It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 607 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 21  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
Well I've just this second received an email with the tracking number for my Seasonic. Currently I'm still running the Neo HE as it works unless I play games (bit of a waste of a 7800 GTX 512MB just surfing the web though!).

Kudos to NCIX (the vendor I purchased from) for:
    Immediately acknowledging there was a problem.
    Immediately providing a RMA number and details on how to ship it back to them under THEIR courier account.
    Helping suggest an alternative PSU.
    Price matching the Seasonic with a competitor.
    Cross-shipping the Seasonic with the Neo HE - with the Seasonic being shipped to me by AIR.


My only concern now is finding a 4 Pin ATX power extension cord - I have a feeling I'm going to need it as I have a P180 case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
Well, I had asked for a contact to speak with at Antec about my concerns and expense outlay on this ordeal with the Neo HE.

So I received a call from a person with some authority within Antec (very nice fellow), we chatted about 45 minutes total today. We discussed about the RMA process and I added a few comments hopefully some higherups might hear. He was very interested in my experience in detail, and wanted to discuss the problems I encountered.

I did not ask if I could quote him or relate the conversation in any great detail. I'll just say that I will be reimbursed for my troubles, and my problems with the NEO HE that I was having have been fixed with the new revision unit.

This is an unsolicited comment towards Antec, not asked for by anyone.

I believe they are a good company with good products, but like any other company, sometimes an item isn't 'quite right' the first time around.. What matters is that they have churned out a new revision in pretty good time to rectify the situation, and in the end have 'made good' towards this customer and hopefully the rest of you having the same difficulties.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7
rei wrote:
Since Australia recently started carrying Seasonic, can't you order it from there, oracle?

(edit: Oh hey, it's my 1 year anniversary registering on here! I'd like to thank you all for making this an obsession for the past year. :) Fitting I finally get everything working tonight!)


ya... i suppose i can... i am just not too sure on the warranty though... i have to check that out..

and happy anniversary!! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 35
i have a lot of questions...

a while back i remember seeing version 2.2 on monarch. is this the revised version? if not, how is the revised version marked?

i was planning on getting the p150 untill all this...so if i got one now and it WASN'T a good unit, how do i go about resolving the problem? i rma it to newegg? if so, do they send me a comparable seasonic if i wanted them to?

thanks for the help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
johnnq wrote:
i have a lot of questions...

a while back i remember seeing version 2.2 on monarch. is this the revised version? if not, how is the revised version marked?

i was planning on getting the p150 untill all this...so if i got one now and it WASN'T a good unit, how do i go about resolving the problem? i rma it to newegg? if so, do they send me a comparable seasonic if i wanted them to?

thanks for the help


2.2 is just the atx spec. I would'nt count on finding one at a retailer for a while, maybe a month or two at the least. They are not going to recall all the ones out there in retail boxes and the ones in the p150's. Retailers are going to sell them as normal.

At the moment, only the techs at Antec *might* be able to decode a serial #, but I would not hold my breath too long about that. I know the revised units they got in the Monday after Thanksgiving have all been spoken for/sent out and they are awaiting some more to come in.

Not the news you want I'm sure, but best way to assure one is to buy, then RMA it to Antec. :(

If you get a p150 case w/ the neo he 430, you COULD RMA the PSU to Newegg, but they will send you a >$30 generic PSU (350), which is their policy. Not acceptable to me. If you buy the retail box, you can return it certainly, not sure about the restocking fee or not, again your best bet would be to RMA it to Antec.

Also, not ALL boards are failing to post with it, maybe you will get lucky. My 4 boards were all failing, but others had better luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 35
thanks...a few more.

so if i bought the p150 now without the system, i could call up antec and ask for an rma (if it is the old version which is most likely)?

do i need to have a system that isn't compatible with the neohe in order to rma it? lastly, if i were to rma, all i pay is shipping?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 964
s1mon, what happened when you tried games with it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
johnnq wrote:
thanks...a few more.

so if i bought the p150 now without the system, i could call up antec and ask for an rma (if it is the old version which is most likely)?

do i need to have a system that isn't compatible with the neohe in order to rma it? lastly, if i were to rma, all i pay is shipping?


Well, they are going to ask you about what it is that isn't compatible, and have you do some tests with the system most likely.

Usually with RMAs, you pay to ship the item back to the company. Usually they foot the bill to get the new one to you.

If your stuff works with it, then RMA'ing it is a waste of everyones' time. Although I wouldn't bet much money that any certain board will power up with the first revision neo he psu.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:03 pm
Posts: 35
thanks dude. my only concern (first build...) is that my cpu could be dead. if i hvae to send the psu back and i have broken parts, im screwed (even though it's not likely). it's good news that at least one person got his problems sorted out. so many other guys at hardocp still haven't received their new psu.

last question. with the "revised" psu, does it still give low voltages?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
rei wrote:
s1mon, what happened when you tried games with it?

