It is currently Mon Mar 02, 2015 9:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:15 pm
Posts: 4
hi there

i am looking for the best and cleanest power for my pc that fits my budget.
the choices i have are:

240w streacom passive psu http://www.streacom.com/products/zf240- ... oflex-psu/

240w dell laptop adapter+ 250 w dc/dc convertor from hdplex http://www.hd-plex.com/HDPLEX-250W-Hi-F ... Input.html

or a regular psu from seasonic.

what do you guys think?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3407
Location: ITALY
weshky wrote:
or a regular psu from seasonic.

what do you guys think?

Where is the room for an ATX PSU in the FC10?

_________________
Regards,
Luca

Support SPCR, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4954
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Welcome to SPCR.

Please list the components so we can estimate the power use.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:06 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1987
Location: Northern California.
quest_for_silence wrote:
weshky wrote:
or a regular psu from seasonic.

what do you guys think?

Where is the room for an ATX PSU in the FC10?

regular PSU wont fit, onboard, pico or similar...
"The ZF240 is compatible with the FC5 Evo, FC9 and FC10 chassis"

_________________
Help SPCR keep the lights on, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:15 pm
Posts: 4
hi

here are my currents and possible uture components

intel i5 4590s 65w tdp
mb: gigabyte h81n mini itx
2 modules of 4gb ram
1 ssd intel 120gb
2 3.5 inch wd green 2tb
dvd/blue ray drie
gpu: an nvidia 610 or a 720 (although they told me the 720 is going to be very power emanding)

thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3407
Location: ITALY
weshky wrote:
they told me the 720 is going to be very power emanding

That's grossly inaccurate, the GT 720 has a 19W TDP, so probably an average power consumption of about the half (maybe 7-10W with 1 monitor).

_________________
Regards,
Luca

Support SPCR, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:15 pm
Posts: 4
wow, so it is possible to add it in a fanless case?
i have assembled the pc with the top cover off, and i must say that the temperatures were very high, in bios it was around 60°c and idle is around 40°-43°c.
i thnk i didn't apply the thermal compound corerctly, but i could be wrong and the temperatures are normal for a fanless case.
it also has to be said that the installation was not easy, wereby i numorous times placed and displaced th heatsink on the cpu.

anyway, i decided to purchase a 240w dell adapter, combined with a dc/dc 250w convertor from hdplex. (heat outside the case)

regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3407
Location: ITALY
weshky wrote:
wow, so it is possible to add it in a fanless case?

I don't know if it's possible (even physically), but at any rate the GT 720 has a 19W TDP (while the GT 610 has an *higher* 29W TDP).

_________________
Regards,
Luca

Support SPCR, use these links when you buy: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu for streacom fc10
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4954
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
The more important question is: why bother with either of these discrete cards? The GT 720 is just slightly faster than the HD4600 in the CPU. Do you have a specific need for a discrete card that the integrated GPU can't provide?

Your stressed power use without the discrete card is ~110W, likely use power is well under 100W.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group