Looking for advice to salvage my Mini-ITX build (CPU/Video)

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

croccydile

Looking for advice to salvage my Mini-ITX build (CPU/Video)

Post by croccydile » Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:18 am

Hello everyone, this is my first post here so I hope I pull this off right.

Some background information: While I am an experienced system builder in general, I have come across some major difficulties trying to build a new Mini-ITX for general use.

Goals:
Small PC build to replace my Atom Nettop (Which was not very good to begin with to be honest). Low idle power consumption, low noise... yet maintain the ability to be reasonably powerful so I don't need to always use my "big box".

Parts list:
LIAN LI PC-Q08B Black Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case
COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W
Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
Intel BOXDQ67EPB3 LGA 1155 Intel Q67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard
XIGMATEK Durin D982 92mm Rifle Ultra Low profile CPU Cooler

The problem:
First off, the HSF would not fit the Intel board with components blocking on the backside. Second, the board did not support the CPU. Third, the stock HSF isnt very good for cooling and/or noise... let alone Intel apparently does not support it officially for Mini-ITX use. Clearly I may have made a mistake trying to put a i5-2500k into a Mini-ITX build.

First attempt to solve:
GIGABYTE GA-H67N-USB3-B3 LGA 1155 Intel H67 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard (Only a few days later, now deactivated?! Why?)