 39.5W Idle


Is that a motherboard voltage drop? OR are you able to select a voltage lower than .8v? What program are you using to do so? I'm just curious how my power at load w/1ghz is ~10W more than yours considering how similar the setups are. Are you using 2 sticks of ram, or 4?

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
ryboto wrote:
Is that a motherboard voltage drop? OR are you able to select a voltage lower than .8v? What program are you using to do so? I'm just curious how my power at load w/1ghz is ~10W more than yours considering how similar the setups are. Are you using 2 sticks of ram, or 4?

No, it is the 0.800V setting. The system crashes when I try the <0.800V settings using RMClock (RMClock's UI is confusing, BTW). I'm using CrystalCPUID.

Yes, 2 - 2GB sticks. It is a two slot motherboard.

I know the 300W In Win PS is pretty inefficient at these loads.

Both of the processors are sold now, but I have a $20 Sempron LE-1250 coming today. I expect that will get lower numbers. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
Foxconn A74MX-K (740G)
2/4GB AData DDR2 800
500GB Hitachi P7K500
In Win 300W PS

800MHz @ 0.784V Sempron LE-1250 45W TDP
4GB -- 34.5W Idle / 36.5W Orthos
2GB -- 33.5W Idle / 35W Orthos
Unlpugged the ethernet and P7K500 w/ 2GB -- 28W Idle


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 760
Location: Formosa
Wow, QuietOC, your result was truly impressive to me. You really stimulated me to upgrade WD2500KS for something more energy efficient such as WD GP or Hitachi P7K500.

My system spec
AMD AM2 3000+, 90nm single core
Abit NF-M2S, nVIDIA 6100
1x1GB DDR2 667, 1x512 DDR2 667
250GB WD2500KS
BenQ 8x DVD burner
1x80mm fan running at 5V
Seasonic 300SFD

42W idle


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
loimlo wrote:
You really stimulated me to upgrade WD2500KS for something more energy efficient such as WD GP or Hitachi P7K500.

The P7K500 is pretty outdated now. I am actually selling both of mine. They are quiet and fairly low power, but the new 320/333GB per platter GPs seem to be faster and use much less energy.

Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 760
Location: Formosa
Thanks for classifying HDs.

I really don't need performance improvment, but WD GP's capacity and idle power draw seems lucrative nonetheless. 1TB upgrade for a small file server sounds a good idea. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group