It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:48 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: picoPSU low max power at 12V
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:54 am
Posts: 1
I've been looking at picoPSU for AMD APUs, but an odd thing I've noted is that there doesn't seem to be any picoPSU that can handle more than 8A@12V even though it is switched in many cases. This is unlikely to be enough for the ~100W versions at least. Using the picoPSU-160-XT only seems to help with 5V (10A), but that doesn't seem too useful. I'm I misunderstanding something or is there simply no picoPSU solution for these high power CPU/APUs?

Would it work to somehow split the 12V input into two picoPSUs and use one for CPU and one for motherboard? This doesn't seem like a very elegant solution of course.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: picoPSU low max power at 12V
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:15 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1544
Location: Sweden
That 8A is a rather arbitrary rating imo, since the picoPSU doesn't really do anything other than pass on +12v from the brick. It's also perfectly doable to bypass the pico and feed stuff 12v directly from the brick. I usually split the output from the brick and feed the 4pin "P4-cable" directly.

So there are plenty of solutions but with a power hungry system some modifications are sometimes needed. I don't like the barrel connector that usually comes with the picoPSU either. It's only rated for 5A.

There are other threads in the forum that already touches on the subject btw.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: picoPSU low max power at 12V
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
Apparently it isn't that easy to use to PSUs in parallel.

Electrodacus on these forums sells the winmate competitor to PicoPSUs. He came up with a solution that works well with winmate.

What Vicotnik says seems logical to me. But I am wary wary using things outside of their design range.

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: picoPSU low max power at 12V
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:12 am
Posts: 546
Location: UK
Vicotnik wrote:
That 8A is a rather arbitrary rating imo, since the picoPSU doesn't really do anything other than pass on +12v from the brick...

It's probably limited by the wires/connectors/PCB traces, which can only take so much current before overheating.

_________________
https://mrevil.asvachin.eu/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group