It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Automatically logged out !?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:56 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
Hi,

Lately I've been having this problem, which only seems to affect SPCR's forum (doesn't happen on any other forum).

I use Opera (8.51) and even though I check the option to "remember me" and have the username/password saved in the Wand, from time to time, when I open my mail notifications and whatnot, I see that I have somehow been logged out! It bewilders me... :?

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: same deal!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:44 am
Posts: 67
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
I use IE and also have to log in to SPCR every time. It puzzles and irritates me as well. Other forums work fine. I'd appreciatte any wisdom on the matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 1:44 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Cape Town
Experiencing the same, it's quite annoying yes. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:37 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
Guess what, I click the link on my mail notification to get to this topic and I had to log in :roll:

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:32 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
Have you tried removing all your SPCR related cookies and then setting the log in again. This worked for me once when I had a similar problem on another forum.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:20 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 2:19 pm
Posts: 5316
Location: St Louis (county) Missouri USA
Happens to me also.....I had to log in to post this, right after posting a short time ago. It's irritating....

_________________
"At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child - miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill disciplined, despotic, and useless. Liberalism is the philosophy of sniveling brats." - P.J. O'Rourke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:21 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
Tibors wrote:
Have you tried removing all your SPCR related cookies and then setting the log in again. This worked for me once when I had a similar problem on another forum.


I did that just now, I'll post later if it worked.

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:40 pm
Posts: 671
Location: Sweden
It's most likely a security feature that is overworking rather than the browser
Probibly it's a cookie issue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:14 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
I deleted all SPCR cookies yet I still get this problem... :?
It must be something new 'cause a couple of weeks ago it didn't happen.

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Posts: 968
Location: Bristol, UK
In the interest of balance, I've never had a problem...

_________________
It's coming back


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:31 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:02 pm
Posts: 547
Location: Bangkok Thailand
I've never had this issue too. For the record I'm using Firefox 1.5.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:40 pm
Posts: 671
Location: Sweden
rpsgc wrote:
I deleted all SPCR cookies yet I still get this problem... :?
It must be something new 'cause a couple of weeks ago it didn't happen.


That's not really the problem, the problem is that SPCR can't read them.
My security on IE is put as "Middle" and accept cookies
Not sure that helps tho but it works for me

You can try to put security and lowerst possibly and deactivate firewall and antivirus and anything else and see if that works.
If it works you reactivate one thing at a time and try to find the setting that is causing you the problem.

Don't work to slow since your computer will be wide open during the test


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Chicago, IL
ultraboy wrote:
I've never had this issue too. For the record I'm using Firefox 1.5.


I'm using Firefox 1.5, and I AM having this problem. I tried the delete all cookie thing, but that didn't fix it. Also, when I do login, all the areas say I have no unread messages.
:(



A little later.
OK, I was in the forums, logged in.
1 area already had a new message, and it showed that way.
I quit out of Firefox without reading that area.
Reloaded firefox, and when I came back, I was logged out again.
When I logged in, all forums were marked as read, even the one I KNEW had a new message.

Any help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:33 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
It still happens to me from time to time... :roll:

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Chicago, IL
Ha, I quit out of Firefox, restarted, deleted my cookies, quit out again, restarted, and now it seems to be working. Will try to remember to try again tomorrow, and see if it still works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:51 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
I only very seldom have this problem. Yesterday I noticed when it occurs for me. If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.

MattHelm wrote:
OK, I was in the forums, logged in.
1 area already had a new message, and it showed that way.
I quit out of Firefox without reading that area.
Reloaded firefox, and when I came back, I was logged out again.
When I logged in, all forums were marked as read, even the one I KNEW had a new message.

Any help?
The messages market "new" are the ones new since you last logged in. Whether by hand or automagically. So the fact that the message was no longer marked as new after you quit and reopened Firefox is actually how the system should work.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 1302
Location: en.gb.uk
I have this problem with FF 1.5 on Windows and Linux, but not on Mac (also FF 1.5). *shrugs*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Posts: 968
Location: Bristol, UK
Tibors wrote:
I only very seldom have this problem. Yesterday I noticed when it occurs for me. If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.

