It is currently Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Matrox P750 Review
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 8:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
Here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 3:22 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Posts: 8636
Location: Sunny SoCal
mmmmm.....juicy, dual DVI RAMDACs!

_________________
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 12:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 2:35 pm
Posts: 104
Location: San Diego County
Okay, ParheliaMan or MatroxMan, are you out there someplace to respond? :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 12:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11802
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Having been a Matrox dual-head diehard since who-knows-when, I have to say that if the 650/750 give me the resolutionh/sharpness/clarity of my G400 Max and G550 AND give me at least a bit more speed, I'm still buying. I have yet to find another videocard that matches the 2D performance of the G400 Max and G550, and anyone who has used dual display will never go back to one. 3 is too much for my desk, but desks can also be changed ;)

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
Matrox is not one to "optimize" :wink: for benchmarks. I don't think that the nForce2 makes that much of a difference so there must be something wrong there. The KT400 scores should indicate what the performance is really like.

We don't yet know the clocks of P650/P750. I have not yet seen those mentioned anywhere. It is bandwidth limited, as it has a 128Bit interface, compared to the original 256.

Parhelia remains the cheapest professional card with certified AutoCAD drivers, and many others.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2003 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
You really do have to compare for yourself to see the image quality of a Matrox card. It's all subjective, and if your eyes aren't that great it really won't matter, will it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:09 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
bsdgeek wrote:
You really do have to compare for yourself to see the image quality of a Matrox card. It's all subjective, and if your eyes aren't that great it really won't matter, will it?

Oh my will it matter very much. Just try reading http://www.arstechnica.com on with a crappy AGP card and you'll have to crank the brightness to read the blurry dark text. On a Matrox with a nice CRT/LCD - their white text is as sharp as a knife.

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
Oh I agree, it's just that I know people who never adjust anything and could never tell the difference, either that or they just won't admit their IQ is inferior. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
Radeonman: As I said, it is something you really can't tell with numbers or pictures (Although I think I saw some site, TecChannel I believe, that tested signal strength and Matrox G550 came out on top) You can't take a picture of it, screenshots won't prove anything, using a digicam on it is just silly and the detail you are attempting to capture is gone. You have to see it in person.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 4:20 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 4:00 pm
Posts: 918
Location: Madison, WI, USA
My parents regularly use dual monitors at their office... and they've never found a reason to use anything other than radeons/geforces. There's only a problem with 1 computer, and thats because its a cheap workstation for temps, using 2 different video cards (one AGP, one PCI). And even then I've never been able to reproduce the supposed problem in many hours of working with it....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 4:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11802
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I agree with bsdgeek -- it is something you can't help notice if you see the two side by side. You certainly don't have to be a "video"phile. I wanted to move on from the Matrox G400 Max 1.5~2 years ago. Tried several ATIs, a couple of nVidias. At the time, nothing even came close for ease of use in the dual monitor software, or in the 2D quality. At least not in my price range. (<US$150) So I ended up with a G550 on my backup machine.

It's kind of like quiet computers. You talk about it with people, they nod their heads, yeah, yeah, sure, sure they agree, but you know they don't really get it... and then they hear my (your) near-silent setups and their jaws drop open & they go: "OH! WOW! I had no idea! You sure that thing is on?! Oh ok the monitor's on... um... holy tomb noises...." and so on. And then they want one just like yours.

It's a *bit* like that. The proof is in the direct experience. ;)

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 4:51 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2002 5:07 pm
Posts: 809
Location: London, UK
No offense to those people who use Radeon or Geforce, I use one myself. If you are into any form of 3D gaming then Radeon and Geforce will serve you better, but for professional 2D output nothing beats the Matrox. You have to use it side by side to see the difference, Matrox is razor sharp. You would initially think it is the monitor that is doing this, but stick in a Radeon/Geforce and you can clearly see the difference.

