It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 7:44 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
pony-tail wrote:
Quote:
EDIT: Bleh, what the heck...just ordered a Venice 3000+ to go with it.

EDIT2: Damn I'm out of control today; ordered a fanless dual-DVI PCI-Ex 6600 card from XFX, too.

Nice "fix" for a hardcore hardware junkie :lol:


"And how..."

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 5:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 6:41 am
Posts: 109
Location: Toronto, Canada
One thing I don't like about most Abit boards is that they have the floppy connector in the worst place. I don't know if I'll be using a floppy in the future, but c'mon!

_________________
Deal with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 5:04 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Brampton, ON
rpsgc wrote:
Viperoni wrote:
I WANT TO BUY THIS BOARD NOW!!! lol :lol:


No problem.
http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=22387


I'm in Canada, Newegg doesn't ship up here :(

_________________
AMD64 Venice XP3000, Retail HSF, Asus A8N-E, 2x512 mb Samsung TCCC PC3200 @ 400mhz, 200gb and 250gb WD SE SATA's, Sapphire X600 256mb Pro, Pioneer DVR-107D, LG 16x DVD, Zalman ZM400B-APS, Inwin q500n.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2003 9:26 pm
Posts: 18
Location: London - UK
I don't know if this has been mentioned already, but ASUS have now created their own version of this NB heatpipe design.

ASUS news page on the new NB heatpipe

inquirer pic of the ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM with the NB heatpipe

direct link to pic

It is a bit difficult to be certain from the pics but the ASUS pipe design looks to run flatter (closer) to the motherboard, but the heatsink is further inside the case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:20 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
Yummy, competition :D

Yes it runs "lower", touching the board near the CPU so it doesn't interfere with large Heatsinks, but it has no direct exhaust like the ABIT board :?

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 8:03 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
EDIT: Moved the info on my AN8-SLI build to here, and posted plenty of pics.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 4:39 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Brisbane AU
I already bought an Asus A8n-sli doh!
I wonder if that is anything like buying a Ford Edsel ?(an unpopular American car of the 50s for you yunguns out there)

_________________
Small Fast and Silent - Quiet SFF With Gonads!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:59 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Detail data relevant to SPCR:

BIOS Voltage Controls are as such:

CPU Core: 1.40-1.75V (no underclocking for my Venice, 1.40 stock :cry:)
DDR Slot: 2.50-3.55V
DDT VTT: 1.25-1.75V or DDR/2
nForce4: 1.50-1.80V
HyperTransport: 1.20-1.35V
DDR Memory Reference: -100 to +100, in 10s
CPU Memory Reference: -100 to +100, in 10s

I have no clue wtf the last two are for.



ABIT EQ Panel:

ABIT EQ Beep Control: Enabled or Disabled.


Temperature Monitoring ->
-Reading (Enable/Disable for CPU, Sys and PWM)
-Shutdown (Enable/Disable for CPU, Sys and PWM)
-Shutdown Temp. (80-95C for CPU*, 66-80C for Sys and 81-110C for PWM)
-Warning Beep (Enable/Disable for CPU, Sys and PWM)
-Beep Temp. (65-79C for CPU, 50-65C for Sys and 70-80C for PWM)

* Curiously enough, if the Beep Temp for CPU is set for 75C, you can suddenly set the CPU Shutdown Temp as low as 76C


Fan Speed Monitoring ->
-Reading (Enable/Disable for CPU, NF4, SYS, OTES1, OTES2 and AUX)
-Shutdown (at 0rpm; Enable/Disable for CPU, NF4, SYS, OTES1, OTES2 and AUX)
-Warning Beep (Enable/Disable for CPU, NF4, SYS, OTES1, OTES2 and AUX)
-Beep Limit (600-3000rpm for CPU, NF4, SYS, OTES1, OTES2 and AUX)


Fan EQ1 ->

-CPU FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU is the only choice)
--High Temp (41-75C)
--Low Temp (25-64C)
--Fan High (8.5-12V)
--Fan Low (8.0-11.5V)

-NF4 FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU, SYS or PWM, your choice)
--High Temp (31-75C)
--Low Temp (25-39C)
--Fan High (8.5-12V)
--Fan Low (8.0-11.5V)

-SYS FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU, SYS or PWM, your choice)
--High Temp (31-75C)
--Low Temp (25-39C)
--Fan High (8.5-12V)
--Fan Low (8.0-11.5V)



Fan EQ2 ->

-OTES1 FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU is the only choice)
--High Temp (41-75C)
--Low Temp (25-49C)
--Fan High (6.5-12V)
--Fan Low (6.0-11.5V)

-OTES2 FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU is the only choice)
--High Temp (41-75C)
--Low Temp (25-49C)
--Fan High (6.5-12V)
--Fan Low (6.0-11.5V)

-AUX FanEQ (Enable/Disable)
--Ref (CPU, SYS or PWM, your choice)
--High Temp (31-75C)
--Low Temp (25-39C)
--Fan High (8.5-12V)
--Fan Low (8.0-11.5V)


I have not yet gotten to test to see if CrystalCPUID works on this board or not; I will report later on when I get a chance to try it out.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:11 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
And btw, the fan, voltage and temp. stuff is fully configurable and monitorable from Windows, too; here's the control panel for ABIT EQ:

Image

The only thing you can't control is what the voltage for the fans are at Low and at High. That's left for the BIOS.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7666
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello Ed:

I sure hope that Crystal CPUID works to undervolt the CPU -- and it should be able to if C'NQ works?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 6:05 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
EDIT:

Okay, must've been my settings from my NewCastle that made it freeze; I downloaded the newest version of CrystalCPUID and put it in a new folder and works fine now. CPUBurn K7 at full 9.0*200 and 1.1V the CPU doesn't even go over 55C.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 6:44 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Updated power chart comparing CnQ to CrystalCPUID:

Image

CrystalCPUID is set to idle at 5.0*200 at 0.9V, middle speed 7.0*200 at 0.95V and maximum speed 9.0*200 at 1.0V. When I tried 4.0*200 at 0.8V, it froze my system. Note, however, that the tray icon always reports 1.10V, no matter the current load or multiplier.

