It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 8:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 314 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 12:13 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: Scarsdale, NY
ABIT AN8-SLI and AN8 Ultra, but both only go down to 1.1, not 0.8.

-Ed

_________________
Contributing Writer, SPCR
NgTechnik

Want something reviewed? Help us get samples!
Donate for Patron or Friend Status!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Gigabyte GA-7VA series
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 5:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:10 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Alexandria, VA USA
The Gigabyte GA-7VA(X,XP,etc.) can NOT be undervolted. It CAN be underclocked, but only by setting the FSB speed lower in hardware and "overclocking" from there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:51 am
Posts: 290
Location: UK
Think i posted this a while back, can't remember

Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro-G for 478 is undervoltable, down to less than a volt i think, can get an exact figure if needed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:04 pm
Posts: 1
ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe

Image Image

This motherboard a good starting with this processor, where VCore = 1,1V
In a BIOS a range of exposed values 1,375V-1,95V
But on processor PRESCOTT exhibiting of a voltage is higher 1,6V results... To its falling actually. That is it is real on a socket 0,85V-1,25V volts start to move!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:57 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
I noticed the Asus K8V is not on the list.
This board undervolts to 0.8. The max v core is 1.75
Socket 754, VIA K8T800

_________________
Can I have some cheese with that whine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:16 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Travelling worldwide
feldt wrote:
ASUS A7V333 w Socket-A, USB 2.0, FireWire and RAID.

VCORE can be set in range 1.10-1.85Volt but lowest is 1.75Volt from Bios then you have to use undocumented jumper settings on the board. Default VCORE is 1.75V.

The undocumented VCORE jumper settings for jumpers VID 1-4:

1.60V, VID2 1-2, VID4 1-2
1.55V, VID1 2-3, VID4 1-2
1.50V, VID4 1-2
1.45V, VID1 1-2, VID2 1-2, VID3 1-2
1.40V, VID1 1-2, VID3 1-2
1.30V, VID1 1-2, VID2 1-2
1.20V, VID2 1-2
1.15V, VID1 1-2

I'm pretty happy with the card but be sure to get later revisions since they fixed some problems from the earlier ones.


Do not have a A7V333 but a A7V600. Anyone knows if there are similiar possibilities with this later MB ?

If so where could I find some info ? I have been searching the net without success.

BTW, not sure I know how to read this. Are the VIDn the label of the jumpers and i-j the shorting mode ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:00 am
Posts: 806
Location: Germany
Since Mike is too busy updating the pages and the wiki takes it's time, I uploaded the newest version. It's not all tidied up with the links.

http://home.arcor.de/jojo4u/silentstuff ... 06-09.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 1:44 pm
Posts: 199
Location: Sweden
ABIT VT-7 undervolts well, no figures though (and don't ask, it fried on me today...).

Socket 478, on-board S-ATA, FSB 800 etc, good bang for bucks.'

/datapappan

_________________
[CPU: 2.4 GHz P4 Northwood w. AC Freezer 4 (fanless-Bluefront PSU mod inspired) / MB: ABIT VT7 (Via PT880) / GPU: ATI Radeon X800XL w Zalman ZM80D-HP / HDD: Seagate Barracuda IV SATA 80GB / CD: Samsung CD-DVD combo / Seahawk ALU Case / PSU: FSP 350-THN (fan mod-Everflow connected to CPU fan header)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:50 am
Posts: 28
Location: Germany
Elitegroup Rs482-M754

Socket 754 mAtx board with integrated graphics (ati x300)
can get down to 0,8V


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 9:41 am
Posts: 9
How about noting which ones support Cool'n'Quiet from AMD or Powernow from Intel when the CPU is underclocked and undervolted?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Greetings,

EPoX EP-8NPA SLI Socket 754 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX is undervoltable, though I forgot to check how low. It goes low enough to stay at stock speeds, at least. I only got the Athlon 3000+ (Newcastle?) down to 1.375v (from 1.5v) and the list in the BIOS did go down further than that...

The fan controls didn't seem to work though -- it is still in an early BIOS, and hopefully they will fix this? FWIW, the fan can be shut off below 39C, and then it can have 3 speed steps above that, each with a range of temps and fan speed (percentage of maximum voltage), which shows promise, but in the current BIOS version, it doesn't work, so I had to use a FanMate 2. :(

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3025
Location: Sweden
DFI LanParty nF3 Ultra-D (S939, AGP) got the following settings in BIOS:

CPU VID Control: Default, 0.8 - 1.55 V. Must be set to Default if using C'n'Q or CrystalCPUID!
CPU Voltage Adjusting: Default, 0.1 - 0.7 V. It undervolts, I use 0.2 V to get closer to the readings.
Chipset Voltage Adjusting: 1.65 - 1.95 V. Runs stable up to 310 MHz on stock volts.
RAM Voltage Adjusting: 2.5 - 3.2 V
AGP Voltage Adjusting: 1.5 - 1.8 V

In theory you can get well above Vcore = 2.0 V, be careful!

