It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: new AX8 mobo not able to boot up
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:50 am
Posts: 6
alright, i've installed everything correctly and i pressed the on button! guess what happened? nothing will boot up! the fan doesn't even turn and nothing is on the screen.

the post codes on the motherboard didn't help at all since it has no values.

then, the led from the mother board and the power led kept on blinking continuously.

man... it doesn't seem to work!

help!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 1:17 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 7:18 am
Posts: 1072
Location: UK
Hi, could be all sorts of things. Which parts are new and which are old (known working)?
I would start at the beginning. Unplug and disconnect everything, all cables cards, drives etc from the Motherboard and PSU. Clear CMOS. (place jumer on pins 2-3 for ~1 minute, then back to 1-2)
Start with motherboard, CPU & cooler, 1 stick of RAM in slot 1 (nearest CPU) and PSU. (not even video card, mouse, keyboard or anything). Connect power switch and speaker (if applicable) Try turning on.
If PSU fan comes on then PSU is (probably) OK.
If have 2 dimms can also try other if no luck.
If no PSU fan remove power cord, hold power-switch in for count 10, remove ATX plug from motherboard, hold power-switch in for count 10, reconnect ATX and power cord, retry. (Sounds crazy but I’ve had this work more than once)

If CPU fan comes on then motherboard is (probably) OK.
You may also beep code for video card failure.
If OK so far then plug video card and screen back in. Turn on and see what get on screen.
If OK turn off, connect keyboard, turn on, enter BIOS and set defaults. Reboot to be sure.
Turn off, add 1 component, turn on, if OK repeat until all OK or find the part that breaks it.

I've seen motherboard that can produce beep codes with no RAM in, you could try this if none of the above help.

Failing all the above find friend or shop with A64 (pref s939) system you can swap parts around with till find the faulty one(s)

Hope this helps, Seb

_________________
i7 2600k under NH-C14 w/2xTY-140PWM fans, P8P67Deluxe, 8GB RAM, GTX560Ti OC w/TwinTurbo II and BIOS fanspeed mod. 2x120GB HyperX 3K RAID 0 & 2TB EARX in Scythe QuietDrive outside case. Antec Signature 650 fan swapped. CoolerMaster 201C with 2x92 + lower 92mm fan out rear, holes-in-floor and mesh top+front intakes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:50 am
Posts: 6
every component of the computer is new.

i've tried fixing the power supply to the motherboard together with cpu fan and ram. the power supply's fan didn't even start. however there's lights on the LED of the motherboard. so does that mean my motherboard is spoilt or the PSU?

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:21 am
Posts: 363
Location: Houston, TX, USA
I would go a step further. Remove *all* the little case connector cables, *including* the cable for the power switch. Those cable can be a real pain, especially when you have one of them backwards. To start the computer, just hold a screwdriver to the power switch pins for a couple of seconds.

By the way, for those little connectors, Black or White is usually ground/negative. The Colored wire is positive.

Just a couple of hours ago, I had a computer on the bench that would not start, but sometimes the fan would jerk for a split second. It turned out the CPU was not plugged in correctly. Once I seated it correctly, it started just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new AX8 mobo not able to boot up
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 9:45 am
Posts: 255
Location: CA
ngtisu wrote:
alright, i've installed everything correctly

this may sound obvious, but i missed it when i was replacing the video card on my machine a few weeks ago: it's an AGP card, and i had not correctly connected its 4-pin molex power feed. the symptoms were about the same, they system wouldn't POST. in my case, i had mistakenly plugged the card into my hacked-up 5V fan power feed line (12V wire snipped out and 5V routed in its stead). once i realized that and plugged the right powerline into the card (required moving all power feeds in the box around), everything worked.

_________________
**


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:30 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:49 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Bay Area California
You say the power supply fan isn't spinning, so I'd focus there first. This may be obvious, but most power supplies have a switch to set it for 110V or 220V operation. Make sure you've got it set to the proper voltage for your electrical system. If it's an auto-ranging power supply, it's supposed to figure that out automatically and won't have the switch.

If the switch is set correctly or it's auto-ranging, the next things to try would be:

- Try a different power supply on your motherboard
- Try your power supply on a known good motherboard
- Get a power supply tester from a computer store (they're less than $10 around here)

If the power supply checks out, then it's on to other things.

Hope this is helpful (and sorry for being redundant if you've already gone through those steps).

--Steve

_________________
  • Sys 1: P4 3.2GHz..Asus P4G800-V..Cuda 7200.7 (40GB & 120GB)..XP90/Nexus..S12-380..Nexus 120mmx2.. SLK3000B..AcoustipackBQE
  • Sys 2: P4 2.8GHz..Soyo P4VGA.. Cuda 7200.7 (40GB & 200GB)..Nexus PHT-3600..Nexus NX-3500..Nexus 80mm..Just4PC mid-tower..AcoustiPack Deluxe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:33 pm
Posts: 23
I was helping my dad build a system based on an AX8. We have the exact same problem with TWO of these motherboards.

I'm currently thinking there is a compatibility problem between the MB and the RAM (1 1GB stick of Corsair Value memory).

I'm beginning to think that these motherboards are very picky about components. It's also not clear that my dad has the patience to figure out the problem. He just bagging the MB and buying a different brand.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group