It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WTB: Antec Aria
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:29 am
Posts: 2299
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
Just wondering if anyone knows of any place that still sells the aria and not the new nsk1300. i really want one without the extra air vent on the top of the case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:16 am
Posts: 21
I work for a company that used to build w/ the Aria.
After about the first 6 months we used them, they switched to the vented lid version. That's all I've seen for about a year and a half or more.

Unless you're building a very low power system, I'd avoid this case.
I built one for my in-laws, using an older Socket A Athlon XP and I think the PSU is high pitched sounding.

Were I to build another cube PC, I'd get something that can take a normal ATX supply, then I'd put in something quiet w/ a 120mm intake on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:29 am
Posts: 2299
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
i want to make it my new gamming rig.

going to use a merom core 2 duo 2ghz cpu with a ninja on it passivly cooled.

taking the internal PSU out, and the internal drive bay out.

using an external 220w brick ac/dc adapter, and a 200w dc/dc converter on the motherboard, with a second 12v line straight from the adapter to plug into the 4pin 12v plug on the motherboard and for any pci-e power plugs.

the system will only have 1 fan, a 7volted sflex 1200rpm for exhaust where the psu normally sits.

if eventually the video card i want to put into it needs more power than my brick can supply, i'll just get a second brick psu to compensate to power just the video card.

going to use an external slim optical drive. i only use optical drives to install software, which usually i only do about once a year, so theres not really any point to having an optical drive take up space inside the case to be used once a year imo.

and finally i'll just figure out a way to softmount a 2.5" hard drive, probably somewhere near the front of the case.

------------------------------------------------

if i cant find an old aria, i'll just get one of the new nsk1300's and close off the vents on the top, though id prefer not to have to do that.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group