Fans that are noisy, whining or clicking

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

TerryW

Fans that are noisy, whining or clicking

Post by TerryW » Tue Nov 05, 2002 10:34 pm

Hi all,

May I say that we are having lots of reviews & comments on noisy, whining or clicking fans. I guess that as fans can't tell ya what's wrong, they gotta whine. Ha Ha. :D

Anyway, down to the matter at hand. I am no expert in fan technology, but can only relate my experiences. I'll try to keep it short.... :roll:

DC fans come under 3 main categories: brushless, direct drive and servo.

Brushless is the most common, meaning no brushes and uses a slip commutator to make electrical connections to the armature. Similar concept as the starter motor in your car. These types of fans generally are inexpensive and usually do not have RPM monitoring (2-wires).

Direct drive means just that: the spindle of the DC motor drives the blade hub. All the controls are built into the DC motor. This is the same for some turntables (remember record players?). A servo drive is similar to the direct drive, but is a two stage servo concept: needs a stepper motor to drive the blade hub, a magnetic pickup to sense the magnet on the hub and a servo control circuitry.

Both the direct drive & servo fans can have the RPM monitoring output, as this circuit can be built into the internal control for the DC motors. Generally, the electronic control circuitry inside the fans need a certain minimum voltage to operate the fan and ensures the RPMs stay consistant.

As most computer fans are marked @ 12VDC working, they could operate reliably at a lower voltage. However, the fans could start making noises at the lower voltages. I.E. The whining or clicking sounds could be caused by the low DC voltage generating oscillations in the inductors in the direct drive / servo motors, etc.