It is currently Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "01" Watts when computer is turned off?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 315
Location: EU, USA
I rarely turn off my PC, but I did yesterday and I noticed that the power meter showed "01" Watts. If the computer is turned off shouldn't it be 0 watts? The power meter is a P3 Kill-A-Watt P4400.

Also, when the PC is suspended, it shows "03" Watt. Is that 3 watts or 0.3?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:31 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:04 am
Posts: 601
Location: UK
I think the PSU will still draw a little if it's just soft-off as opposed to the cable being pulled out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 315
Location: EU, USA
I can understand 3 or 0.3 watts in S3 suspend mode, but "off" should be OFF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:58 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:04 am
Posts: 601
Location: UK
If your PC is "off" because you shut it down, and it is still connected to the mains then there is still Voltage available to the motherboard (often this can be seen in the tiny lights indicating the supply is present). This allows the kind of power control circuitry used by PCs, where the PSU is "jump started" into full operation when it detects a current caused by depressing the front panel power switch. The only way to truly kill consumption is to flick the switch on the back of the PSU, or pull the plug.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:09 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1762
Location: Northern California.
there are a lot of electronics that use juice when "off".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "01" Watts when computer is turned off?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
Rebellious wrote:
I rarely turn off my PC, but I did yesterday and I noticed that the power meter showed "01" Watts. If the computer is turned off shouldn't it be 0 watts? The power meter is a P3 Kill-A-Watt P4400.

Also, when the PC is suspended, it shows "03" Watt. Is that 3 watts or 0.3?

My iMac might use more power when turned off then when it is just put to sleep! The meter actually cycles between 0W and 5W in both instances, but the 5W state seems to last longer when it is off. I won't be turning it off now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "01" Watts when computer is turned off?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 315
Location: EU, USA
QuietOC wrote:
Rebellious wrote:
I rarely turn off my PC, but I did yesterday and I noticed that the power meter showed "01" Watts. If the computer is turned off shouldn't it be 0 watts? The power meter is a P3 Kill-A-Watt P4400.

Also, when the PC is suspended, it shows "03" Watt. Is that 3 watts or 0.3?

My iMac might use more power when turned off then when it is just put to sleep! The meter actually cycles between 0W and 5W in both instances, but the 5W state seems to last longer when it is off. I won't be turning it off now.


iMac is probably charging its battery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:53 pm
Posts: 315
Location: EU, USA
ok. So is "01" = 1 watt or 0.1?

For "03" suspend mode, I'd always assumed that the power meter has a funky decimal display for 0.3 watts, 3W seems too much for just keeping the memory alive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
Rebellious wrote:
ok. So is "01" = 1 watt or 0.1?

"01" = 1

Also, there is no battery to charge in the iMac. :)


Last edited by QuietOC on Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:20 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 1300
Location: en.gb.uk
Rebellious wrote:
For "03" suspend mode, I'd always assumed that the power meter has a funky decimal display for 0.3 watts, 3W seems too much for just keeping the memory alive.


Well, it's not just keeping the memory alive. It's powering all of the power losses of the PSU, voltage regulators on the motherboard and so on. 3W in S3 is pretty damned good if you're using a standard ATX PSU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "01" Watts when computer is turned off?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:59 pm
Posts: 157
Location: San Diego, CA
Rebellious wrote:
I rarely turn off my PC, but I did yesterday and I noticed that the power meter showed "01" Watts. If the computer is turned off shouldn't it be 0 watts?

Welcome to vampire load. If you really want something off, you have to flip the switch at the power switch or unplug it.

You're lucky - many crappy power supplies continue to pull 5+W when "off".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:28 am
Posts: 121
Anything you have plugged to the wall draws something even if they're turned 'off'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:35 pm
Posts: 808
Location: Greece
Pretty much all devices draw a small amount of current when off. If you look at motherboard reviews over here you`ll see that most systems draw 1-2 watts when off, 3-4 when in standby.

Using a power bar is the easiest way to reduce this waste. Even so, the power bar will draw a tiny amount of power unless you pull the plug off.

_________________
My PCs: Workstation : HTPC in a CD player case : Custom Mini ITX projects


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:12 am
Posts: 545
Location: UK
ntavlas wrote:
...Even so, the power bar will draw a tiny amount of power unless you pull the plug off.

That depends. A cheap one will be just some wires, sockets and switches, and so will draw no power at all by itself. One with neon lights will draw a tiny amount for those, and one with a filter will draw some imaginary power (but no real power).

PCs are "soft off" by default so that things like wake-on-LAN will work. But every single ATX PSU that I have ever seen has a proper hard switch on the back. Turn that off and you will have zero power consumption.

_________________
https://mrevil.asvachin.eu/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: BSD on cold powerup
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 7:56 am
Posts: 106
Location: Cambridge, MA
ntavlas wrote:
Using a power bar is the easiest way to reduce this waste. Even so, the power bar will draw a tiny amount of power unless you pull the plug off.


I've been trying to do this, but WinXP will BSD out of hibernate. Not sure if this is due to my PSU, mobo, whatever -- but it's a consistent result. There must be some kind of weird power spike.

My setup is:

Smart strip with a UPS plugged into the master outlet. I plug/unplug my Wii, Xbox, laptop into the UPS when needed. Because all of these things draw vampire power, I wanted to shut the UPS down completely -- fine for the consoles, but doesn't work at all for the PC. (Plus, whenever I turn on the UPS for the consoles, the PC gets that sudden jolt of power and boots without my say-so).

Any thoughts on this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BSD on cold powerup
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:12 am
Posts: 545
Location: UK
padmewan wrote:
...Plus, whenever I turn on the UPS for the consoles, the PC gets that sudden jolt of power and boots without my say-so)...

I have had a few motherboards that had a BIOS option to automatically turn themselves back on after a power cut.

_________________
https://mrevil.asvachin.eu/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group