It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: X2 4200+ VS X2 4200+ EE
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:54 am
Posts: 8
Hi, this is my first post here :)

I'm wondering which one to get. The price is the same (actually the EE version is about $1 cheaper..) Are there any reasons NOT to go for the EE version?

I'll use it in my desktop computer (also going to get the Abit nf-m2 nView mb and an Antec Solo or p180) for a while, and I will try to do some overclocking aswell (cooled by a Scythe Ninja and a nexus 120mm). The main use will be web development, and basic use...(maybe some gaming, but not much)

My plan is to stick with this setup for some months maybe, and when I can afford another one, I'll build a htpc of these parts.. (and running it at stock speed I guess..)

So, which one to buy? The EE version or the standard version?

Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Get the EE version. That's amazing that it's the same price as the standard X2, usually the EE version is more expensive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:06 pm
Posts: 224
Location: Switzerland
Yeh, this is a funny thing I just noticed in one of my local stores too: for the 3800 and 4600, the EE edition is the same price, and for the 4200 it's actually cheaper!! I guess I shouldn't complain but it seems stupid :lol:

Maybe some people haven't got the idea of undervolting and think that it'll make the CPU less powerful...

_________________
My custom wood case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3009
Location: Sweden
It's not strange at all. AMD have changed the prices, look here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:52 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:32 pm
Posts: 237
Does that mean the new yield of standard versions is approaching the 62W TDP of the EE versions, and hence similar price? Or maybe AMD's cutting down EE versions price to supplement the low inventory levels of the standard version?

Also interesting that all the 35W TDP chips (EE SFF version) have no prices on them. Guess like jaganath mentioned in another thread, these chips are supplied mainly to PC makers like HP.

One thing though, it seems all the EE/EE SFF versions are achieving lower TDP by lowering vcore. However if you all remember the 35W S939 Opterons (165, 170, even 175) with samples reported at 35W TDP but at stock voltage. Is it really true Opteron's are made on "superior" silicon...? With the 165s now available for around $160, maybe it's worth a gamble to see if you're lucky enough to draw a 35W sample. Even overclocked to 2.2GHz assume the Opteron will still be under 62W (can someone help with this calculation?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3009
Location: Sweden
Hifriday wrote:
Even overclocked to 2.2GHz assume the Opteron will still be under 62W (can someone help with this calculation?)

Yep, 35 x 2200 / 1800 = 42.8 W theoretically,

and max speed is 62 x 1800 / 35 = 3188 W... now I'd really like to see that with stock Vcore! 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group