It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: undervolted high and low end meroms = same power usage?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 35
Hi folks!

I would like to ask a very brief question.
I have a merom T7200 on my thinkpad T60p right now. It's been rock stable using RMClock @ 0.95v. My question is, if I get a T7600, and i manage to undervolt it to 0.95v too, will it generate the same heat and consume the same power as the 7200 at the same voltage? Which is to say, is the cpu tension the only factor that determines its power usage / heat generation?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 758
Location: Formosa
It's impossible to tell unless you try it on your own. After all, Intel only guarantees that CPU would be within a certain range of TDP ratings. Given the nature of variance of mass production, there's doomed to be a better CPU and a worse CPU in the production in terms of power consumption. Also, new revision usually tends to draw a bit less power than old revision.

For example, I've tried undervolting AMD X4620 C2 and 635 C3 to 930MHz at 0.8V, 635 draws about 3~5W less than 620.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:35 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Israel
T7200 and T7600 are practically the same, one has slightly higher factory set clock which simply might spel its better production grade.

I'm gonna guess - if they are clocked the same and undervolted to the same value they will likely consume the same W. If 7600 is clocked higher it might not be stable at the same voltage or it might generate more heat.

The only way to drop W significantly would be to move to lower process chip ie 65nm->45nm or 45->32nm. I know moving from Q6600 to Q9550 makes a big difference. I don't think It would have been had I moved from Q9450 to Q9550.

_________________
DAW - Antec P150, i7 2600K @ 4.4 GHz , Intel DP67BG, Crucial C300 SATA 3 SSD, Passive Geforce 8500GT, Samsung F1 1TB audio drive, Seasonic S12II520, TRUE+AC PWM@500RPM, Noctua 120@700 RPM
Video Edit- Antec P183, i7 2600, Intel DP67BG, Quadro 2000, Samsung 500GB system, 2*WB 1TB RAID 0, TRUE, Seasonic S12II620


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 35
ok, here's another question then: does the 7600 at full stock consume more than the 7200 at full stock, at the same voltage?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group