I logged myself out too, by loading the forum index then going to another page before it finishes loading (a middle-click on a Marble Mouse is clicking both buttons together :?). I repeated it today and the same thing happened. It seems that if the page loading gets interrupted you log out.

_________________
It's coming back


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Finland
This happens to me as well (Firefox 1.5). The log-outs seem to happen randomly: I don't have to log in every time I come to the forum, but quite often. It didn't happen some time back (December?) but I've done a new system install quite recently, and this problem may have occurred only after that, I haven't paid enough attention to say for sure.

Just a thought -- could it be a firewall/antivirus related problem? Maybe the SPCR cookies seem suspicious for some odd reason? I'm using Avast! antivirus and Kerio Personal Firewall and I've had no problems with either before.

Edit:
Disregard that! Tibors and StarfishChris figured it out already. I just tested it a dozen times and it really seems to work that way. Cheers guys! :)
One question remains: Is it supposed to work that way or is it broken?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:36 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
After about a week or so of problem-free browsing it has returned...

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Posts: 2764
Location: NEW YORK WORD AND STUFF YEAH OK
er yeah, cleaned cache and bam did it again.

:(

Yeah, seems to be a problem with the SITE.

anyone considering how to fix it? never on another forum of any kind does this happen.

anandtech i stay logged into for months, same with diabloii.net. hm.

not saying this place sux or anything, just wondering if it CAN be fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Finland
El Jefe, did you read through this thread? Particularly the 5 previous posts?

You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:49 am
Posts: 3011
Location: Suomi Finland Perkele
I just fell asleep with SPCR forums open, and when i woke up i was logged out.. :lol:

wundi wrote:

You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.


I hate that, however i get logged in but all posts appear to be read so clicking "view posts since last visit" comes up with nothing and its a pain in the arse to browse the forums and try to find the new posts.. i always use "view posts since last visit" and "view your posts" to browse the forums, and occasionally check if i´ve missed something.

I solved this by just saving my password and username, i have to click two more times when going to the forums but its better than logging in automatically and have all the damn posts marked as read.. Besides clicking two more times is faster than waiting for the whole frontpage to load.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
wundi wrote:
You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.


I for one only use the e-mail notifications' links and it happens too, so...

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Posts: 109
Location: Finland
Alright. Personally, I haven't had a single log-out after I started paying attention to letting the forum fully load before messing around, but I guess everyone uses the forum their own way. So it seems there's a lot of different sitations where the log-out occurs -- maybe it'd be a good start of remedying the problem by making a list of them?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:51 am
Posts: 79
Location: Australia
Having the same problem. I thought it was a timing thing (ie: cookie times out after so many hours) but it ALWAYS happens when I click on the links from email notifications.

I figure the website is losing its access to the cookie as the cookie is there..

The other problem is the website remembers you when you view the forums, just befoe login, and when you login, it last remembers you when you viewed the site before login.

Has the Webmaster been engaged in this discussion ? :roll:

I think phpBB is not tracking properly.


Arrikhan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:22 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
MikeC hasn't posted here yet, don't know why though... He probably could shed some light into this whole situation.

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:03 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
rpsgc wrote:
MikeC hasn't posted here yet, don't know why though... He probably could shed some light into this whole situation.
Probably not. One or two other people are doing the technical admin stuff. I doubt MikeC knows much about the inner workings of phpBB.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:41 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Posts: 1630
Location: Portugal
Tibors wrote:
Probably not. One or two other people are doing the technical admin stuff. I doubt MikeC knows much about the inner workings of phpBB.


I thought he was :|

_________________
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire HD 7970 3GB GHz Edition w/Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X) | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:57 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:23 am
Posts: 749
Location: The Netherlands
Nope. I think Alistair is (or was, anyway).

Tibors wrote:
If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.

Same here; thanks, I hate it when all messages get marked "read" :)

_________________
I: E5200 OC, Ninja II, Gigabyte P45, ATi HD4850 w/ S1, Raptor + Samsung disks in Quiet Drive, Enermax Modu82+ 425W, Lian Li V1000, 2x Nexus 120 PWM
II: A64 3000+, Ninja, DFI nForce3, headless, Samsung disks suspended, Enermax Pro82+ 385W, Antec 3000B padded & dampened, 2x Nexus 120 B&W


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group