It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 283 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
DGibFen wrote:
MC FLMJIG wrote:
DGibFen wrote:
I've tried three other boards now for help and you all sound like you are great at diagnosing problems.

I believe the 512 are like the gig sticks. Make sure the memory is getting 2.2V. After that - SuperPI @ 32m and then call in the morning :wink:
You should try this as well if the above doesn't work


Alright, after reading some information on how to do such - I've never attempted a thing before - I used CPU-Z to check the RAM timings, which were 5-5-5-24-2T. I went into the BIOS and changed the RAM voltage to 2.1v, and then changed the ram timings to 4-4-4-12-2T.

Hopefully this will fix the problem.



If it is at stock and they are Ballistix

2.2V 2.2 V 2.2V 2.2V - My board overvolts abit. Check the bios and in windows what voltage the memory is getting.

If it is @ stock 4 4 4 1T @ 2.2V

Post your entire setup and where your settings are.

Voltage CPU + mem.

Frequency of CPU + mem.

Are you OCing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Which Realtek Audio CODEC is present on Abit NF-M2?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:37 pm
Posts: 1
I am interested in purchasing this board for a HTPC. I see that it has Optical SPDIF output for the audio. However, I am concerned that the Realtek audio CODEC doesn't support true Dolby Digital and is only AC97 and not HD-Audio (Azalia). Does anyone know what model of Realtek CODEC is present on this board?

I don't want to have to buy a sound card to get real Dolby Digital.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:01 pm
Posts: 5
MC FLMJIG wrote:
If it is at stock and they are Ballistix

2.2V 2.2 V 2.2V 2.2V - My board overvolts abit. Check the bios and in windows what voltage the memory is getting.

If it is @ stock 4 4 4 1T @ 2.2V

Post your entire setup and where your settings are.

Voltage CPU + mem.

Frequency of CPU + mem.

Are you OCing?


Here's all of that information. I'm not planning on OCing. I changed the settings to what you suggested.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
You have slight overvolting liek I do. I guess it's how the board comes.

Are you still having problems?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
has anyone run a SATA burner with this board?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
ARE THE DVD SATA BURNERS OUT?!?!?!?! (US)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
Just those from Plextor that cost 3-4x their IDE counterparts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:01 pm
Posts: 5
MC FLMJIG wrote:
You have slight overvolting liek I do. I guess it's how the board comes.

Are you still having problems?


I read in another forum that people have noticed that the board does slightly overvolt.

Problem fixed - I guess I thought the RAM voltage had already corrected itself in the BIOS. :oops: Ah well, it earned me a better and slightly cheaper video card in the process, as well as some much needed knowledge. :D

Thanks for all the help. I guess my next task is to see how I can quiet some of these fan noises in my case!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
I'm glad it's fixed! :P

You can undervolt in windows using a program recomended by one of our forum friends.

Crystal CPUID and the other one is RM Clock? Something like that. Search this thread. heh heh

You can volt mod the fans. You can also cut out the fan area on the case.






I thought the SATA burners were out... :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
liteon also makes an $800 sata blu-ray drive :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
The reason I ask is the tiny tiny compatibility chart on Plextor.com lists the Nforce 430 MCP as non-working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 10
Is anyone running an NF-M2 nview with discrete graphics?

Can you determine whether the board shuts down the integrated graphics while discrete graphics are active (ie it doesn't use as much power in itself)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
I just installed the Xbox 360 dvd drive... grrrr. I need an HDCP card asap...

When SATA drives from samsung r out I will buy and say Gbye IDE 4 ever.

My PC is a tad loud.. I need to get rid of the Tri cools. Even on low they are a tad loud. I have to dremel the sides slots too and buy a mesh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 9:08 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow....
just a note - newegg sells lite-on SATA DVD burners now

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6827106047

I got this one to try it out, wish me luck :wink:

_________________
Antec SLK3700AMB l Intel P4 @ 2.8 l MSI PT880 Motherboard l Lite-on COMBO DRIVE
1gb (512 x 2) l ATI 9800 Pro 128 l NINJA l
A Finally Quiet SLK3700AMB Final Edition


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
it's looking bad, theyangster:

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=201430

nforce 430 chipset.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southeast, USA
gatekeeper wrote:
Is anyone running an NF-M2 nview with discrete graphics?

Can you determine whether the board shuts down the integrated graphics while discrete graphics are active (ie it doesn't use as much power in itself)?


I'm using a fan-less 7600GS on an ASUS M2NPV-VM. I would guess this is essentially similar (as Consumer Reports would say) to the NF-M2. The 6150 chip is not quite as hot (there's no heat sink as there is on the abit). I'll try this tomorrow on the NF-M2 if the replacement finally arrives. All of RAM is available to the system in this configuration and CrystalMark09 reports 20% better in MEM test. I don't know if a discrete GPU and on-board will work simultaneously. Oddly, this GPU addition didn't raise the case temperature - just one 12cm front fan (still waiting on rear 80mm fans).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 10
Thanks SR - it's a pretty hard thing to test for.

