It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:15 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus A8n-sli hangs with crystalcpuid!!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:44 am
Posts: 166
Location: Europe
Ever since I upgraded the bios to 1011 final, my Asus A8n-sli hangs with crystalcpuid or RMClock. Anyone has any fix?.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus A8n-sli hangs with crystalcpuid!!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:31 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 10:50 am
Posts: 1642
Location: Somewhere out there
fjf wrote:
Ever since I upgraded the bios to 1011 final, my Asus A8n-sli hangs with crystalcpuid or RMClock. Anyone has any fix?

No fix but a few questions (in case it happens to my A8V some time in the future..)

1. Did it work with earlier BIOS? (If no, ignore all the rest of the questions)

2. Which BIOS setting changed?

3. Is CnQ turned off in the BIOS? (Sorry, had to ask)

4. Does it hang immediately on trying to change multiplier / voltage?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cpu
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:44 am
Posts: 166
Location: Europe
I did some playing with it, and found out that this new bios does not work with the 4x multiplier anymore; it needs at least 5x (1 GHz). At this freq the previous voltage (0.8volt) is unstable, and I have to get close to 1 volt to achieve stability. Which is what cool'quiet gives you, so those undervolting soft are not worth the trouble anymore. :x :x :x

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cpu
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 12:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 14
fjf wrote:
Which is what cool'quiet gives you, so those undervolting soft are not worth the trouble anymore.


Well, I don't agree. If you use an external fan controller, the a8n-sli won't activate C'nQ, you have to plug a fan in the mobo in order to work. In this case, this kind of software becomes handy.

- Eler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cpu
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:12 am
Posts: 2831
Location: USA
Eler wrote:
Well, I don't agree. If you use an external fan controller, the a8n-sli won't activate C'nQ, you have to plug a fan in the mobo in order to work. In this case, this kind of software becomes handy.

The Zalman Fanmate controller passes the RPM signal to the MB. Of course. it is not easy to control the fan speed from the front of your case with the Zalman.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cpu
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 14
m0002a wrote:
Eler wrote:
Well, I don't agree. If you use an external fan controller, the a8n-sli won't activate C'nQ, you have to plug a fan in the mobo in order to work. In this case, this kind of software becomes handy.

The Zalman Fanmate controller passes the RPM signal to the MB. Of course. it is not easy to control the fan speed from the front of your case with the Zalman.


It was just an example of a case when this soft can be handy. It also happens to be the problem I had in my system until I discovered CrystalCPUID :)

- Eler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:07 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 10:50 am
Posts: 1642
Location: Somewhere out there
Thanks for the update. I'm surprised that 4x multiplier doesn't work with the newer BIOS. Sometimes I wonder at whoever is writing the BIOS for Asus. There are a number of things working in my A8V 1008 BIOS that's broken in 1011. I guess the old advice of "don't flash if it's working for you" should be followed more closely :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cpu
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:29 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 4:37 am
Posts: 1310
Location: Finland
fjf wrote:
Which is what cool'quiet gives you, so those undervolting soft are not worth the trouble anymore.

You do still gain much by using less than spec voltage under load (same as basic undervolting from BIOS without Cool 'n' Quiet).

C'n'Q defaults to 1,4 V (1.5 V for Clawhammer/NewCastle). You should be able to shave 0,1 V off from the default voltage at max. multiplier, or even more if you don't have top-of-the-line CPU (=3400+/3700+/3800+/4000+).

Cheers,

Jan

_________________
E6600 (2GHz@1,163V, 3GHz@1,237V), Ninja rev. B, AB9 Pro, 4x1 GB Corsair (CM2X1024-6400), MSI 7600GS, Samsung HD501LJ/HD401LJ/SP2504C, Plextor PX760SA, Seasonic S12-430, Nexus Fans, Antec Solo, ViewSonic VP201b


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group