It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 314 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mississauga, ON
Well, I can definetly say that the MSI6308 (KT3) is NOT undervoltable - it's voltage range is from 1.725V to 1.850V - that's enough headroom to O/C, but not undervolt...

The 1.4 GHz XP1600 is designed for 1.75V - I've unlocked mine and overclocked it to an 1.67 GHz (XP2000), and I've been able to undervolt to 1.725V. I'm really tempted to get a new mobo and see just how low I can go with the voltage! BTW, at the 1.67GHz, the CPU's at 46 degrees (volcano 7, panaflo 12V), and stays at 46 degrees when I underclock to 1.05GHz, but drop the panaflo to 5V(for supersilence!). Any problems with these temps?

And any suggestions for a good SocketA mobo with lots of bios features (as well as USB2?) I hate onboard sound and Lan, so I don't care for those...[/i]

_________________
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 5:39 pm
Posts: 13
Check out the nforce2 boards from Abit and Soltek. They both undervolt to 1.1v. There's a link to the Soltek review around here somewhere, or google it.

_________________
Lian-li PC60, Nexus 300, a7n8x-deluxe,AthlonXP 2.4, Barracuda IV, Passive GF2, Papst 8412NGL@7v . "He only had blank lines to say, but he said them in a witty and stylish way"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mississauga, ON
nan0dog wrote:
Check out the nforce2 boards from Abit and Soltek. They both undervolt to 1.1v. There's a link to the Soltek review around here somewhere, or google it.


Yeah nan0dog, thanks for the advice. I've already bought and installed the Soltek :wink:

Here's MY review of the massively undervoltable SOLTEK FRN7-L:
It's a kickass board! It has nForce2Ultra, which includes niceties like USB2.0, dualDDR, and a lot of user-tweakable features. As for the BIOS, the votlage can be adjusted from 1.1-1.85V, while the FSB can go from 100-230 (this board IS capable of a 200MHz FSB - many reviews are out of date on other websites). I don't know how well the T-bredB's or Barton's are unlocked - I have a Palamino which I've unlocked, and I can raise my 1600XP to a 2100XP! The main con is the lack of HSF mounting holes for sooper-heavy heatsinks. It was also really cheap ($130 Canadian after tax), and has onboard lan and sound (which I don't use for a number of reasons). Oh yeah, and apparently some come with a fan on the northbridge while others don't - just get a zalman NB heatsink if yours has a fan (and hence the smaller HS). Hell - get a zalman anyways - they look threatening :evil:

For quietness:
I was able to undervolt my Palamino XP1600 to 1.45V, and with a 5V panaflo on a Volcano 7, I have 57 deg while folding (on-die temperature - not the stupid mobo thermal sensor which says 47deg). It's a perfectly fine temp for the palamino.

_________________
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 11:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 5:38 am
Posts: 73
oogabooga wrote:

Here's MY review of the massively undervoltable SOLTEK FRN7-L:
It's a kickass board! (...)

For quietness:
I was able to undervolt my Palamino XP1600 to 1.45V, and with a 5V panaflo on a Volcano 7, I have 57 deg while folding (on-die temperature - not the stupid mobo thermal sensor which says 47deg). It's a perfectly fine temp for the palamino.


Sound interesting.

Does it support SpeedFan?

Bye egghat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mississauga, ON
Yep - that's actually the proggie that I'm currently using to get my temps.

_________________
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 5:38 am
Posts: 73
oogabooga wrote:
Yep - that's actually the proggie that I'm currently using to get my temps.


Does it support setting the FanSpeed too? (I had an older Soltek board, which was rather cool, but couldn't set the speed of the fans via software. It took three weeks to confirm this; the Soltek support guy's English was rather bad. But at least they answered; all my questions to Asus are still unanswered :( ).

Bye egghat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Mississauga, ON
I hadn't even thought about that - it could have saved me from having to buy that other FanMate I'm going to need, but alas, SpeedFan cannot control the fan speed. Maybe they can fix it in software :?:

_________________
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 6:05 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
I'm thinking of doing an undervolted P4 rig and was browsing through the Albatron website. The pdf for the PX865PE PRO II says that it's undervoltable down to .875V.

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:00 am
Posts: 806
Location: Germany
The DFI LANParty KT400A also seem able to undervolt down to 1.1V.

