HELP Will thermistor fan and resistor pot play nice together

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

jamoore9
Friend of SPCR

HELP Will thermistor fan and resistor pot play nice together

Post by jamoore9 » Thu May 01, 2003 7:48 am

Okay, electrical question for you engineer-types out there. I'm no electrician and haven't taken physics since high-school, so I'm in over my head.

I've got 4 Enermax thermistor controlled fans (which are, by the way, on sale at newegg -shipping included- for 1@$12, 2@$19, 3@$25.50, 4@$28.00) that cool my case. There are 3 undervolted panaflos cooling my CPU, HDD in suspension, and VGA and northbridge via a Zalman FB123 fan bracket. There is an 80mm fan in the PSU, along with a 92mm that I have disabled (and need to remove one of these days). Right now the chief noise source is the PSU. I intend to fix that by getting a Silenx.

The 4 Enermax fans are great 90 percent of the time; very, very quiet at normal temperatures. They kick up usually only under stress, like when I've been playing a game for an hour or so.

On occasion, I have disconnected 2 of the fans (the ones monitoring the PCI bus and under the PSU). The system stays quieter still under most web-surfing/word processing conditions. The two remaining fans kick up a little faster when gaming. This is what I want to mitigate.