It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: low-power DSL modem
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 270
Location: CA
Just thought I would start a thread about DSL modem power consumption.

I obsess a bit with seeing where I can squeeze out a few Watts less here and there around the house and ALWAYS-ON electronics are one of my favorite targets.

I have a Watts Up? meter and measured these:

Zoom 0226 ADSL modem = 9 Watts

Motorola 2210 ADSL2/2+ Modem = 2 Watts

The Motorola is the new modem I got from Sonic.net

_________________
My "quiet PC" build: E7500@stock, Ninja RevB (passive), Gigabyte DS3, Corsair 520HX, Antec Solo, Sapphire 5750 Vapor-X , WD Velociraptor, 4Gb G.Skill DDR2-800.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:34 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1883
Location: Northern California.
Yo Sonic.net!

hm I have a zoomx6 wifi, howd you get the new moto? is it for Fusion?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Los Angeles, California
Another thought. Typically, the modem isn't alone but it's accompanied by a router and/or switch, which may be wireless.

If power consumption is de rigeur, one may want to consider an all-in-one modem, 4 wired ports + wireless router such as this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 270
Location: CA
My old modem had a flaky power switch so I called Sonic.net and they sent me the Motorola as a replacement. It's really TINY, and at only 2 Watts seems very thrifty.

The problem with most "all-in-one" solutions for me is they are usually pretty junky. I am enough of an IT networking geek to want better and more flexible setup than that.

On my router I want to be able to run OpenWRT and have lots of flexibility and control. Which I haven't seen on any of the "kitchen-sink" solutions but I haven't looked very hard. Anyhow I eschew the modem+router+WiFi for that reason.

Within that framework of wanting to use discrete components, I like seeing how low I can get the power consumption.

_________________
My "quiet PC" build: E7500@stock, Ninja RevB (passive), Gigabyte DS3, Corsair 520HX, Antec Solo, Sapphire 5750 Vapor-X , WD Velociraptor, 4Gb G.Skill DDR2-800.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:51 am
Posts: 372
Location: Seattle
My 2Wire 2701HG uses 22 watts. It is a router/modem combo.
The older Sprint (Embarq) 620 modem only uses 5 watts. I don't know who made this for Sprint.

_________________
Biostar 785GE
Intel D510
Asus EeePC N450 netbook
Evo HTC 4G
SAPPHIRE PURE Fusion Mini E350 AMD E-350 APU
Acer Aspire AS5250-BZ641 Notebook AMD Dual-Core Processor C-50
HifiMan REO, Sansa Clip+, JDS cMoy
click on an ad link each time you visit SPCR and help pay the bills.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 2wire
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:32 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Mexico
my 2wire 2700hg (modem/router) consumes only 6 watts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:51 am
Posts: 372
Location: Seattle
Really, I must check.

_________________
Biostar 785GE
Intel D510
Asus EeePC N450 netbook
Evo HTC 4G
SAPPHIRE PURE Fusion Mini E350 AMD E-350 APU
Acer Aspire AS5250-BZ641 Notebook AMD Dual-Core Processor C-50
HifiMan REO, Sansa Clip+, JDS cMoy
click on an ad link each time you visit SPCR and help pay the bills.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 1:37 am
Posts: 55
Location: UK
I have an internal Alcatel PCI card DSL modem in this PC, - don't have a way to measure but imagine it uses very little power. My other PC has an external USB DSL modem which I think works on 5V/0.5 Amps so that will be pretty 'green' too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2wire
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:51 am
Posts: 372
Location: Seattle
greenfrank wrote:
my 2wire 2700hg (modem/router) consumes only 6 watts.


I checked, mine also uses only 6 watts.

_________________
Biostar 785GE
Intel D510
Asus EeePC N450 netbook
Evo HTC 4G
SAPPHIRE PURE Fusion Mini E350 AMD E-350 APU
Acer Aspire AS5250-BZ641 Notebook AMD Dual-Core Processor C-50
HifiMan REO, Sansa Clip+, JDS cMoy
click on an ad link each time you visit SPCR and help pay the bills.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:31 am
Posts: 51
Location: Canada
My cable modem + router + ATA + UPS draws 20 watts. Measured with a power meter.


Last edited by expxe on Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:31 am
Posts: 51
Location: Canada
eleanori wrote:
How can I get my old computer to recognize a new modem? I recently had my modem replaced. I wanted to also make it work with my older computer (as a backup) that runs Windows 98, but for some reason, the older computer does not communicate with the new modem. I called my ISP, but was told that they no longer support Windows 98 so they could not help me. Any suggestions?


linux

get off of windows 98 and switch over to ubuntu linux or something else, at least it has more support. and not windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:16 am
Posts: 8
Location: Europe
I'm currently using a TeleWell TW-EA100B USB ADSL modem that has no ADSL2+ support and while it is very reliable device it does consume about 5w. I thought the USB modems would have been lower in consumption than a full router. I've tested a few devices but they typically perform pretty similarly.

I've been hunting for better USB-based options but they seem so difficult to obtain they are not really worth pursuing. Everything based on the st70138 Unicorn II could be good because the chipset manufacturer specifically advertises it as having a very low consumption. Apparently names of devices that have this include Zyxel P-630S EE, ZTE ZXDSL 852 v2, Netronix MN-01 and Acorp Sprinter@ADSL

The Motorola Netopia 3342N model that has ADSL2+ support (but no USB 2.0 support, which makes it uncapable of actually delivering some of the faster speeds I guess...) should also be an efficient one.

Anyone has one of these and could provide some actual numbers?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group