Newbie - How do I cool a Ultra Fast DUAL AMD MP 2800++?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

supersteve3d

Newbie - How do I cool a Ultra Fast DUAL AMD MP 2800++?

Post by supersteve3d » Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:34 pm

Hi gurus,

If money is no object.. whats the coolest/quietest options for cooling a dual system? I'm new to this forum. I've read up on nice solutions that seem to only be talking about single chip setups. Some of the heatsinks/fans are too big for dual board/chips.

Any input please?

Many thanks.

PS. Money is not an issue.

aphonos
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by aphonos » Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:40 pm

Have you seen this article as a starting point?
Quiet MP Dual-CPU Workstation

Also try searching the forums on "dualie" (or "dual" but there's more to wade through) there are a few folks dealing with dualie systems.

lenny
Patron of SPCR

Post by lenny » Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:53 pm

I'm far from an expert, but having owned and operated a few dual CPU systems, I'll take a stab at it. I know some forum regulars have dual CPU rigs (Athlon MPs, if memory serves me).

The dual P3 Coppermine systems don't have the phenomenal heat output of the high clock P4s, so air cooling should be sufficient. I have a dual P3 933 MHz that is fairly quiet (except for the 10k RPM SCSI). I think the HSF has 40mm fans, but they don't have to spin too fast.

I had a dual P3 500 MHz (slot 1) machine too. Again, nothing exotic was needed. The Intel HSF was more than sufficient. In fact, it was running on a very quiet 250W Fortron OEM PSU.

I've also seen dual P3 600 MHz mounted with gigantic heat sinks and one 60mm fan used to cool both CPU. There was a shroud over the heat sinks to force the air over the heat sinks.