After a period of time (~15 mins) the PC would just power down. It wasn't heat related as far as I could tell. All temps were still good, and I could immediately start the PC again and play for another 15 mins or so. I never had it crash while in the BIOS or using regular XP desktop apps.

I had to remove it from the case today in order to RMA it, and was reminded what a nice unit it is. I loved the modular cables and it ran nice and quietly. I hope Antec get everything sorted out soon - the product deserves better than the reputation it currently has.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
johnnq wrote:
thanks dude. my only concern (first build...) is that my cpu could be dead. if i hvae to send the psu back and i have broken parts, im screwed (even though it's not likely). it's good news that at least one person got his problems sorted out. so many other guys at hardocp still haven't received their new psu.

last question. with the "revised" psu, does it still give low voltages?


yes, they are pretty much a tad on the low side of the fence. No problems tho so I'm happy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
So I just hooked up an old Enermax 350w PSU that I borrowed from a buddy. It has a 20 pin motherboard plug instead of 24 and every single molex plug is in use (two of them plugged into the graphics card via a PCI-E adapter). I have no idea if the 350 rating is a peak or continuous rating.

Anyway, it's been behaving flawlessly, and I've just completed a Command & Conquer Generals skirmish game, which I was never able to do with the Antec Neo HE 550.....

Asus probe is showing the voltages slightly above target (3.34, 5.08, 12.10) as opposed to the Neo HE which was always slightly below.


Last edited by S1mon on Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:27 pm
Posts: 10
Is there any way to distinguish the revised units from the older units? Is there a serial number or revision number to look for?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
Quick update on my situation - I installed the Seasonic unit last night and everything is completely stable, as expected. The voltages are reading in the same range as the Antec Neo HE (lower than the Enermax) so I don't believe the problem with the Neo is voltage (unless it's voltage stability that's the problem). I'd be very interested in knowing what the actual problem is....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: The updated Neo HE doesn't work
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 4
Hi! This is my first post here...

I'm one of those who have received the updated Antec Neo HE, the one with the "Asus A8N fix". I received this after contact with Antec support.

The updated psu has the same problem!

When I play games (favorite: Battlefield 2), the psu will switch off suddenly, like if somebody pulled out the power plug.

With the old revision I could play for 1 to 10 minutes. With the new revision I can play for 7-15 minutes. The new psu has also switched off during normal application.

My motherboard is Asus A8N-E and I have the latest bios 1010-004.

I have the Antec Neo HE 380W. I tried a cheap Q-tec 300W psu, and it worked with absolutely no problems.

I've also posted at Hardforum:
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... ge=3&pp=20
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... ge=6&pp=20


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
I have the Antec Neo HE 380W. I tried a cheap Q-tec 300W psu, and it worked with absolutely no problems.


I can't believe people are still persisting with this obviously defective POS PSU. Dump it/get your money back and never look back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:17 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
well, mines on its way back to antec, or perhaps the new one is on its way back to me, might take a while with them.... if it doesn't work then, forget it.

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The updated Neo HE doesn't work
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
sorry to hear that.. Just get them back on the horn. Have you double checked for anything else that could be causing it, such as overheating perhaps?

mrjocke wrote:
Hi! This is my first post here...

I'm one of those who have received the updated Antec Neo HE, the one with the "Asus A8N fix". I received this after contact with Antec support.

The updated psu has the same problem!

When I play games (favorite: Battlefield 2), the psu will switch off suddenly, like if somebody pulled out the power plug.

With the old revision I could play for 1 to 10 minutes. With the new revision I can play for 7-15 minutes. The new psu has also switched off during normal application.

My motherboard is Asus A8N-E and I have the latest bios 1010-004.

I have the Antec Neo HE 380W. I tried a cheap Q-tec 300W psu, and it worked with absolutely no problems.

I've also posted at Hardforum:
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... ge=3&pp=20
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... ge=6&pp=20


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:48 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Well, I can chip in as well. I got my replacement Neo HE 430W yesterday, and plugged it in the first thing I did after work. With this new sample, the fans just start spinning, and then the computer shuts down. Some protective measure kicking in without a doubt. With the old one, I can at least get into the BIOS for 20-30 seconds, but this new one is even worse.

I'm going to try some more this weekend, otherwise I don't really know what to do. Anyone that can recommend another quiet PSU with detachable cables? I can't take this anymore.

_________________
P150 | Q6600 | 4GB RAM | TRUE | 2x Nexus 120mm | 7800 GTX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 1:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:57 am
Posts: 4
Quote:
Have you double checked for anything else that could be causing it, such as overheating perhaps?

All my temperatures are below 40C.

The Q-tec psu works with absolutely no problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 5:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:56 am
Posts: 39
Location: Bofferdange, Luxembourg
I've just bought a P150 case with the Neo HE PSU included, and was planning to put into it an Asus A7N8X-X motherboard with Barton 2500+ CPU.