Matrox is for serious 2D work, whereas Radeon/Geforce is a compromise for 2D but gives you the chance to have mega frame rates for games. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I love Matrox, too.
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 6:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7354
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

I can also vouch for the qualities of Matrox -- in addition to amazing 2D clarity, their driver features and support are quite good. They support full featured dual monitor support in Win2K and Linux, too, I believe. Multiple desktops, independent resolutions, mode switching, zooming -- I am so looking forward to the P650! :D

I will say that ATi cards have pretty good clarity, but with nVidia, you are at the mercy of the maker -- I hear that LeadTek is one of the better GeForce cards, in terms of 2D image quality.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:03 am
Posts: 10
The pictures on the Matrox site does not show a fan for either card although they only specificly state that the P650 is fanless. The review clearly shows a big noisy fan on the P750. What gives? Does the P650 have a fan or not?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 6:16 pm
Posts: 34
Location: Tulsa, OK
On the Matrox site, there is no heatsink either. :wink: There won't be a fan on P650.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 1:56 pm
Posts: 91
Hmm... interesting thread. Is there a super high quality + relatively cheap matrox PCI card I can use @ 1600x1200? I wouldn't want to ditch my ti4600 for games, but if 2d quality is super high, I wouldn't mind use a mechanical switch to go back and forth... ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 11:03 am
Posts: 148
Location: Denmark
MikeC wrote:
and anyone who has used dual display will never go back to one.


I did. I ran two monitors on my G400 for a little while, and frankly I hardly ever had any real use for it. And I also think that even two monitors take up too much desk space.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11802
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
edcrane:

http://shopmatrox.com/usa/products/datasheet.asp?ID=279

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Last edited by MikeC on Thu May 15, 2003 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11802
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Boomerang Rapido wrote:
MikeC wrote:
and anyone who has used dual display will never go back to one.


I did. I ran two monitors on my G400 for a little while, and frankly I hardly ever had any real use for it. And I also think that even two monitors take up too much desk space.

I stand corrected. Let me rephrase: I will never go back to one monitor. When I am working on grahics, text & layout all at once in the usual deadline rush, there's no way I want to be switching back and forth between windows on one mon... except maybe a 40 x 20" flat planar device? anyone want to make a special contribution for lifetime membership into the silent muse cateory of the SPCR forum? :lol: :wink:

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 1:47 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 737
Location: swindon- england :/
matrox have uber quality, ati are good, my leadtek gf4 was erm soft
tho i hear they use diff parts to most, so u gotta use there drivers for best iq.
oh and get a good kvm, i got a cheap one and i get ghosting etc :(
cheap cables :'(

_________________
hardware Killer and teddy giver. P.I.N.G.U.: Positronic Intelligent Nocturnal Gratification Unit
main rig:q6600, 4 gig ddr2, 3870, x fi, modded akasa psu, 4+hd's
leechbox, p3 something, 80gig hd, soundproofed case


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2003 3:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 1:17 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Tartu, Estonia
MikeC wrote:
I will never go back to one monitor. When I am working on grahics, text & layout all at once in the usual deadline rush, there's no way I want to be switching back and forth between windows on one mon... except maybe a 40 x 20" flat planar device?


Too bad that thiese new cards don't support triple DVI

Image

This would be sweet :)
http://www.sony-cp.com/picture_library/lcd/p_professional/original/glamour/p82_g06.zip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 9:31 am
Posts: 25
I did go back to one monitor, but if I manage to convince myself to cough up for a P650/P750 and another Acer AL732 I might just be running dualhead again :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 5:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 11:03 am
Posts: 148
Location: Denmark
MikeC wrote:
I stand corrected. Let me rephrase: I will never go back to one monitor. When I am working on grahics, text & layout all at once in the


Ahhh well that's something completely different right there. See I only used it for entertainment purposes, like watching a movie while chatting or whatever :)

Hey CHHAS.... are you the same CHHAS that posts at the MURC??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: bump!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 11:51 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7354
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

The Matrox Millennium P750 and P650 cards are (finally) on sale direct from Matrox.

http://shopmatrox.com/usa/home.asp

I have not seen them at New Egg yet...

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bump!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:01 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 1:28 pm
Posts: 951
Location: Tennessee, USA
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Hello:

The Matrox Millennium P750 and P650 cards are (finally) on sale direct from Matrox.

http://shopmatrox.com/usa/home.asp

I have not seen them at New Egg yet...

No, but newegg has pulled the item descriptions for both the G450 (sold out for a few weeks anyway) and the G550 from their site.

Figures....I had been waiting for the release of the 650 and 750 cards to push down the price on the 550, but lost patience last week and ordered one :roll: :cry: I'll see what the new release does to the market this week and maybe RMA.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jens Lyn IV and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group