It is currently Thu Dec 25, 2014 4:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:09 am
Posts: 2
Athlon ii x 435 (95w) underclock to 2.2 Ghz
ma785gmt-ud2h motherboard (matx)
2x2 gb ddr3 ram
1 sata hdd
4 usb device
hd 6570


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:40 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 12050
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sounds doable, would depend a lot on the AC/DC adapter. You will want >12A (on 12V output) capability in the adapter, probably more for headroom.

_________________
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:09 am
Posts: 2
MikeC wrote:
Sounds doable, would depend a lot on the AC/DC adapter. You will want >12A (on 12V output) capability in the adapter, probably more for headroom.

did you consider that the cpu will work at 65W not 95W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:53 am
Posts: 14
You would be limited by the 8A cap on the 12V rail of 160XT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 12050
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
littlestewie wrote:
did you consider that the cpu will work at 65W not 95W

And all of it will come on the 12V line: At 65W, 5.5A just for the CPU. Your GPU maxes at 44W or 50W (the latter if it's DDR5, I think) which is another 4A... for 9.5A. That still leaves the mobo & HDD, including 3.3V and 5V draws, to be covered by the adapter.
Quote:
You would be limited by the 8A cap on the 12V rail of 160XT.

That makes undoable... but the 160XT manual shows 8A max & 15A peak on the 12V line, with the following note:
Quote:
*At max load, forced air ventilation is required. For fanless or improper ventilation operation derate
the output of the 3.3 and 5V rails until PSU temperature falls below 65C. Peak load should
not exceed 60 seconds. Combined max power output should not exceed more than 200watts.


It might still work w/ a big enough adapter if you don't max out both CPU & GPU simultaneously often & long.

_________________
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can picopsu 160xt handle this system?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:53 am
Posts: 14
Darcian (electrodacus) has suggested adding additional power mosfet in parallel to double current capacity. Worth a try, certainly?.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group