Which antivibration for a seagate buraccuda V

Silencing hard drives, optical drives and other storage devices

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

sorenbro

Which antivibration for a seagate buraccuda V

Post by sorenbro » Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:31 pm

I'm looking for a way to remove the vibration from my harddrive, and I have found two different antivibration systems, but I have no experience with either of them, so I was wondering if any one have.

The first one is the well know noise control NoVibes:
http://www.bsmultimedia.dk/info.php?id=22

The second one in question is a Smartcooler smartVIB 1 smartVIB 2
http://www.studiedata.dk/product.asp?pr ... 096&page=1
http://www.studiedata.dk/product.asp?pr ... 097&page=1

The only difference between the VIB 1 and VIB 2 is that the VIB 2 can mount two harddrives.

pingu666
Friend of SPCR

Post by pingu666 » Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:40 pm

no vibes maybe better more shock absortion length

Colli1

Post by Colli1 » Fri Jun 06, 2003 2:40 am

Silentdrive is very quiet (7200 rmp harddrive van WD)

You can buy it at http://www.pcsilent.de/en/index.asp

pingu666
Friend of SPCR

Post by pingu666 » Fri Jun 06, 2003 7:13 am

all pap for cooling tho :\

aphonos
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by aphonos » Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:24 am

Colli1 wrote:Silentdrive is very quiet (7200 rmp harddrive van WD)
Be careful with the silent drive. The quote below is pulled from the bottom of the Recommended Harddrives page on the main site.
MikeC wrote:Frankly, this product is here so that we can caution you about it. While providing some noise reduction, it is known to overheat drives. The manufacturer warns about use against 7200 RPM hard drives, yet one reads ongoing accounts of users damaging their 7200 RPM drives in the Silent Drive. We would only use it with 5400 RPM drives and keep an eye on drive temps. Design and construction quality are not great. Dec/02.

aphonos
*Lifetime Patron*