It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:28 pm
Posts: 3
I have been using the Intel D510MO motherboard partnered with the Winmate DD-24AX PSU in a home brew case for about 6 months now. I have fitted a fan to the case so it runs cool. I run Win XP as a Skype server 24/7.

My problem is that this system blue-screens (F4 usually & 7A once) at intervals that can vary between 3 days and 20 days. The average runtime between failures is probably around 7 to 10 days. The failure always occurs when idling. I have run a Prime 95 test for 36 hours without encountering error. I have introduced a UPS to try to eliminate potential mains influences.

My diagnostics is beginning to think that maybe the fact that power supply is very lightly loaded is a factor. The Nominal power output of the Winmate PSU is 130 watts whereas the overall load of the system is about 25 watts while idling. Has anyone encountered a similar failure rate in a setup such as mine?

I am considering placing an additional (dummy) load on the 12 volt rail to test my hypothesis. If the system runs for say 30 days without failure under this heavier load, then I might be on the right track. Unfortunately it is a long time frame that I am caught up in.

Any suggestions would be most welcome.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Try an additional (dummy) load on the AC-DC power brick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 2858
Location: ITALY
Aluandy wrote:
Any suggestions would be most welcome.

Not exactly: but if you have a spare ATX/SFX/TFX PSU, you should run off it for a couple of weeks.
At least, this is what I would do if I were you before applying any dummy load.

_________________
Regards,
Luca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:57 am
Posts: 165
Location: Riga
The hypothesis is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 2858
Location: ITALY
Klusu wrote:
The hypothesis is wrong.

While which the diagnosis is?

_________________
Regards,
Luca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:44 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1809
Location: Northern California.
did you check ram with memtest86+?

_________________
“USA is not America, America is a continent!”


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
This is the best memory test i know of:

Windows Memory Diagnostic
http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:28 pm
Posts: 3
Many thanks to everyone who has offered suggestions.

Arbutus, I take it you would be more suspicious of the brick than the DD-24AX. I do have a spare ATX PSU so I think I will pursue that track as suggested by Luca. It is a 500 W PSU which further exaggerates the low loading situation. However if the test proves to be successful then that does isolate my present problem to the power side of things.

The only memory testing I have done is the workout that Prime 95 would give. The first thing I’ll try is Memtest86 and then WMD to give memory the tick (or otherwise). I’ll then move on to the power substitution for the long haul testing.

Thanks guys for taking my main focus off the DD-24AX. I am confident now that I am proceeding with a rational plan.

Cheers, AluAndy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:28 pm
Posts: 3
It turned out the Corsair SSD HDD was faulty.
Replaced under warrantee.
Issue resolved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Load on PSU Maybe too Little ?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Great news. Thanks for getting back to us with the resolution. I wish others would be so kind.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group