Is there any reason to think this combination might not work? I have other PSUs I can use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:02 am
Posts: 2
Allenlux,

It would be nice to see if it's going to work for you, but somehow I believe in the best case scenario your system will be stable until you start any resource consuming application - eg games. I tried my HE430 (bundled with P150) with Asus A7V8X-X and was able to get fans spin for 0.5 seconds before shutting-off :(. Same A7V8X-X motherboard with another PSU works great, my Antec HE430 with an old Abit works fine.

Good luck and pls let us know the results if you try HE430/Asus combination.

Cheers,
Mio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 371
Location: S. Illinois
I've purposely distanced myself from this thread since my last post, but am disapointed to hear of those getting the revised unit(s) that are doing the same thing. All I can suggest is to keep after them , there is a warranty on the item, or better yet if you can return to the vendor and purchase competing items. I think many of us have spent enough time and energy on this, to keep it up much longer, if at all. I guess I'm very fortunate that mine works.

Just keep after them..(or return it if you can).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:12 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1069
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Europe
well, i sent mine in on 12/12/05, after getting my RMA on the 10th, and I still have no word from them. no confirmation they got the PSU, no nothing.
It's about time to send them a flameogram, Its been over a month with a noisy PSU for me, I should have just bought an S12 for 50 bucks for the time being. :(

_________________
"Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." -Benjamin Franklin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:56 am
Posts: 39
Location: Bofferdange, Luxembourg
Mio wrote:
It would be nice to see if it's going to work for you, but somehow I believe in the best case scenario your system will be stable until you start any resource consuming application - eg games. I tried my HE430 (bundled with P150) with Asus A7V8X-X and was able to get fans spin for 0.5 seconds before shutting-off :(. Same A7V8X-X motherboard with another PSU works great, my Antec HE430 with an old Abit works fine.

Good luck and pls let us know the results if you try HE430/Asus combination.


In a spirit of scientific inquiry, I tried this experiment: I took out from my existing PC the (working) Antec Truepower 330 PSU, and put in the Antec Neo HE 430 which came with a new P150 case, bought at the end of November.

Nothing else changed: Asus A7N8X-X motherboard, AMD Barton 2500+ CPU, 512 MB DDR RAM, 80 MB HD, a couple of optical drives, ATI Radeon 7500 graphics card. The BIOS is the latest (1010).

Result: the PC would not start. The motherboard LED was lit, showing that the motherboard was powered, the drive LEDs lit up briefly, but the boot sequence did not start.

I put back the original PSU and everything is normal again.

Conclusion: there really is a problem with the combination of this motherboard/CPU and the new Neo HE PSU.

I think I will try to return the PSU. Even if it works with some other motherboards, this seems to me unacceptable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11830
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
In case anyone is not aware of this thread:Antec Neo HE 430 PSU Users Poll

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:51 am
Posts: 3
Location: Torino, Italy
Hi there,
I purchased an Antec NeoHe 430 in mid-November. This PSU can't boot my system based on a P5GDC Deluxe motherboard. As suggested on Antec web site, since I live in EU, I wrote to europe.techsupport@antec.com. After a long time they finally replied:

"We recently released a version of the NeoHE that employs a fix for Asus P5 based motherboards.
Unfortunately, we are still awaiting shipment to our Europe facility.
We suggest that you get in touch with us within a week or two so that we can give you an update of it's availability."

So, EU NeoHe owners, let's keep waiting and praying!

Best wishes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Only 430's in the Poll?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
MikeC wrote:
In case anyone is not aware of this thread:Antec Neo HE 430 PSU Users Poll

I haven't posted in the poll yet, because I have (had) a Neo HE 550. I understand the 430 was the most common as it came with the P150, but I think the poll should be covering all the Neo HE's. Can someone clarify the intention?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Only 430's in the Poll?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:48 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
S1mon wrote:
MikeC wrote:
In case anyone is not aware of this thread:Antec Neo HE 430 PSU Users Poll

I haven't posted in the poll yet, because I have (had) a Neo HE 550. I understand the 430 was the most common as it came with the P150, but I think the poll should be covering all the Neo HE's. Can someone clarify the intention?


The poll is actually called Antec Neo HE PSU Users Poll so I guess it's for all Neo HEs.

_________________
P150 | Q6600 | 4GB RAM | TRUE | 2x Nexus 120mm | 7800 GTX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Only 430's in the Poll?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:12 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Ottawa
hravn wrote:
S1mon wrote:
MikeC wrote:
In case anyone is not aware of this thread:Antec Neo HE 430 PSU Users Poll

I haven't posted in the poll yet, because I have (had) a Neo HE 550. I understand the 430 was the most common as it came with the P150, but I think the poll should be covering all the Neo HE's. Can someone clarify the intention?


The poll is actually called Antec Neo HE PSU Users Poll so I guess it's for all Neo HEs.

Ah-ha! It's been renamed :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 607 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group