It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Zotac H55ITX-C-E wifi problems (Ralink RT2860)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:11 am
Posts: 2
Hey guys,

I recently purchased a ZOTAC H55ITX-C-E Mini-ITX motherboard for my HTPC build. Everything about the mobo is great, except for the built-in wifi.

The issue is that, in both Windows 7 x64 and Ubuntu 10.10 x64, the wifi card detects my wireless network (at full strength) but will not connect. Instead, it continually asks me to re-enter the network authentication (which I know to be correct). I have updated the card's drivers both manually and through Windows Update, to no avail. I did get it to connect once in Win7, but the throughput was terrible (like 5kbps) and it dropped the connection after less than a minute. My network is running on 802.11g on a Linksys WRT54G2.

(Interestingly, I set up my phone (a Droid 2) as a wifi hotspot and was able to connect to that network just fine.)

I have not yet tried a 32-bit OS, but I don't really want to be limited to running a 32-bit OS on 64-bit hardware. Moreover, I've read a number of accounts of this board/wifi adapter running just fine on Win7 Ultimate x64, which is what I'm using.

Anyone have any insight into this problem? It's really the only sour spot in my otherwise stellar experience with this board.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zotac H55ITX-C-E wifi problems (Ralink RT2860)
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:44 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Seattle
What's the distance between the router and mobo?

Have you tried rebooting your router?

How many other wifi devices are connected to it?

Can you connect if the encryption is disabled?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Zotac H55ITX-C-E wifi problems (Ralink RT2860)
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:11 am
Posts: 2
Fire-Flare wrote:
What's the distance between the router and mobo?

Have you tried rebooting your router?

How many other wifi devices are connected to it?

Can you connect if the encryption is disabled?


It's about 25-30 feet away through two walls. No other devices (laptops, iPad, etc) have any difficulty connecting to it. At any given time there are between two and four other devices connected to it, but it seems to make no difference how many are connected at any given time.

I have rebooted it several times.

I have changed the original encryption (WPA2) to WEP, and also turned encryption off entirely. I changed the wireless mode from mixed to G-only. None of this seems to make any difference. I also made the router use the same channel that my phone's wifi hotspot uses, but that didn't help either.

Since it seems like it's a specific issue between this card and my particular router, I think I might pull out my old WRT54G v6 and see if it makes any difference.

Any other ideas are welcome.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group