It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
I've got a FX-8350 AMD processor, and a motherboard I plan to replace for one with more slots. If I replace the motherboard I could sell the AMD processor on eBay and get an Intel setup since they run cooler. Think it's worth it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 2063
Location: Guatemala
NetTechie wrote:
I've got a FX-8350 AMD processor, and a motherboard I plan to replace for one with more slots. If I replace the motherboard I could sell the AMD processor on eBay and get an Intel setup since they run cooler. Think it's worth it?
The FX 8350 is a very good processor for the money, pesronally i havent done an AMD build in 6 years, so idk really how goes, but intel quads are much more capable and in theory run cooler and consume less energy, the cooler running.... might still be true with the none hyperthreaded, but hypertheared... they run very hot on load.

_________________
GameMi >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4790K | Thermalright Silver Arrow IBE + 3x Noctua NF-A15 PWM @500rpms | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @450rpm | SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Other builds ---> ServeMi | CamMi | MiniMi | HTPCMi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
Really? I might find the i7's run as hot as the FX-8350 under full load? No advantage to switch then, my problem is under full load gaming the AMD gets hot. But at idle it runs cool enough to be silent. I was hoping to quiet it down under load, but maybe that's not what would happen!

How stable is an intel at higher temps? My AMD gets unstable at 65c.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 2063
Location: Guatemala
NetTechie wrote:
Really? I might find the i7's run as hot as the FX-8350 under full load? No advantage to switch then, my problem is under full load gaming the AMD gets hot. But at idle it runs cool enough to be silent. I was hoping to quiet it down under load, but maybe that's not what would happen!

How stable is an intel at higher temps? My AMD gets unstable at 65c.
Well my i7 and others have reached 80C under prime or encoding, but the i seen multiple i5 4670K that the most the reach is 65C with quiet components, not dead silent but quiet.

You might want to wait some time to change your FX, intel is planning on releasing a refresh on Haswell, Intel will release 20 New Haswell CPUs in May, which i personally dont understand, it should been broadwell, but maybe they are milking us with refreshes and delaying broadwell.

_________________
GameMi >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4790K | Thermalright Silver Arrow IBE + 3x Noctua NF-A15 PWM @500rpms | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @450rpm | SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Other builds ---> ServeMi | CamMi | MiniMi | HTPCMi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
So the i7's can tolerate 80c and not cause lockups? I've experienced my lockups while gaming.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 2063
Location: Guatemala
NetTechie wrote:
So the i7's can tolerate 80c and not cause lockups? I've experienced my lockups while gaming.
This is not a common thing, only prime95 or stress test can take it there, normal stuff like games i never pass 65C. But i never had a lockup on prime95 at those temps on pirme95, personally i think its too hot, but really depends into how intel design it.

_________________
GameMi >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4790K | Thermalright Silver Arrow IBE + 3x Noctua NF-A15 PWM @500rpms | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @450rpm | SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Other builds ---> ServeMi | CamMi | MiniMi | HTPCMi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
I've never tried running stress tests on it, but I know games lock up around 65c. Wonder if the games would lock up on the Intel processor at those temps too? It would be worth the switch if the Intel is able to run games at 80c and remain stable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Switzerland
Intel runs cooler *when doing the same work*.
Of course Intel sells CPUs which run hot. But they do more work than hot AMDs.
Odds are, you have little or no use for an i7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
Well, most of my work doesn't ever stress the processor enough to heat it above say 32c.

Only time it gets hot is gaming, and that's where I have problems, it gets very hot and unstable, so I have to increase the noise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Switzerland
Can't you simply underclock then?
Game at slightly lower settings until you upgrade that box if need be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
I have definitely considered that. I've never underclocked before though. Kind of new to it.

But if an Intel i7 can run at higher temps while staying stable, the AMD isn't so much a hot processor as a badly designed one, that can't tolerate heat. It might be worth the upgrade to get rid of the bad design.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1730
Location: Switzerland
I don't think it's so much bad design as AMD trying to push the limits of their technology.
Intel has much better tech, a whole lot more money and so forth. It's not equal competition as far as the CPU part of the chips is concerned (I'm not talking about the integrated graphics).
Intel cripples most of its CPUs. The default settings (which you are often not allowed to touch) are conservative to extremely conservative and as a result the CPUs typically run without a hitch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 528
Location: 128.0.0.1
AMD is presently a bad choice for gaming. Intel has dominated gaming benchmarks for years. All while being quite a bit more energy efficient.
AMD has inferior per-core-performance and has been compensating that by giving you "more cores per dollar". While that's nice and dandy, you'll need software that utilizes those extra cores and that is primarily encoding, rendering, virtualization, database, that kind of stuff.
Games - not so much.