It's in german.
http://www.hardwareluxx.de/cgi-bin/ubb/ ... 00036&p=11

2nd picture in 1st line:
http://www.hluxx.de/Images/DFI/DFI_KT40 ... 0_0019.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 17, 2003 5:39 pm
Posts: 13
The Gigabyte 7NNXP nforce2 ultra 400 ATX board seems to undervolt to 1.1v. Onboard p-ata and s-ata raid, Intel csa gigabit lan. I just ordered one, so I'll let you know. See review http://www.digital-daily.com/motherboar ... ndex05.htm

_________________
Lian-li PC60, Nexus 300, a7n8x-deluxe,AthlonXP 2.4, Barracuda IV, Passive GF2, Papst 8412NGL@7v . "He only had blank lines to say, but he said them in a witty and stylish way"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 5
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Tomshardware is reporting on voltage-range for a handfull of Nfroce2 Ultra 400 Motherboards:

* Abit NF7-S 2.0: 1.1 to 1.85V in 0.05V increments
* Aopen AK79D-400Max: 1.1 to 1.85V in 0.05V increments
* Asus A7N8X Deluxe: 1.65 to 1.85V in 0.025V increments
* DFI LANParty NFII Ultra: 1.1 to 2.00V in 0.025V increments
* Epox EP-8RDA3+: 1.4 to 2.2V in 0.025V increments


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:31 am
Posts: 120
Location: Collegeville, PA, USA
The Gigabyte GA7N400 Pro is undervoltable 1.1 - 1.85V

Nice board...very nice, as a matter of fact, and probably the last 32 bit AMD board I'll ever own.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 5
Location: Trondheim, Norway
BTW, isn't it possible to undervolt more then the official selections by using the pin method ?

Pin method: Using tiny wires between the Vcc or Gnd pins in the socket and the right VID-pins to override the Voltage-ID. (same method as overriding multipliers just doing it on the VID in stead)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 2:37 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Italy
I'm very glad to contribute to this great website. :D

I was looking for Albatron motherboards, and while searching I found very good news. According to this and to the original motherboard manual I downloaded from the Albatron site, this is the achievable Vcore range:

Min: 0.8375V :shock:
Max: 1.6V

No life for over*! Straightforward P4 undervolting/underclocking! ;)

Albatron PX865PE for candidate. 8)

Bye!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 3:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11823
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
kamina wrote:
Don't know if it's on the list...

MSI K7D dual socket A with MPX chipset. From 1.1 -> 1.85v, but it undervolts by 0.4-0.5 resulting in 1.05-1.8v.

need a model number and more chipset details!

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 4:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11823
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Undervoltable Motherboards in the Recommended Section has been updated with all the confirmed info in this thread from ~mid March.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 2:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2003 2:37 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Italy
I think all the PX865PE motherboard should undervolt. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 11:21 am
Posts: 7
Location: Sweden
Hi all this is my first post. Since Im a silent-pc fanatic I thought I should add my motherboard to the list. Im using a epox 8k5a2+ which has the following specs.

CPU multiplier can be selected from 6.0X up to 12.0X in 0.5X steps, and from 12X to 15X in 1X steps. VCore can be selected from 1.4V up to 1.85V in 0.025V steps and from 1.85V to 2.20V in 0.05V steps and VMem from 2.50V 3.20V in 0.1V increments.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 28
Beware the AOPEN AK79G and AOPEN MK79G. I very nearly bought one because of the good price and ability to undervolt to 1.1V, but discovered at the last instant that THEY DON'T SUPPORT MULTIPLIER ADJUSTMENT.

I'm looking for an N-forcer which can run a Tbred at 5.5x166 @ 1.1V with 3 DIMMs, MCP-T audio, LAN, onboard VGA w/TV out for a HTPC project.

I'm not too sure about Leadtek motherboards and the layout seems odd, but so far only the Leadtek K7NCR18G pro seems to fit the bill.
UKers can get 'em from www.dabs.com for 95 quid.

_________________
XP2500 @ 200x5 1.2V Abit NF7-S, 5V fan --> Living Room
XP1700 @ 133x5 1.15V Abit NF7-M Passive --> Bedroom
Duron 700 @ 1.45V Bus Disconnect Enabled, Abit NF7-M, temp. controlled fan --> Study


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 7:16 pm
Posts: 174
Location: Mobile, AL
Shuttle AN35-N is undervoltable(Nforce2 Ultra 400)
1.10 - 1.85 V /0.025 V


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 4:04 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:56 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Spain - Madrid
Hi!

I've just read the whole thread, and the list of undervoltable motherboards.

I'd like to make some corrections to that list from my personal experience.

All Abit KD7 models -> listed as 1.1-1.85V, but it's also listed in discontinued motherboards :shock: as 1.1-2.325, which is the correct answer.

Asus A7V333 (all models) -> One model has not the block of jumpers, the Asus A7V333-X (KT333+VT8235), which is BTW the most easy to find now in shops.

Earlier models of Asus Socket A mobos, also have those blocks of jumpers, meaning that undervolting is also possible with those motherboards...

I'm also looking for Micro-ATX undervoltable motherboards... the first and the only smaller-than-ATX mobo that I've heard of is also the one of Shuttle SN45G...

