It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Underclocking Barton?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 1:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
I'm upgrading to an AMD Barton 2500+ and an ASUS A7N8X Deluxe mobo. Is it possible to underclock/undervolt with this combination. I'm pleased with the speed om my current 1GHz AMD but I had to change mobo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 3:03 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 737
Location: swindon- england :/
yeah i think it is

_________________
hardware Killer and teddy giver. P.I.N.G.U.: Positronic Intelligent Nocturnal Gratification Unit
main rig:q6600, 4 gig ddr2, 3870, x fi, modded akasa psu, 4+hd's
leechbox, p3 something, 80gig hd, soundproofed case


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Does the Barton have to be unlocked on some tiny bridges? I can't find any information on that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 2:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 7:45 pm
Posts: 51
Location: U.S.
I'm really sorry but I'm very curious why you would want to. I'm not acting dumb or anything, I'm just curious why you'd get a really fast processor to slow it. is there an advantage to do this rather than get a slower (cooler) processor in the first place?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Of course I could have bouht an old 1GHz Thunderbird cheap, if they're still around, (I crushed my previous when installing a PAL8045 heatsink.) but I thought that the Barton might be more efficient with 0.13 micron and its bigger L2 cache and thus less heat per MHz. I might be wrong though. Anyway, if I put my computer in another room I could use it with full speed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 1:29 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 3998
Location: Phoenix, AZ
A Barton running at say 1400Mhz will be both cooler and more powerful than a Tbird running at the same speed. That's thanks to the improved marchitecture, the .13 process, the bigger cache, and the increased FSB.

And as far as I've seen the Bartons are unlocked, just like the Tbreds. Although it depends somewhat on the motherboard used.

I found a review here, KickAssGear.com where they overclock a Barton 2500 on a ASUS A7N8X board. They report that both the multiplier and the FSB are unlocked on that board. If they can overclock it, you should be able to underclock it. Remember too that as you underclock it you'll be able to drop the Vcore down too, making run even cooler. For the best performance I'd underclock it by dropping the multiplier, not the FSB. You may want to try raising the FSB while dropping the multiplier, that way the increased bus speeds will counteract the performance loss from the reduction in Mhz.

_________________
Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 3:16 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 5:07 pm
Posts: 809
Location: London, UK
That motherboard you mentioned does not undervolt, but you can overvolt. Also I think that particular board does not require joining the bridges to overclock. The new chipset allows for overclocking/underclocking without any modification, like I found on my Asus A7V8X. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Is there any meaning of underclocking if you can't undervolt? (I don't know.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 6:25 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 5:07 pm
Posts: 809
Location: London, UK
fetaost wrote:
Is there any meaning of underclocking if you can't undervolt? (I don't know.)


When I had the Asus A7V8X I did exactly that to see underclocking without undervolting would help temps. Yes, but not very effective, for every 300-400 Mhz I descreased I got a reduction of only about 1oC. Not worth the time nor effort, it's only effective with undervolting. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 7:45 pm
Posts: 51
Location: U.S.
fetaost wrote:
Of course I could have bouht an old 1GHz Thunderbird cheap, if they're still around, (I crushed my previous when installing a PAL8045 heatsink.) but I thought that the Barton might be more efficient with 0.13 micron and its bigger L2 cache and thus less heat per MHz. I might be wrong though. Anyway, if I put my computer in another room I could use it with full speed.


ebay, I've bought a few there.
Why not get an older but not as old xp processot and with the money you save, get a good quiet cooler. This way when you upgrade you still have the cooler.

Seriously though, thanks. I didn't didn't know about the advantages of underclocking. While I understand why, I don't think I will. It's like getting a Porche and only driving it at 10mph (or kph, same effect!).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 12:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
ez2remember wrote:
That motherboard you mentioned does not undervolt, but you can overvolt.


I checked the manual for the A7N8X on Asus website:

"CPU Vcore
When the CPU VCore Setting parameter is set to [Manual] this field permits selection of specific CPU core voltages.
Configuration options: [1.100V] [1.125V] ... [1.825V] [1.850V]"

Seems like it should be possible to undervolt, if the processor permits it? But as usual I'm not sure. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 1:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Sweden
Finally I've recieved my new gear. The A7N8X does not undervolt lower than 1.6v even though the manual says so. Maybe a future bios will allow that.
Also I can't see any effect of the Q-fan thing which is supposed to lower fan speed. It isn't well documented, don't know which fans that are affected and at what temp full speed is used.
Anyway it seems like it wont be needed because CPU temp is 45C using an Alpha PAL8045 and an Arctic Cooling TC-1 fan. The Nexus PSU is the only case fan.
I was planning to use a Papst 1500 rpm fan on an Alpha PAL8045 heatsink but the Papst was too loud even at 7V! The shroud on the heatsink made it worse and using rubber grommets didn't help enough. Too bad I can't find any Panaflo's here in sweden. The Arctic Cooling TC-1 is ok though, maybe I'll buy another one for the case when it gets warmer in the summer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2003 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 12:50 pm
Posts: 45
Location: Linköping, Sweden
http://www.overclockers.se sells Panaflo for 125 skr.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group