Silent PC build for casual gaming and 4K HTPC

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Nebula the Great

Silent PC build for casual gaming and 4K HTPC

Post by Nebula the Great » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:30 am

Hello All,

I've been reading SPCR articles for several months now, but I'm completely new to building a custom PC. I hope you can help me identify good, value components, that are just right for my needs.

My current PC is 6 years old, it's loud, slow, and sometimes I have even trouble playing 1080p content. I've bought a Samsung 840 EVO drive which helped quite a lot with boot times, but the mechanical HDD for mass storage is still annoying at times when it starts spinning... And the GPU fan is just unbearable when under load.

So it's time to get a new PC. Budget is around £1000, but the less the better. I'm London, UK based.

I do casual gaming, but nothing fancy. No first person shooters or the like, so don't need to run the latest games at max res. A bit of WoW, car simulators, strategy games, or old games that don't require a lot of horse power. I also use my PC as an HTPC. I'm thinking of getting a new 4K TV for Christmas, so would like to make sure I can stream 4K HDR content (preferably at 60Hz) to the TV without any issues (HDMI 2.0a).

I do a bit of photo editing as well which is incredibly slow on my current PC that only has 4GB RAM.

I'm planning to upgrade to Windows 10.