4 fan headers, 3 shows up in SpeedFan but only one works for now.

Cool 'n' Quiet works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:54 am
Posts: 5
Asrock K8Upgrade-NF3 s754 0.8v & Cool 'n' Quiet
and all Asrock K8Upgrade-*** s754 i think :) , see manual


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:36 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro SLi (Socket 939) is undervoltable to 0.8v, and the CPU fan header works either "automatically" or manually to control the CPU fan. It can be turned off, and then it can ramp up to three steps, where you can control the temperature, and the speed for each step.

Pretty nice -- if only the other two fan headers did the same thing!

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 4:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 6:33 pm
Posts: 82
Location: St. Louis, MO
I think it would be good to also include a field for the form factor of the motherboard. Some cases (well, mine in particular) might only accept mATX boards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:19 am
Posts: 10
Hi - have used quite a few of the dual Athlon MP mobos:

Best for undervolting [Rev 1.04 only]:

Asus A7M266-D

[marked as 'unknown' in the 'discontinued' section of the mobo list]:

Rev 1.04 has vcore adjust to both CPUs by jumpers
Rev 1.03 & before have vcore adjust by jumpers to CPU#0 only

OK for undervolting:

MSI K7D

- vcore adjust in-BIOS to both CPUs

Iwill MPX2

- vcore adjust in-BIOS to both CPUs

. . . obv the A7M266-D is preferable because cold-boot vcore/instantaneous load on PSU is less when vcore adjust has been via jumpering.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 8:15 pm
Posts: 436
Location: Michigan
Asus P5A: I'm running a K6-2/550AGR (iirc) on this ALi chipset board, undervolted to 2.2 from 2.3 and underclocked to 500. Will try further. The K6-2 is a hot proc - 44C idle even undervolted 0.1.

_________________
WIP Desktop: DFI R100 industrial PC case, DH61AG, i3-2100, 8GB DDR3, 500GB 2.5" HDD, Linux Mint 12
Laptop: HP tc4400, Core 2 Duo T7200, 3.5GB DDR2, 160GB Scorpio Blue, Ubuntu 11.04


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:00 am
Posts: 806
Location: Germany
Chris Chan wrote:
Will try further. The K6-2 is a hot proc - 44C idle even undervolted 0.1.


Try software cooling.
http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewto ... re+cooling


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Upstate New York, US
I haven't found this motherboard on this thread, so here it is:

The Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF supports undervolting with Crystal CPUID but does not support undervolting directly from BIOS.

The GA-K8N51GMF is a Socket 754 board with the nVidia 6100 northbridge, 410 southbridge and an added IEEE 1394 controller.

-Bruce

_________________
Turion MT-40 on a Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF. Lian Li PC-60 with 2 Panaflo 8L @ 5V (one >--> Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu). 160GB Seagate 7200 on bungees. Antec Phantom 350. No more Innovatek.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undervoltable Motherboards: ADD to the list!!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 9:55 pm
Posts: 21
i clicked the link page "Undervoltable Motherboards" and "recommands"
but i got "page not found"
could u modify the link?


DaveSimmons wrote:
Apparently most or all ASUS boards do not allow undervolting p3 and p4 CPUs, they only allow overvolting for overclockers (see the recent Asus P4PE thread).

Since most CPUs are now way overpowered for a home theater PC that's only doing playback, I was thinking of undervolting and underclocking.

Anyone know of p3 or p4 motherboards that undervolt and underclock? Have you done this yourself?

Of course I can always buy some old 815 / BX motherboard and a "slow" p3, but wouldn't an underclocked tualatin celeron 1.2 run cooler than a coppermine p3 or celeron at 800 MHz?

* * * * * * * * * * * *

ADDENDUM by MIKEC: Dave, sorry to hijack your thread, but I think you'll find the intent is perfectly in line with yours... :wink:

A new page called Undervoltable Motherboards has been added to the Recommended Section. This is a short starting list of undervolt-friendly motherboards that will be expanded over time. How quickly this happens depends on how much you help. You can each help a great deal. :)

The simple fact is that Vcore adjustments are usually not covered in specifications, and often, not even in manuals. In many cases, the only way to know for sure is to go into the BIOS of the motherboard and check the Vcore range available in the CPU frequency/voltage setup menu. Each and every one of you has at least one motherboard, the one in your computer. Most of you have two -- one at home and one at work. Just do a quick check on the BIOS CPU voltage adjustment range of your own PCs and report on any motherboard that provides at least a -0.2V setting from default Vcore setting.

Please submit the information to this thread. I will periodically collect the info and add it to the list below. With everyone's cooperation, we will soon have a large and useful list of undervolt friendly motherboards. If the list gets big enough, we may even divide it up into handy CPU and/or chipset categories. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Undervoltable Motherboards: ADD to the list!!
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:57 am
Posts: 140
Location: France, Lyon
jewk wrote:
i clicked the link page "Undervoltable Motherboards" and "recommands"
but i got "page not found"
could u modify the link?

