It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FYI: SMP Athlon Power Consumption
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 9:30 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Using a kill a watt device, I found out that my dual-athlon rig consumes at the very most 250 watts. That's with Win2k is booting up and with both the DVD and CD spinning at full speed. At idle, it's doing more like 210 watts. Network card and sound card weren't really activated so power consumption may go up another 10 - 20 watts. Folding on both CPUs adds another 20 watts or so.

So let's say 250 watts at the very most when the computer is working.

Assuming a 65- 70% efficiency on my PSU, it's putting out about 160 - 175 watts to all of the components. I have 4 sticks of RAM (2 gig), 5 expansion cards (including the AGP), a CD-W + DVD-ROM & 2 HD's. It's not RAID, but it's still a pretty heavily loaded system.

It just goes to show that the power supply companies try to scare us into buying more than we need. I can surely get by just fine with a nice 300W power supply - not the more expensive 400W beast that I have right now.

Anyone else have a power supply bigger than they need?

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2002 10:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 4:32 pm
Posts: 519
your findings surely prove why Dell and many OEMs install 250W power supplies even in their top p4 machines...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2003 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 8:50 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Lithuania
It's kinda a pain though, while 90% of modern PCs will run just fine with a 250W PSU, PSU manufacturers are slowly forgetting low-wattage models, soon you'll only be able to get the 450, 500 and 5347636W PSUs with the latest technology. And latest tech can often be the quietest. So =/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 9:04 am
Posts: 331
Location: Belgium
The weird thing is that higher rated (400w eg) psu's have a lower efficiency when they're "only" using 50-100W or so. A regular 150w AT psu is rated 65%, but a new atx400psu will only get 50% at that rate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 3:45 am
Posts: 146
Location: New York, NY
I have a 300 watt for my Athlon XP 1700+. 1 CD Drive, 1 HDD, Radeon 9000 Pro, 2xNICs, SBLive!, 2 sticks of 256 and 3 fans. It probably consumes 115-125 watts (delivered) at max. (like UT2k3 over a network, or Bryce 5 rendering burning what's being rendered to a CD in real time)

I could have got away with a 250, but the 300 came with the case. And it's pretty quiet too.

_________________
Doobies lead to muffins. Muffins lead to euphoria. Euphoria leads to more muffins. I sense many muffins in you.
Support free digital art!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 9:04 am
Posts: 331
Location: Belgium
I suppose no one knows of any kill-a-watt like devices that work on European power sockets? (you know, the ones with the *round* holes)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group