It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 300W and P4
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2002 12:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Pasadena, CA
Hi, I currently own an Athlon T-Bird underclocked to 733MHz, and it runs fine on a 300w Zalman PSU. My friend is looking to build a P4 1.80A, and he would like to know whether the 300w of a Zalman PSU would be sufficient. The rest of the system would only contain a 7200rpm hard drive, a cd-rw, and a dvd-rom. The graphics card would be a GeForce2 MX.

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3
300W is definitely fine for that configuration. Don't listen to the morons who say 300W is way too low to run two fans at 5V (yes, someone actually said that to me on another forum once) and 400W is the bare minimum for today's computers. It's utter bull. 230W would be fine for that configuration.

This is a list of what uses power mostly in my computer using a Q-Tech 300W PSU:
Intel P4 2.0A
2 x 256MB PC800 RDRAM
Seagate Barracuda 80GB
Pioneer 106 DVD-ROM
Pioneer 104 DVD-RW
Creative Audigy Platinum (with the drive bay)
Rheobus
ATI AIW 7500 (sans fan)
floppy drive and onboard networking

Absolutely no stability problems related to power issues so far even after continued stress testing.

I also had no difficulty in overclocking my CPU to, and stress testing at, 2.67GHz besides for upping voltage to 1.60V. However, I don't run it at that usually so I can turn down my fans to bare minimum.

My rails right now are at: 12.04/5.08/3.3V so I'd say I still have headroom.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 3:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Worcester, UK
Mines running fine on a 300W Q-Tech too:

1.8 @ 2.4 - 1.55V
2x256 Samsung DDR
40Gb Cuda IV
Live Plat.
4 papsts at 5 or 7V
geforce 256 DDR (sans fan too)
CDRW

It'll be fine, my voltages are all about 10% over as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group