Same thing here, the new link for the article should be : http://www.silentpcreview.com/article69-page1.html

My socket A Jetway 663AS is not undervoltable SPCR style (only -0.1V is allowed).
I should soon be able to report on the DFI ak75-EC. According to web reviews it allows more than 0.2V undervolting, I will submit it when I can confirm that.

EDIT: OK, it's kind of mixed, the motheboard's BIOS allow to undervolt only down to 1.5V (reported as 1.47V by hardware monitor and speedfan).
So a duron (with stock voltage of 1.5V) can't be undervolted, whereas an Athlon (1.75V) can be undervolted by up to 0.25V. I tested with both processor type, so I can say the voltage array doesn't change with the processor type.
To sum up the way it is done in the article :
discontinued board - DFI AK75-EC - SocketA - VIA KT133A - 1.5V-1.85V - in BIOS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 11:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Belgium
My Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 is undervoltable to 0.8V,
but when I changed it from 1.45V to 1.25V in the bios,
the cpu temp didn't change at all. :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 11:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 1:53 am
Posts: 35
Location: Spain (Europe)
does anyone knows if I can find a nforce 430 or nforce 410 chipset based motherboardo that undervolt??

I´m looking for integrated graphics in this motherboad because I think they´re cooler than ones with standard graphics card..

thanks

s2

_________________
antec p180 with 3 nexus @ 7v // AMD athlon x2 4200+ @ 2750 1.48v with pasive ninja // Gygabyte´s pasive 7600gt @645/1624 // wd raptor 150gb // antec phantom 500.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
does anyone knows if I can find a nforce 430 or nforce 410 chipset based motherboard that undervolt??


Biostar Tforce 6100. Comes in socket 754 and socket 939 versions. Adjustable Vcore in BIOS from 0.8-1.6V.

I would say the nForce integrated graphics are cooler than a standalone graphics card, but not as cool as VIA or SIS integrated graphics (I have the socket 754 Tforce).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 3:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 1:53 am
Posts: 35
Location: Spain (Europe)
thank you very much, that was the motherboard I "knew" it was undervoltable, I red it somewhere roun here but I wasn´t able to find the thread.

I know that nvidia chipset with integrated graphics are hotter tan via ones for example, but I figure they´re also more powerfull, and I´ll need some of that power.

_________________
antec p180 with 3 nexus @ 7v // AMD athlon x2 4200+ @ 2750 1.48v with pasive ninja // Gygabyte´s pasive 7600gt @645/1624 // wd raptor 150gb // antec phantom 500.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 8:21 am
Posts: 13
Location: Las Vegas NV
DFI Infinity RS482, 0.800-1.850V in BIOS.

Dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2049
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
I bought an Asrock K8NF4G-SATA2 because the manual shows the CPU voltage settable in the bios. But my bios setup utility is V2.58 instead of V2.54, and the CPU voltage is not adjustable. Growl.

I thought all Asrock boards featured adjustable CPU voltage?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Belgium
Felger,

it should be.

Enter Bios during boot by pressing 'F2'.

Go to bios setup utility, advanced, cpu configuration,
change 'Multiplier/Voltage Change' to manual.
Now you can change the 'processor maximum voltage'.

I also notice that the AMI utility is v 2.54, but you mention that your's
is v 2.58.
If it's not possible, maybe you can flash your bios back from 1.1 to v1.0
the only diffence in v1.1 is that they updated the raid option ROM.
If you don't need this, you can go back to v1.0, maybe this will revert
the 2.58 to 2.54?
I'm not sure, but you can try.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:00 am
Posts: 806
Location: Germany
Minimum/maximum voltages adjustable in BIOS from the german magazine C't issue 17/06 page 166. All boards are fanless!

Code:
Abit KN9 SLI 1.35 V/2.1 V BIOS version 1.2
Asrock AM2XLI-eSATA2 0.8/1.4 V BIOS version 1.20
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe 0.8/1.55 V BIOS version 0603
Elitegroup KA3 MVP 0.55/1.45 V BIOS version 1.0J
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S5 0.8/1.55 V BIOS version F2
MSI K9N Neo F not adjustable BIOS version 1.3
MSI K9N SLI Platinum 1.025/1.4 V BIOS version 1.20


About power consumption of these boards:
http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=33148


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:48 am
Posts: 717
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gigabyte P35 Series - I believe basically all of them have voltage controls that I know of.

_________________
Quiet Wuv Wizzie
Main: I5-3570K at 3.7ghz, 16GB DDR-1600@1.35v, Asrock Z77 Extreme6, Corsair 330R, Seasonic 760XP2, Sapphire Radeon 7950| Secondary/Lan: Core i3-2100, 4GB, Msi H67MA-E35, Radeon 6790, Sugo SG02| HTPC: Core i3-2100, 4GB, AsRock H67M-ITX/HT, Antec ISK300-65| NAS: Core I3-2100, 8GB, Antec TP-550, Lian Li PC-Q08B, 4X2TB WD Green| Lappy: Latitude D620 Core 2 T7600, Quadro NVS 110M


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 314 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group