It is currently Thu Dec 25, 2014 11:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Troubles with the new Gromacs core?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 6:42 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

I want to hear from some others -- are you having trouble with the new Gromacs core? My two fast machines have has several errors -- checksum and I/O errors, and they are overclocked. I suspect it is a RAM error, rather than a CPU or CPU overheating that is causing it, so I'll try a slightly slower FSB/RAM speed and see how things go with that. Otherwise, I'll have to get better RAM...

The Win2K client has had two (and one was with over 300 of 400 steps done! :cry: ) and they just aborted. The Linux client has had about 4 in a row, and in some cases, it tries restarting the unit back at a known point. The Linux units have all been the same: p539_BBA5_N in water, and I forget which WU it was in the Windows client.

But in the end, I have wasted a lot of time with these. The Windows client has an error message that I don't see in the Linux, that says in a nutshell, if you see more than a few of these, that there may be something going wrong with your computer, like overheating (I doubt this is a issue), overclocking, or other problems. I will try dropping my RAM/FSB speed back a bit -- maybe my RAM is kicking out errors that the Gromacs core is more "sensitive" to?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Last edited by NeilBlanchard on Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:00 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Akron, OH (The Rubber Capital)
I am overclocking 1 PC and it has no problems, and the other 8 are at stock speeds, also no problems.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:35 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 8:01 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Washington, DC
I've had only one error: log said that it could not continue, and shutting dowm Gromac's core. But it still attempted to send work the server, which I think it did, and I did get credit for it I believe. Stock system, etc, etc.

_________________
Laptop : Lenovo x120e : AMD e350 : G.Skill 8GB : Intel x25-m SSD
HTPC : Intel E8400 : Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H : G.Skill 8GB : OCZ Vertex 2 SSD : Ahanix MCE-302 : Sony Bravia KDL-40S2000 : Yahama HTR-5830 5.1
Desktop | VMWare Testlab : Intel Q9550 : Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR : Mushkin 16GB : XFX HD5850 : RAID1 WD120 Scorpio : Antec Solo : Seasonic X-400 Fanless : 3 x Dell 2007FP S-IPS Eyefinity


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 1:40 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Reading.England.EU
I've had 1 oddity. Identical to rpc, shut down and send to server. Except I didn't get any credit. This was on a Dell P3 laptop.

My main system (XP2700) is actually an oc XP2100: if I drop the VCore too low or the temps get too high then it just crashes folding and scores nil points.

_________________
2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 1:51 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am
Posts: 316
I've had 2 in a row last week, on the same pc. Halfway it would just stop, 100% cpu time but no frames coming out any more. After I restart it I get a missing_work_files error and it starts downloading a new WU.
That pc is a tualatin-celeron running on 133 fsb, memory is 133 mhz sdram. It's been folding for like 2 months now without problems.

_________________
XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Well, so far...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 7:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

I've dropped the frequency slightly from 154mHz X 13 = 2002mHz to 152mHz X 13 = 1976mHz and so far, so good. It either was the RAM (I'm still minimizing the latencies @ 2-3-3) or the CPU but not from overheating. I've never seen anything above 51C; typically it 47-48C, and so my best guess is that the APacer PC2100 CAS2 is hicupping at a 15% oc with the tightest timings possible. I'm going to be replacing the SVC GC-68's with Alpha PAL8045's and I may be "forced" :wink: to buy some good PC2700 CAS 2 and see if I can't hit 166mHz X 13 = 2158mHz and still keep the temps in the low to mid 40's... :twisted:

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group