RTHDRIBL is run with default settings with the window manually resized to 1024x768 in 32-bit mode; nVIDIA DualView is always active.

The most important thing to know, however, is that with CnQ, CPUBurn was pushing my CPU past 70C; with CrystalCPUID, I'm not even breaking 60C.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 2:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:59 am
Posts: 1066
Location: Santa Cruz
While Abit suggests the CPUfan should provide airflow,that would work well in some setups...not too well in others. A ducted fan can always be mounted in a casing on the rear to draw exhaust out this route,or this radiator could be an inlet,especially in cases where a cpu fan blows heat from the cpu toward a side/door vent. Some CPU coolers,especially the tall heatpipe towers,have fans that do aim to the rear.

At any rate,the concept is great,I hope other Mobo makers offer variations. This requires thinking through the airflow plan,but I can see several ways it should work,unless a real limiting case is an issue...but thats why guys have power tools.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:59 am
Posts: 1066
Location: Santa Cruz
There is a new Zalman,the 9500,which aims the fan sideways,just as it should be for this mobo's heatpipe radiator. Nice looking heatsink. Anand has pics in the Computex review-sorry I don't have the direct link. I hope a non-SLI version comes out,ideal would have a dedicated pci slot for a high end soundcard,like the ECS KN-1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 40
The AN8 Ultra seems to be in stock here:

http://www.atacom.com/program/print_htm ... SER_ID=www


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:31 am
Posts: 447
Does the AN8 Ultra have the same bios options as AN8 SLi (as posted by Edward Ng above)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 40
as far as I know yes...

i think these are uguru features....

http://www.abit-usa.com/innovations/uguru.php

I could be wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 1:03 pm
Posts: 15
I bet pretty soon the third-party cooling vendors will start to make heatpiped HS for chipsets........ think mini xp120....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 4
Edward Ng wrote:
CPU Core: 1.40-1.75V (no underclocking for my Venice, 1.40 stock :cry:)
Thanks for the great info - unfortunately I'm new at this and don't understand all the details. Am I correct to say you can't underclock the A8N from the bios, but you can do it in Windows with ABIT EQ (VCORE of 1.14V) or CrystalCPUID? Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:06 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
I could not underclock my Venice from the BIOS, that is correct--whether this is the case with all cores I do not know.

ABIT EQ doesn't control voltages for the CPU, OC Guru does, but its selection of voltages is the same as the BIOS, which means neither the BIOS nor ABIT's software allows undervolting.

To undervolt, you must use CrystalCPUID; even with CrystalCPUID, the floor is 1.1V, not 0.8V as I wished it would be.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 4
Ed, Thanks for the explanation. I didn't realize Abit EQ was reading the voltage set by CrystalCPUID. I think I'm gonna get a 3000 Venice with the AN8 V2 (whenever that comes out)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:34 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Yep; right this moment I'm looking at 1.12V according to ABIT EQ. When I run CPUBurn, voltage rises to 1.14V in ABIT EQ, even though CrystalCPUID is still set for 1.10. Who knows how accurate this reading is, though...

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:50 am
Posts: 20
The AN8-Ultra is very hard to find. NOT AN8 FATAL1TY!!!! Newegg, tiger, zip, directron didn't have it. Pricegrabber, froogle, copernic don't know it either. Took me about 5 hours of searching. $136 at ATACOM to bad in state Sales Tax.

http://www.atacom.com/program/print_htm ... SER_ID=www


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 40
The AN8 v2.0 is in at ZipZoomFly:

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDe ... ode=240166


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 5:15 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Is that 2.0 as in 1.0 was non-heatpipe, or is that 2.0 as in a second version of the heatpipe cooled board?

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:31 am
Posts: 447
Edward Ng wrote:
Is that 2.0 as in 1.0 was non-heatpipe, or is that 2.0 as in a second version of the heatpipe cooled board?

1.0 was non-heatpiped.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 5:41 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Okay, cool... :lol:

I was concerned if they released a 2.0 with heatpipes so quickly, and I had a 1.0, what's wrong with it that they had to make such a major revision so quickly!

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:50 am
Posts: 20
Beware the Zip page does not say that it is a AN8 Ultra it's only a version 2 as silencetowrite points out... meaning your getting the nForce4 chip and not the nForce4 ULTRA chip.

"The main difference between the Nforce Ultra and the regular one is SATA II support. What this does is give an available bandwidth limit increase and native command queing."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 40
some nice pics of the AN8 Ultra and AN8 SLI:


http://www.vr-zone.com.sg/?i=2353&s=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 5:08 pm
Posts: 127
Location: Denmark, Europe
http://www.net-forums.net/forums/Abit_A ... 22067.html

mini review of both boards.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group