It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mainboard temperture sensor, where is it?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 4:52 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 5:07 pm
Posts: 809
Location: London, UK
This is what I would like to know, where is the mainboard temperture sensor usually located? The reason I ask because I got some really strange figures.

My CPU temps idle around 40-42C and underload it goes upto 47C. I know this is correct sensor because if I increase the voltage of the fan this temperture drops accordingly with Zalman fanmate.
However my mainboard temps are 42-45C idle and shoots upto 55C underload. So my mainboard really heats up bad for some strange reason, but the air inside my case is nowhere near that region!

I am using HMonitor.

This is a ECS elite P4VXAD+ mainboard (quite a cheap mainboard), could it just be it is badly designed and they placed the sensor say next to northbrigde or southbridge heatsink (tiny heatsinks) which are causing the figures to rocket.

I really don't mind because it's 100% stable, the comp is on 24hrs a day and under heavy loads many times. It just baffles me why my mainboard temps are higher than that of my CPU.

I REPEAT THE AIR INSIDE MY CASE DOES NOT FEEL ANYWHERE NEAR THIS REGION! It is not even that warm, I would guess it to be about 30C.

Please help me solve my mystery.. :D :D

PS. Oh by the way does anyone know how to set the jumpers to 1.525v and 1.550v respectively? It has a 9 pin jumpers (3 by 3) but the manual is the worst I have seen with regards to changing the voltage. I have played around with it a bit but cannot figure how to get these voltages.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 6:15 am
Posts: 145
I dont know how p4 work but if that was an athlon my guess would be that you are geting 2 readings for the cpu: - the internal temperature sensor; and the cpu temperature sensor located on the board.
the highest temperature your system (board) sensor should be getting is arround 35ÂșC. hope it helped :)

_________________
As silent as a brick!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 262
Location: Worcester, UK
jpsa wrote:
I dont know how p4 work but if that was an athlon my guess would be that you are geting 2 readings for the cpu: - the internal temperature sensor; and the cpu temperature sensor located on the board.


True for Athlons, but Pentium boards dont have a temp sensor under the chip...

I would also like to know where the mobo sensor is (Epox 4dba2+)... :?

_________________
Computers should be seen and not heard...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group