_________________
Winchester 3000+@stock//ThermalRight XP-90+ Papst 8NGML//ZM-MFC1 & ZM-2HC1//CoolerMaster UV-Silent w/fan adaptor//Abit AV8 //2.0Gb PC3200 //Fanless Radeon 9550// 160+120+250+200Gb HDD 7k2 rpm//Seasonic SuperSilencer 300W@stock)//LG GSA-4163B, Toshiba SD-M1612


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Abit NF7-S 2.0 undervoltable.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 4:46 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:56 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Spain - Madrid
Vaeltaja wrote:
Abit NF7-S v2.0 is CPU undervoltable. In 0.025V increments, if I recall from 1.1V upwards. Currently we have two NF7-S boards running AMD T-BredB 1700+:s at 1.30V (1.6V default) with a slight 5% overclock. Both CPUs are stable through Prime95 and pass memtest86. Note: I do not know whether this degree of undervolting is normal with 1700+ processors though; it is quite possible that we have gotten very lucky.


My personal experiences are at least equal to yours, and with some "selected" CPUs better...

When Mike has a little spare time to correct and edit my horrible English, he will add an article I sent to him about "Thoroughbred-B Undervolting"

_________________
Winchester 3000+@stock//ThermalRight XP-90+ Papst 8NGML//ZM-MFC1 & ZM-2HC1//CoolerMaster UV-Silent w/fan adaptor//Abit AV8 //2.0Gb PC3200 //Fanless Radeon 9550// 160+120+250+200Gb HDD 7k2 rpm//Seasonic SuperSilencer 300W@stock)//LG GSA-4163B, Toshiba SD-M1612


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 9:21 am
Posts: 228
nan0dog wrote:
The Gigabyte 7NNXP nforce2 ultra 400 ATX board seems to undervolt to 1.1v. Onboard p-ata and s-ata raid, Intel csa gigabit lan. I just ordered one, so I'll let you know. See review http://www.digital-daily.com/motherboar ... ndex05.htm


intel csa gigabit lan on a nforce2 board? :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11823
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
The AOpen MK79G-N is a micro-ATX nForce2 IGP [Crush 18G], nVidia MCP chip board with Integrated GeForce4 MX Graphics, Vcore 1.1-1.85V. As a bonus, it has SilenTek & SilentBIOS. I'd like to get my hands on one!

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:22 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
Harry Azol wrote:
nan0dog wrote:
The Gigabyte 7NNXP nforce2 ultra 400 ATX board seems to undervolt to 1.1v. Onboard p-ata and s-ata raid, Intel csa gigabit lan. I just ordered one, so I'll let you know. See review http://www.digital-daily.com/motherboar ... ndex05.htm


intel csa gigabit lan on a nforce2 board? :lol:


Hey, if Microsoft and AOL can get in bed together, why not Intel and AMD?

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 11:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11823
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Another AOpen nForce2 mATX - embedded VGA boards w/ good Vcore control: MK79G-1394

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 8:51 am
Posts: 17
I'm using a Gigabyte GA-8PE800 with a PIV 3.06 processor. The motherboard allows voltage adjustements in 0.0125V steps from 0.8385V to 1.6V. My cpu is currently undervolted to 1.3V. With only 2 fans in the system (PSU and CPU -Zalman 7000alcu at minimum voltage) and an ambient temp of 27C, idle temp is 39C and under full load it is 56C.

With Gigabyte's EasyTune4 you can change the Vcore in windows. EasyTune4 also lets you adjust CPU, GPU, PCI, and memory frequencies in windows. You can monitor CPU temps and the RPM of the fans. This all can also be done in the BIOS.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8PE800.htm


Last edited by Evo on Sat Aug 16, 2003 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:42 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:56 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Spain - Madrid
MikeC wrote:
The AOpen MK79G-N is a micro-ATX nForce2 IGP [Crush 18G], nVidia MCP chip board with Integrated GeForce4 MX Graphics, Vcore 1.1-1.85V. As a bonus, it has SilenTek & SilentBIOS. I'd like to get my hands on one!


Quote:
Another AOpen nForce2 mATX - embedded VGA boards w/ good Vcore control: MK79G-1394


Hi Mike!

Have you tested or seen them by yourself? I don't see anywhere that they provide Vcore control...

_________________
Winchester 3000+@stock//ThermalRight XP-90+ Papst 8NGML//ZM-MFC1 & ZM-2HC1//CoolerMaster UV-Silent w/fan adaptor//Abit AV8 //2.0Gb PC3200 //Fanless Radeon 9550// 160+120+250+200Gb HDD 7k2 rpm//Seasonic SuperSilencer 300W@stock)//LG GSA-4163B, Toshiba SD-M1612


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11823
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
deebass wrote:
Hi Mike!

Have you tested or seen them by yourself? I don't see anywhere that they provide Vcore control...

I downloaded the manuals & checked. Looks like 1.1-1.84V is pretty standard for a lot of AOpen boards; I have 2 that also provide the same (vert similar, anyway)...

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 314 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group