It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asus A8V Deluxe WiFi Edition + Athlon64 3500+ 90nm
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:07 am
Posts: 26
I've placed my orders for the components of my new system, among which there are Asus A8V Deluxe and Athlon64 3500+ 90nm. Now I got the mail that the MB is already on the way to me, not sure about the CPU yet.

But yesterday I read somewhere that the A8V board only supports Winchester CPU with BIOS version >=1007 :(
Well, if I happen to get a board with an older bios, is there any other way around than finding someone to lend me a 939 NewCastle CPU (which is highly improbable!!) to update my bios?!

If not, I'd be pretty much screwed! It would not be easy to get help from the shop where I bought the MB because they are in Germany and I'm in Austria. Well, in the worst case I'll have to take it to a hardware store and ask (and probably pay) them to help me out, really sucks!

Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asus A8V Deluxe WiFi Edition + Athlon64 3500+ 90nm
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:56 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 2:29 pm
Posts: 49
Location: west of Boston, MA
Nepenthe wrote:
But yesterday I read somewhere that the A8V board only supports Winchester CPU with BIOS version >=1007 :(

That's what the Asus CPU compatibility information on the website says. But it also says simply:
"However, if your BIOS version is smaller than the version listed above, then you will need to select and download the latest BIOS to update your system."
It doesn't say that you are not able to update when running the chip with an earlier bios. I would ask Asus support for clarification. I'd like to know the answer myself. I suspect that it's not an issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 1:12 pm
Posts: 52
Location: San Jose, CA USA
I went through this with an A8V and a 3200+ Winchester.

What you have to do is use only one memory stick in slot B1, which will allow you to boot with the Winchester CPU and update the BIOS.

It would not even turn on with two memory sticks until after the BIOS update.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:07 am
Posts: 26
Thanks a bunch for this helpful information!!!!
I think my stuff is arriving tomorrow and since I did order TWO 512MB RAM modules, I'd probably never think of using only one and maybe would have to go through the hard way:D
I'll post my result when it's done, thank you guys once more, you are being most helpful!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:07 am
Posts: 26
Today all my stuffs have arrived, and I followed the exact procedure (1 RAM stick in B1 to update bios etc.) and it worked like a charm!
But how do I actually know that my CPU is a Winchester?! Nowhere on the package of the CPU is it labeled one way or another:(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 2:26 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
I'm sitting here at this very moment fuming about ASUS customer support.
TERRIBLE! :evil:

Iv'e a A8V Deluxe with an AMD 3500+ and winchester chip set.
Brand new and the damn thing won't boot.
It's my first build so I was VERY careful.
If removing a set of DIMM's makes it boot I'm really going to be pissed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 2:31 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
Un F'ing believable!!!!
It booted up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:43 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
I can't get windows xp professional to load.
Spent over two hours on the phone with microsoft. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 1:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:07 am
Posts: 26
eidolon, have you updated your A8V bios to 1007? As I understand, booting with single RAM stick with 1006 is just a walk-around, it does not necessarily solve the problem with A8V and Winchester.
I did exactly as gabeyd suggested - first use 1 stick to boot to update my bios, then put 2 sticks in, full power, install windows etc., and everything worked without a glitch.
But now I even regret that I didn't at least "try" to boot with 2 sticks to see if it really would fail, now I'm not even sure I actually HAVE a Winchester:-( well...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:28 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
I've not updated my bios as of yet.

My laptop doesn't have a floppy drive so I need to go and use someone elses computer and download 1007.

I'm so pissed off at ASUS right now that if the president of the company was on fire I'd not urinate on him to put out the fire.

They might make good motherboards but at this point their total lack of customer support far outweighs any benefits gained by using their equipment. I'd give them a caveat emptor rating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:03 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
I just got back from attempting to download the bios update.

"That page is unavailable"... VERY frustrating.

Frustrating to the point that've I've called my lawyer.
I'm considering joining the ranks of sue happy Americans.
A class action suit might be the ticket. The more and more I peruse the web the more and more issues ASUS seems to be having with their socket 939 boards. They need to take the high road and have a recall. There is no acceptable reason that a consumer should have to put up with this kind of grief.

Day three, four phone calls to ASUS. Never put through to tech support and the PROMISED return call has yet to occur.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:33 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
Time for an update.
I've settled down.
My new system in the Fai Kong case is up and running.

