It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Running Smart Power 2.0 450 passive?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 5:52 am
Posts: 66
Location: Sweden
Hi!

I got fairly powerhungry system featuring:

Sonata II
3700+
7800GTX
2xHDD
2GB RAM

Not once so far has the fans in my PSU started spinning, even after a four hour BF2 session.

I noticed a fan connector with black and blue cords coming out of the PSU, is this supposed to be connected?

I dont mind the extra quietness with the PSU sitting there passive, but is it dangerous?

/mattek

_________________
The Rig: Sonata II with removed duct, AMD3700 + Zalman, 2GB RAM, RAID-1 2x250GB Spinpoint + 200GB Spinpoint, 7800GTX + VF-700Cu, 2xADDA with FanMate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:29 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Posts: 1850
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
The inner fan should be spinning. The outer fan won't turn on unless things get too hot. You've probably got good enough case cooling that the PSU isn't stressed.

If the inner fan ISN'T spinning, you have a problem. I would look into RMA. Your PSU won't like operating fanlessly in the long term...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:57 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 2:19 pm
Posts: 5316
Location: St Louis (county) Missouri USA
That extra wire you see is meant to be connected to a MB fan header.....so you can read the PSU fan rpm. It doesn't carry any power....

That's how my TruePower 330 was anyway....read the documentation that came with your PSU.

_________________
"At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child - miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill disciplined, despotic, and useless. Liberalism is the philosophy of sniveling brats." - P.J. O'Rourke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:21 pm
Posts: 45
Location: ZA
BTW, wasn't there an issue, that connecting the blue/black RPM sensor wires would cause the fan to run at full speed? Or has Antec fixed this issue?
:?:

_________________
[b]PC Specs:[/b]
MSI 890FXA-GD70, PhenomII 965 rev C, Zalman CNPS10X Quiet, 2x2Gb OCZ DDR3-1600, MSI N460GTX Cyclone, 3x1Tb 7200.12, LG DVDRW, CM 690-II Plus, TY-140, 2x 120mm CM fans, CM GX550w, SB X-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:17 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Posts: 1850
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
There was an issue, I did read that a newer revision had fixed it, but I never saw the new revision in person.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:48 pm
Posts: 19
I have bought an antec smartpower 2.0 on 21 octobre, but when I connect the sensor wire the does run at full speed. I still have the box/manual and such, so if you think there is more usefull info about the version there, I still can check it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group