I don't know if it's possible to select which graphics the mb boots with when both are present, or if it will automatically use PCIe if it's there.

I think there is a setting in the NF-M2 BIOS for 'Init Display First', so that may do it. I'd be interested to know whether the PCIe card is powered up if the BIOS is set to use internal graphics (might be useful for power-saving gamers!)

On the other hand, if the system was powered up using internal graphics and power was still going to the PCIe card, then:
monitoring system power use with this configuration, and then 'switching off' the internal graphics and seeing what that does to the power use might tell us something.

I do seem to remember reading a report somewhere about some of these boards with integrated graphics and PCIe which didn't power down the integrated part when a discrete part was in use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:41 am
Posts: 77
Location: Italy
rei wrote:
Just those from Plextor that cost 3-4x their IDE counterparts.

there are from Samsung too, approx 20% more

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
only in europe though, not in north america :~(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
Bah, figures. Right after I pay for my NF-M2, I find a decent uATX Conroe board.

MSI's G965M-FI. It's just as well, doesn't appear to be available in North America.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-G965MFI

What's so great about it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
I wanted a uATX board with:

- PCI-e 1x/16x layout like that (didn't want the PCI-e 16x slot shifted down after the 1x slot like some Gigabyte/ASUS boards have them. I lose a PCI slot to the 2-slot passive video card and 1 to the hard drive on the bottom of the case on a NSK3300 so having 1 additional PCI slot is helpful.

- Firewire, very important for me since I have a Mac as well and many external hard drives, optical drives through Firewire

- Enough clearance above the PCI-e 16x slot for a passive video card since the ASUS and XFX ones have a bit of a heatsink that are obstructed by the big tall heatsinks on most Intel boards. That and they are RIGHT AGAINST the PCI-e 16x slot.

This is one consideration that some people may not think about.

- a good Northbridge chipset with SATA that works with SATA burners. The Intel chipsets trump the NVIDIA Nforce MCP in this regard. This is the one failing of the NF-M2 board so far.

I wanted Conroe due to C2D's speed gains over A64 but in this regard it looks like the perfect uATX mobo (NF-M2) will have to sit in AMD64's camp still.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:47 pm
Posts: 332
Location: NY
4get with intel right now. Until a new chipset or somehow they figure out how to fix this current chipset (for MATX) AMD is best bet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
for a 10% speed difference, I'd have to pay roughly 20% in mobo and chip premium so I had to forgo it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 am
Posts: 10
Also, has anyone got a Scythe Ninja to fit on one of these yet? Problems?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southeast, USA
The NF-M2 replacement finally arrived - loaded XP from a Plextor 716SA without a problem. It's kinda nice not having any IDE cables in the case. The AC Freezer 64 Pro refuses to seat squarely on the CPU. It's on top of a 4800+89w (found a deal on an OEM open-box at newegg) running at 27C (amb.73F) with CnQ at idle. There's one 12cm Nexus at the rear of the Lian Li controlled by SYSfan running at ~580 RPM (abitEq doesn't like this).

Haven't tried a discrete GPU yet.


The Gigabyte G965 uATX looks good from the perspective that the useless X1 slot is between the x16 and PCI slots enabling a two slot x16 GPU without covering a PCI slot - like the NF-M2. I'm holding off on a C2D uATX MB since I read that nVidia is developing a new on-board video chip for Intel - seemed like a Q2-3 07 release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
have you tried to burn/read burnt dvd discs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 9:08 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow....
this is OT, but I got my Lite-on Drive today, worked right out of the box w/ my MSI pt880 (southbridge VT8237), burnt a DVD at 16X - very smooth sounding

will post a mini review later in the silent storage section

_________________
Antec SLK3700AMB l Intel P4 @ 2.8 l MSI PT880 Motherboard l Lite-on COMBO DRIVE
1gb (512 x 2) l ATI 9800 Pro 128 l NINJA l
A Finally Quiet SLK3700AMB Final Edition


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:28 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:40 am
Posts: 26
Location: Wisconsin, US
gatekeeper wrote:
Also, has anyone got a Scythe Ninja to fit on one of these yet? Problems?


I just did, but it is a very tight fit. The heatpipes are pushing out a few of the capacitors to the left of the socket. I'm glad I didn't break anything.

I was thinking the memory might be an issue, but I had no problems there. You can run a dual channel setup on DIMM3 and DIMM4 (the slots to the far right). If you need more memory, I think the Ninja would block DIMM1, although I haven't checked this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:51 am
Posts: 176
Location: Southeast, USA
rei wrote:
have you tried to burn/read burnt dvd discs?


I watched a movie from it after installing Nero 6 OEM (Plextools was _not_ installed). I need to backup a few GB of stuff. Which is of most interest?

1) burn with Plextor/read with Plextor
2) burn with Plextor/read with IDE Samsung or Sony on another PC
-or-
3) burn with IDE Samsung or Sony on another PC/read with Plextor

I also have Roxio Creator7 OEM if this could make a difference.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 283 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group