It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Duron 1300 + Asus A7V8X-X undervolting
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 116
My friend's computer is running quite hot, and thus unbearably loud. I read the undervolting article and decided to try it myself.

I came upon a brick wall when it came to voltage changing. Default voltage for a duron (morgan) 1300 is 1.75v, and when i tried to change the voltage it only showed options of 1.75v up to 1.85v. I know for a FACT that the voltage can be set lower, since I can set the voltage from 1.5v to 1.85v for an Athlon XP 1800+ on the same Asus A7V8X-X motherboard.

How can I set to lower voltages under 1.75v with the duron? If necessary, what settings for the bridges on the cpu itself should i change?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 9:52 am
Posts: 530
If you (he) doesn't change mobo, you must cut bridges on the CPU itself. ASUS-boards are very reliable, but have two shortcommings in a silent system. First of all, their stability comes from the fact that actual Vcore provided to the CPU is about 0.05V higher than set in bios. The second is that you can't undervolt an ASUS-board:(

To bad, realy, they are often realy good....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:21 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 11:27 am
Posts: 142
Location: Sweden
Quote:
The second is that you can't undervolt an ASUS-board:(


Yes, you can but it requires some hardware-mod. I reduced the
'bias' voltage on mine so the CPU overvoltage range now is the
normal range, and the normal is the undervolting range.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 10:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 9:52 am
Posts: 530
How did you do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 116
yeah, how did you do that? does it require a lot of precise soldering or an extra circuit board?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:49 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 11:27 am
Posts: 142
Location: Sweden
I just unsoldered a pin at the voltage regulator that is
internally pulled-high. What pin depends on MB, CPU,
and the desired voltage reduction. In my case it was a L6917B
regulator from ST, on a A7V8X and a Palomino (at the time).

I don't remember exactly what pin I unsoldered (I can check
the next time I open my case), but I guess it was pin 19 or
20 depending on if I lowered it 0.1 or 0.2V. Basically you’re
overriding the CPU’s own VID-setting. But unlike cutting CPU
bridges, it’s a reversible operation.

You can mod any MB to almost any (reasonable) CPU Voltage,
but I wouldn't recommend it if your not feeling comfortable
using a solder iron in your computer. (the pitch or pin spacing
is usually 50 mil or 1.27mm). So check which regulator you’ve
got, download the datasheet and get starting!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group