It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Intel i5 not staying at idle clocks
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 838
Location: London
My current main system is a Phenom II X4 955 and with that, at idle the CPU will generally stay at 800Mhz whilst the CPU is below 25% and even then very brief spikes won't cause it to increase.

I've just built a Asus Z97-A/i5 4670k system (OC'd to 4.4Ghz@1.225v) and with this, cores 2&3 seem to spend most of the time around 1400-1700Mhz, in fact core 1 has joined in now, so only core 0 seems to mostly stay at 800mhz, even though the CPU usage is below about 8% and the cores below about 10%. I've also noticed the core VIDs and Vcores stay at fixed voltages, unlike my AMD system where they decrease at lower clocks to save energy and reduce heat.

Image

Image

I'm sure I'm overlooking some BIOS setting due to being an Intel noob but is there a way to make the CPU step up less aggressively and also reduce the VID/Vcore when running at below full speed?

_________________
Main: Asus Z97-A, i5-4670k@4.4Ghz, Scythe Kotetsu HSF, Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 4x4GB, eVGA SuperNova G2 750W, Powercolor 6950 2GB GPU, Samsung 840 Evo 256GB SSD, Samsung 2TB and WD 2TB HDDs, Coolermaster HAF XB case

2nd PC: MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955@3.5Ghz, TRUE Rev. C/Nexus, HD6850 1GB, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W, Bach VX case


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel i5 not staying at idle clocks
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4613
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
In the BIOS, look to see if:

Enhanced Intel Speed Step (EIST) is enabled.
Intel C-State is enabled.

There are also some halt-state power saving features that can be enabled.

It'd be funny if your hardware monitor app was the reason the CPU spins up :D.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel i5 not staying at idle clocks
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 838
Location: London
SpeedStep, Turbo Mode and CPU C-States are enabled (C-States was on Auto, so I've changed it to Enabled but it hasn't made any difference).

It has a setting 'Package C-States Support' which is set to Auto and has various options (Enabled, C0/C1 - C7, C7s), so maybe that needs to be set to something else?

I don't think HwInfo can be causing the problem as it doesn't with my AMD system and it's not causing any noticeable CPU activity anyway.

_________________
Main: Asus Z97-A, i5-4670k@4.4Ghz, Scythe Kotetsu HSF, Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 4x4GB, eVGA SuperNova G2 750W, Powercolor 6950 2GB GPU, Samsung 840 Evo 256GB SSD, Samsung 2TB and WD 2TB HDDs, Coolermaster HAF XB case

2nd PC: MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955@3.5Ghz, TRUE Rev. C/Nexus, HD6850 1GB, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W, Bach VX case


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel i5 not staying at idle clocks
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 838
Location: London
I tried setting the 'C-State' Package setting to C7 (or C7s I'm not sure) but then I got a corrupted screen and locked-up PC when I next woke the monitor (PC wasn't in standby) so I've put that back to Auto. In fact, I reset the BIOS to default settings and like that, with no overclock, the VID and Vcore properly adjust along with the CPU speed, although it still keeps flipping into higher states despite the CPU basically idling and with no correlation between core usage and higher states, as core #0 here is at 5.4% but 800Mhz, whilst cores 3-4 are at 2.7% and 1500Mhz

Image

So hopefully there's a way to make it change the Vcore and VID automatically when overclocking as well.

_________________
Main: Asus Z97-A, i5-4670k@4.4Ghz, Scythe Kotetsu HSF, Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 4x4GB, eVGA SuperNova G2 750W, Powercolor 6950 2GB GPU, Samsung 840 Evo 256GB SSD, Samsung 2TB and WD 2TB HDDs, Coolermaster HAF XB case

2nd PC: MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955@3.5Ghz, TRUE Rev. C/Nexus, HD6850 1GB, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W, Bach VX case


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group