It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
Thinking about this for boot/data drive in htpc, I see 2 models, will the newer 6gb/s drive work fine on the older 3gb/s controller?

noise similar on both?


WDBAAZ0020HNC-NRSN
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136830

or
WD2002FAEX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136792


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:01 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1442
Location: Sweden
Both will work on a SATA 3 Gbit/s controller.

I'm curious, why not a small SSD and a cheaper 5400RPM HDD?

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W AC
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | X25-M G2 80GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W AC
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 760 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
pc is only for playing movies, the faster ssd + 2tb storage would also be $300+. plus, may not fit in my Silverstone GD05 case. need 4gb at least at this point, so 2 x 2gb.

most likely will go with the new 6gb/s one, hope it's not too loud.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:09 pm
Posts: 143
Location: here
Why not get the 5400rpm version?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
On second thought, if an 40gb SSD would be large enough for Win7 x86, and i could somehow fit in case, would do that and add a basic 2tb Samsung 5400 drive. wonder if possible in GD05. really not much more dough that way.

2 x 2tb 3.5" + SSD in GD05?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:01 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1442
Location: Sweden
The SPCR review of the Silverstone Grandia GD05 says Drive Bay (internal): 3.5" x 2, 2.5" x 1 or 3.5" x 1, 2.5" x 2 so it should work. Besides, you can put the SSD anywhere really, some use velcro to stick it to the inside of the chassis, I use zip ties. :)

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W AC
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | X25-M G2 80GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W AC
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 760 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 1564
Location: Guatemala
I think Vicotnik already posted a good response, seems everything should fit fine. But just in case, there is also the option of 1.8 drives, which are very small ssds, like Intel X18m or the upcoming Intel 320 1.8 version.

And my Windows 7 64bit install on is way lower than 40GB, around 22gb with sc2 and msoffice, i disabled hybernation and system restore that should give you a lot back, specially planning on a small ssd.

_________________
DESKTOP >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4770K | Thermalright HR-22 + TY150 @550rpm | Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @225rpm | SeaSonic X-660
Other builds -->> Server | HTPC | Download Station


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
Wonder if the SSD would run ok on the old G31 motherboard? I will see if I can fit an SSD in the case. Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:44 am
Posts: 36
there is a spot for a 2.5" drive on top of the front 3.5" space, and a choice of a 3.5 or 2.5 drive sitting in the back.

Only the 3.5" drives have rubber grommets.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:44 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Seattle
Abula wrote:
My Windows 7 64bit install on is way lower than 40GB, around 22gb with sc2 and msoffice, i disabled hybernation and system restore that should give you a lot back, specially planning on a small ssd.

The minimum requirement for Windows 7 is 16GB.

64-bit requires 20GB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
An SSD does seem the way to go for boot drive. turns out it's a GD04, but still lists support for 2.5" SSD drive, for the life of me I can not figure out where it would go after looking at tons of reviews and pictures, maybe i'll take the top off and peek. thanks again, huge help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:44 am
Posts: 36
you can see the pics here. see the screw holes for 2.5" drives directly over where you mount the 3.5s? you slot it in between the metal and the drive in the forward one, and instead of the rear 3.5

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
i took the top off to see it, and yes, just enough space to mount it above the 3.5" drive, nice! 40gb Intel 320 makes sense in that spot.

will enable AHCI in the BIOS of the old G31 board and hopefully will work fine. will connect the data drives after OS is installed, Win7 x86 for HTPC..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD Black 2tb
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:31 pm
Posts: 38
Which 5400 2tb drive to get? have used Samsung F4 seems to be fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group