It is currently Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3 ram sticks - not possible?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:15 am
Posts: 23
hi,
I have a PC runing on Asus p8h77-m pro motherboard with Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2x 4GB) DDR3-RAM 1600 MHz 9-9-9-24 ram.

Now I bought a new Ram stick Crucial Ballistix Sport 8 GB (1x 8 GB) DDR3-RAM 1600 MHz 9-9-9-24. However, when I put this new stick into the board, the computer does not boot. It does boot with the new 8gb-stick alone though. I tried to exchange the positions, no success.

Should I change some settings in Bios? What else to try?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 ram sticks - not possible?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 11:43 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1601
Location: Sweden
Have you tried all possible combinations, or at least those that leave the same amount of memory in either channel? You could also try upping the memory voltage a bit or relax the timings.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 ram sticks - not possible?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:23 am
Posts: 50
Location: Bucharest, Romania
The MB might not support 2+1 configs. See page 33(2-13) of the manual http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA ... -M_PRO.pdf

_________________
case CM Silencio 550 + Antec True Quiet 14 + Scythe SY1225SL12L | psu Super Flower Golden Green SF-550P14XE(GX)
mobo ASRock Z97M Pro4 | cpu Intel Pentium G3258 @ 4.2 GHz | cooler Scythe Kotetsu | ssd Intel 530 | hdd Seagate NAS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 ram sticks - not possible?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:15 am
Posts: 23
Vicotnik wrote:
Have you tried all possible combinations, or at least those that leave the same amount of memory in either channel?
Yes, I tried that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 ram sticks - not possible?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:57 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 2023
Location: Northern California.
could be a simple bios setting to disable dual chan or similar. or might just need to load setup defaults in bios ...

also check the bios updates for the mobo, maybe they added more ram support.

_________________
Help SPCR keep the lights on, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group