It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 216
Location: New York
How do i figure out if my sound card is busted?

I bought the Asus Xonar DG about 2 yrs ago.

The speakers work fine of other devices.
Under system devices, the sound card is operating properly.

What else can i run to see if it's ok?

_________________
i5-6600K | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3000 | Zotac 1050Ti | Samsung 850Evo 500 ; WD 1TB ; WD 3 TB ; WD 2 TB ; WD 6400AAKS

Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 3317
Location: Guatemala
Check in control panel --> Sound, if the sound card appears on the elective devices, and check if its the default.

_________________
GameMi - Intel i7 8700K + AsRock Z370 Tachi + Asus GTX1080Ti Strix | MiniMi - Intel i7 8700K + ASRock Z370ITX + EVGA GTX1080Ti
StreaMi - Intel i9 7940X + AsRock X299 Taichi + MSI GTX1080 | WorkMi - AMD 1950X + AsRock X399 Taichi + MSI GT1030
ServeMi - Intel Xeon E3-1230 + Supermicro X9SCM-F + 144TB | StoreMi - Intel Xeon E3 1240v5 + Supermicro X11SSM-F + 42TB | CamMi - Intel i7 4770K + MSI H81i + Blue Iris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 216
Location: New York
Yes it's the default. When i play a file, the sound bar in the playback tab moves according to the sound that should be coming from the speakers.

The sound just randomly stopped working last week. I wasn't moving the case or anything.

_________________
i5-6600K | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3000 | Zotac 1050Ti | Samsung 850Evo 500 ; WD 1TB ; WD 3 TB ; WD 2 TB ; WD 6400AAKS

Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:49 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1804
Location: Sweden
Double check all physical connections, and try with another OS, like booting from a Linux Mint CD or USB stick.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 535 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 1060 6GB | 16GB DDR3 | TJ08-E | RM750X
Server: ASRock N3150-ITX | ~30TB | G-360 | Idle ~25W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 5275
Location: ITALY
xev wrote:
Yes it's the default. When i play a file, the sound bar in the playback tab moves according to the sound that should be coming from the speakers.

The sound just randomly stopped working last week. I wasn't moving the case or anything.

Probably some caps has gone in the relevant line amplifier (or less likely something related to the connectors has broken).

_________________
Regards,
Luca

Support SPCR, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 726
Location: Germany
You could pull the card and activate onboard sound. If everything plays nicely, reinsert the card and try again. If there is no sound, the card is probably dead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 5:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 7107
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Also, doesn't that card have multi-outputs? Try setting some of the other outputs to "front speaker" and see if they work.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 216
Location: New York
Onboard sound is busted as it stopped working, causing me to buy this one.
I'll try a diff OS; reinserting; and using the other ports. Thanks for the tips folks.

_________________
i5-6600K | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3000 | Zotac 1050Ti | Samsung 850Evo 500 ; WD 1TB ; WD 3 TB ; WD 2 TB ; WD 6400AAKS

Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 7107
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
heck it could be a corrupted driver. you could reinstall that, too :)

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sound card broken?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 216
Location: New York
CA_Steve wrote:
heck it could be a corrupted driver. you could reinstall that, too :)

did that first

_________________
i5-6600K | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3000 | Zotac 1050Ti | Samsung 850Evo 500 ; WD 1TB ; WD 3 TB ; WD 2 TB ; WD 6400AAKS

Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group