When you finally do get to speak with the techs at ASUS they are friendly and helpful.
The Cosair (DDR maker) people returned my call within 2 hours. Thanks!
Microsoft really put in an effort but in the end it all came down to ASUS having issues.
ASUS tried to blame Cosair for having clocking issues on their chips. But when I was finally (whew) able to flash the bios, the bios changes Cosair recommended be made were erased and default values were loaded. (No I was to dumb to keep a written record)
Windows loaded up without issue. :shock:

ASUS!!! :x ON THE VERY FRONT OF YOUR WEB PAGE admit there are problems with the 1006 BIOS. Make sure your resellers are aware of this fact and what the corrective actions are.

All I know is that I ordered an AMD 3500+ chip. It shouldn't matter whether it's New Castle or Winchester. If it does SAY SO!

Thankfully I'm not alone in having difficulties with the ASUS A8V Deluxe.

If you're running an AMD 64 chip with Windows XP and SP2 and experiencing reboots for no reason it might behoove you to go to the AMD forum and read this thread:
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=28228

finally... I wish to thank those of you who do make helpful insightful no BS postings.
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 6:40 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 5:49 am
Posts: 104
Location: London, UK
yeah - this is one of the reasons I went from an ASUS A7V8X-X to an MSI K8N Neo2.... and at first I was thinking of sticking with ASUS.... you probably did OK though - at least you have no NB fan!

_________________
later I will add a signature


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 1443
Location: Turkey
To make sure of your core version, use CPUID (CPU-Z) program

_________________
Thor's Hammer
Loki's Magic: Coming soon...
Odin's Chariot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:07 am
Posts: 26
Thanks for the tip with CPU-Z, that's exactly what I did yesterday and it's definitely 90nm Winchester:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 1:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:10 pm
Posts: 657
Location: AB, Canada
um, consumer-grade motherboards cost like $150 max, the margins on them have to be razor-thin even before considering the effort that goes into designing and supporting them (as in bios revisions, the important part). you get what you pay for. :)

the great thing about stuff like this is that the only people that even know what a motherboard looks like are generally competent, and google will instantly find the answer. OTOH you called MS for help, that's $50 even though there's certainly nothing they can do about it, and you still think Asus' support sucks? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 4:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 380
Location: UK
Asus's support sucks because they simply don't put you through to where you want to be, assuming they don't cut you off.
And they NEVER answer emails.

It's another case of a manufacturer where everything is fine until there's a problem. Thankfully with Asus the quality is usually such that there isn't one.
HOWEVER:
I would never ever EVER buy a VIA chipset from anyone, even Asus. My current board is a VIA based Asus A7V333 and it's had no end of problems with memory (I can't even get it stable at its full speed, so it's underclocked at PC2200 speeds when it's PC2700), USB2 (unplugging devices has a depressing tendency to BSOD the machine, and using certain combinations of devices in certain ports will lock it up if you even try to USE one of them), it really HATES certain PCI cards, and I had no end of trouble even getting UT2K3 running on it initially which is now a well documented and much complained about flaw with VIA's 4in1 AGP driver.
And I'm running XPSP2, latest VIA drivers and latest BIOS and gave up reinstalling things from scratch after about 20 attempts when it became clear that this was simply a hardware problem, and that VIA's north and southbridge chips were to blame.
All in all it's a terrible chipset, and I could never recommend VIA to anyone - I don't want that sort of thing on my concience. They're cheap, and they're cheap for a reason: shoddy drivers, terrible firmware, and crap chips.

Luckily for him my brother checked with me before building his system about a year ago - he was going to go for a VIA based board. I put him onto one of the nForce3 based Asus boards and I've heard nothing but praise for it since.
Consequently I'm waiting for a nForce4 based board from either Abit or Asus before I get my Winchester system.

Never again, VIA! Steer clear, you have been warned.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:10 pm
Posts: 657
Location: AB, Canada
yeah, didn't notice that in the original post either, only SiS or nVidia for me. kinda wary of VIA ever since their legal issues with Intel, and all the drivers and patches and crap. shouldn't take any software changes just to make a motherboard work properly unless you're using its onboard sound or video...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:22 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 pm
Posts: 37
Location: in the kitchen stirring the pot (Ohio, USA)
In this case there was no charge for my call to Microsoft.
It was a new install.
And yes I still think... Oh heck my whining isn't going to change a thing they do...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group