It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 11:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Switching out motherboards
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 2:43 pm
Posts: 1283
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
I recently purchased a shuttle motherboard to replace my Asus board. Sincece the installation, I've had numerous crashes with different programs.

Do I need to reinstall Windows, much like when going from Intel to AMD (or vice versa)? Or is it a bad motherboard?

_________________
Asus P4C800 Del., P4 3.0 Northwood w/Scythe SCNJ-1000 Ninja (fanless), Antec P180 black SPCR edition w/Acoustipack V.2 Deluxe; BBA X800 XT PE w/Zalman ZM80C-HP and 92mm Nexus; Samsung P80 120gb Smart Drive 2002 on foam; Raptor 74gb (turned off); Antec Phantom 350w; 2x120mm Nexus @ 670rpm, diNovo keyboard, Thanko Silent Mouse http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=24308


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:12 am
Posts: 2831
Location: USA
It may have the wrong drivers in place that are specific to components on the motherboard. Others have posted procedures to remove the old drivers and let Windows find the new drivers. If you search the forum, you may be able to find the previous discussion on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 10:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:51 am
Posts: 290
Location: UK
Easiest thing to do would be to format the hard drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:21 am
Posts: 363
Location: Houston, TX, USA
BenW wrote:
Easiest thing to do would be to format the hard drive

Actually, it would be easier to do a "repair" installation of Windows XP.

Just boot straight to the WinXP CD, as if you are going to reinstall Windows. After the CD boots, you will be asked if you want to repair using the Recovery Console. This is *not* what you want, so proceed as if you are going to reinstall. You will then be given the option to "repair" Windows again, only this time, you are basically reinstalling Windows on top of itself. Hit "R" for repair, and the setup program will delete all your Windows system files and replace them with what is on the CD.

In my opinion, this is easier because it will leave the vast majority of your programs and data intact. You will still have to go back and install certain drivers, patches, Windows Update, etc., however.


By the way, something else I should ask is how similar or different the two motherboards are. If they use the same chipset, for example, then the problem is more likely to be the motherboard itself, or possibly some BIOS settings. It they are vastly different, though (like replacing a VIA chipset with NForce), then the problems are more likely to be software/driver related.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 273
You can try to reinstall the os. Rma the board, or buy a new one. If you buy a motherboard, with identical chipsets, you can use without reinstallation the os.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 12:02 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:49 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Bay Area California
Alglove is on the money. Try the repair first. It worked for me when I swapped between a Soyo and ASUS board.

--Steve

_________________
  • Sys 1: P4 3.2GHz..Asus P4G800-V..Cuda 7200.7 (40GB & 120GB)..XP90/Nexus..S12-380..Nexus 120mmx2.. SLK3000B..AcoustipackBQE
  • Sys 2: P4 2.8GHz..Soyo P4VGA.. Cuda 7200.7 (40GB & 200GB)..Nexus PHT-3600..Nexus NX-3500..Nexus 80mm..Just4PC mid-tower..AcoustiPack Deluxe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 2:43 pm
Posts: 1283
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Two things:

1. I don't have a copy of Windows XP, and
2. I managed to figure out what the problem is.

I had forgotten that the particular type of Corsair memory I have needs more than 2.5v, I upped it to 2.75, and now everythings working well.

Thanks, all.

_________________
Asus P4C800 Del., P4 3.0 Northwood w/Scythe SCNJ-1000 Ninja (fanless), Antec P180 black SPCR edition w/Acoustipack V.2 Deluxe; BBA X800 XT PE w/Zalman ZM80C-HP and 92mm Nexus; Samsung P80 120gb Smart Drive 2002 on foam; Raptor 74gb (turned off); Antec Phantom 350w; 2x120mm Nexus @ 670rpm, diNovo keyboard, Thanko Silent Mouse http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=24308


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 273
Shadowknight wrote:
Two things:

1. I don't have a copy of Windows XP, and
2. I managed to figure out what the problem is.

I had forgotten that the particular type of Corsair memory I have needs more than 2.5v, I upped it to 2.75, and now everythings working well.

Thanks, all.

Good job. it sucks how something we would never actually think of, cause such big problems.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group