There is a chance that with the PS4 and Xbox One both using 8-core AMD chips, in a year or so games will start being optimized for multi-core chips.

Seeing as your prime problem is heat-related, I'd suggest you get a better CPU cooler first. I take it you have the boxed cooler, which would explain the bad performance. Get an HR-2(2), they are cross-platform, so even if you decide to dump the AMD eventually, you can reuse the cooler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
Actually, surprisingly the cooler I am using is a Corsair H60 self-contained water cooler, which hits 60c and above as soon as I load up a game. I am not using the included fan though, I'm using two 70cfm fans in push-pull, and are a lot less noisy. It could partly be room temps involved, as the room is hot. But it still seems like it should do better. I'm going to put a push-pull setup on a heatsink and see if it performs as badly. Maybe water coolers just aren't efficient. If an Intel could handle the same temps and stay stable, that would be a reason to switch though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:07 am
Posts: 120
Location: Vienna - Austria
I am no expert on CPU and temps, but looking at what you explain... could there be a problem on your current set up? Not a good heat dissipation?

I always read that CPU is not so much used in games, but the GPU.

Abula also says that he gest 65°C on games and a max of 85°C with Prime95. He's clearly not at max temp on gaming.

Maybe you could also run a stress test and see until where it goes with your CPU.

I can understand that your AMD can't run as fast as an Intel, but there should still be a margin before it locks down...

Did you say what games you play?
(I got bit lost of the numerous topics you created, with some info here and there...)

_________________
(sold in Dec. 2013) Temjin TJ08-E / Be Quiet Straight Power E9 400W / GA-B75M-D3H / i3-3225 / 8GB / SSD 120GB / HDD 1TB / running Mac OS - Hackintosh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 2063
Location: Guatemala
Really no reason to go with i7 4770K unless you do encoding or any heavy cpu task that benefits form hyperthreading. Save yourself 10C just by going with the i5 4670K, the performance in gaming will be the same, and its still a more capable cpu than the FX8350, the only thing you lose is 100mhz and hyperthreading over the 4770K, but running cooler will help you turn down the fans or even allow you some overclocking, that will result in better performance in gaming than the hyperthreading on the 4770k. I did went with the 4770K because i do encode and i want to stream someday.... but i do regret the consequences, i should have gone with the 4670K and then upgraded to haswell E, but thats life. Save yourself $100 and invest it a better motherboard, better GPU, better cpu cooler, or even keep it on your pockets, its a better deal overall.

_________________
GameMi >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4790K | Thermalright Silver Arrow IBE + 3x Noctua NF-A15 PWM @500rpms | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @450rpm | SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Other builds ---> ServeMi | CamMi | MiniMi | HTPCMi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:45 am
Posts: 528
Location: 128.0.0.1
NetTechie wrote:
Actually, surprisingly the cooler I am using is a Corsair H60 self-contained water cooler

I thought you didn't trust watercooling?

Quote:
which hits 60c and above as soon as I load up a game. I am not using the included fan though, I'm using two 70cfm fans in push-pull

I have to second thierry here, it sounds like your setup is flawed. Have you tried re-mounting the cooler? Maybe you used to much thermal paste (look around the web for pictures of how much is good)?

The HR-2(2) will not provide better cooling performance than an H60!

Quote:
Maybe water coolers just aren't efficient.

They are. And beat just about any air cooler.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 688
Location: Germany
tim851 wrote:
I have to second thierry here, it sounds like your setup is flawed. Have you tried re-mounting the cooler? Maybe you used to much thermal paste (look around the web for pictures of how much is good)?

The HR-2(2) will not provide better cooling performance than an H60!


That was my first thought too.


tim851 wrote:
They are. And beat just about any air cooler.


In cooling performance yes, in noise no :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
thierry. wrote:
Did you say what games you play?


I didn't mention them, Call of Duty Ghosts and Battlefield 4 are the two I currently have been playing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch to Intel for heat reasons?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:58 am
Posts: 343
Location: USA
tim851 wrote:
I thought you didn't trust watercooling?


Lately I decided it was a risk not worth taking, so that is another reason to switch to a heatsink. When I got it they misinformed me about them at the store, claiming that they wouldn't fry the motherboard if they leaked because they said they use a "non conductive fluid". Dumb person at the store I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group