It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1624 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 55  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:37 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4242
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
KansaKilla wrote:
aristide1, when you mention that you are hitting a checkpoint every 6 minutes, do you mean that you are going through one percent every 6 minutes, or is it something else? Also, to finish a work unit in 10 hours is pretty fast, what hardware are you running it on? Sorry if you've mentioned it elsewhere--no time to search right now.


Yes 1% every 6 minutes. It's was on a lowly Pentium 4, obviously with a total of 44 points it wasn't much work to begin with. On average I would say it lowered the PPD that that PC usually gets.

No on my Core 2 Duo a couple of SMPs were about 23 minutes each and worth about 1385 points. I like those better.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:00 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
well ive added my processors to the mix here.
xeon 1.8 ghz (x2) runnning 2 instances 24/7 and my pair of opteron 246s on the desktop PC while im sleeping and away at work.

I cant run the GPU client because its win32 only and ATI only - both my video cards are nvidia & the desktop runs XP x64.

but the WUs are cranking away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:24 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
Every bit helps, we really appreciate it.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 333
Location: USA
kittle wrote:
well ive added my processors to the mix here.
xeon 1.8 ghz (x2) runnning 2 instances 24/7 and my pair of opteron 246s on the desktop PC while im sleeping and away at work.

I cant run the GPU client because its win32 only and ATI only - both my video cards are nvidia & the desktop runs XP x64.

but the WUs are cranking away


Is it possible to run the SMP client on those systems, rather than 2 instances? It sounds like the SMP client runs a lot faster than 2 instances.

_________________
Athlon64 3000+ @ 2.6 GHz, Radeon 9550, Seasonic S12-380, Zalman CNPS7000-Cu, Yate Loon 120mm, Centurion 5 case
Core2Duo E6320 @ 2.4GHz, Seasonic S12-330, Zalman CNPS7000-AlCu, Yate Loon 120mm, Ultra MicroFly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7335
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello,

Yes, IME the SMP client is 2-4X faster than two "regular" F@H clients.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am
Posts: 105
Sadly I've had several SMP WU's take >5 days on a dual proc Xeon 2.4GHz machine. From what I have read, I would get no credit for these units as they are over the final deadline. I have been forced to run 4x individual instances on these machines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:23 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
That just happened to me, too. I don't know if I just happened to get a particularly difficult core or something. I went back and re-installed FAH SMP. That seemed to help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:29 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7335
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello,

Remember, the SMP client is designed for quad-cores, but runs on dual cores -- so even with the Linux SMP client, you only have about 10-24 hours of "cushion". On my dual core X2, the Windows SMP was never able to complete a WU on time, even with (virtually) 100% CPU time.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
On my dual core X2, the Windows SMP was never able to complete a WU on time, even with (virtually) 100% CPU time.


we should really warn people that unless they have quite a powerful machine and can let it Fold at high utilisation (90%+?) the SMP client is not the way to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:35 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
jaganath wrote:
we should really warn people that unless they have quite a powerful machine and can let it Fold at high utilisation (90%+?) the SMP client is not the way to go.


My Opteron 170 completed windows SMP WU's with 35% time to deadline remaining, and it was running at stock, 2.0ghz. To me that implies that even the slowest X2 dual core can handle it, I can't speak for Pentium D machines though.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:57 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
jaganath wrote:
we should really warn people that unless they have quite a powerful machine and can let it Fold at high utilisation (90%+?) the SMP client is not the way to go.

I think we need to work out what quite powerful is.
i.e. my 4400+ Brisbane is running the SMP client on 64bit OpenSUSE and hasn't got to within 24HR's... yet, closeish on some WU's though(2608,2609)
It's on 24/7 (Apart from when I've killed the MOBO, CPU or No.1 HD... :roll: )

Currently:
Project: 2605
Downloaded: June 20, 03:53
Preffered Deadline: June 23,03:53
Final Deadline: June 24, 03:53

Estimated Deadline: June 21, 23:32,
PPD 994.53
Courtesy of FahMon.



Anybody else got any info to help build a guideline?


Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:54 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:30 am
Posts: 151
Location: Beds, UK
Hi Folks and Folkesses,

am running XP SMP client on Asus Striker, 2gb ram and C2D6600 at stock. Have had no instability issues since it was installed (2 months?) and am folding 1% every 15mins on this current 2610 project :lol:

Also running normal XP client on 3.2 prescott, 1gb ram....was reading this thread and it suggested I might be able to run the SMP client on it? can you give details (unless its obvious..ie just install and run it :wink: )

cheers, Myth

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary and those who don't.
My Folds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:11 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
My "new" Opteron 165 OC'd to 2.7 (wouldn't have tried if I hadn't been drunk, as posted in OT) running Linux SMP on SuSE 10.2 completes 1% in about 18:40 (circa 32 hours - 36 hours for a full WU, depending on the WU). It's using about 1.2-1.3 Gb of ram constantly. The core duo laptop at 1.83 (not core 2 duo) and 1 Gb ram takes about 50 hours to complete an SMP WU using the windows client.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7335
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Greetings,

ryboto wrote:
jaganath wrote:
we should really warn people that unless they have quite a powerful machine and can let it Fold at high utilisation (90%+?) the SMP client is not the way to go.


My Opteron 170 completed windows SMP WU's with 35% time to deadline remaining, and it was running at stock, 2.0ghz. To me that implies that even the slowest X2 dual core can handle it, I can't speak for Pentium D machines though.


Does the Opteron have 1MB L2 caches? My X2 4200+ has only 512KB L2 caches...

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 2:36 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:30 am
Posts: 151
Location: Beds, UK
I was gutted when Nathan breezed past me...am glad I'm catching up again! If I can just beat Kansakilla to that goalpost first...i'll give myself a prize 8)

btw TSC may stand for 'The Source Code' but I'm not sure.

And I think SPCR should get extra points for folding QUIETER than the rest :wink:

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary and those who don't.
My Folds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:22 pm
Posts: 2465
Location: Vancouver, BC
Myth! wrote:
btw TSC may stand for 'The Source Code' but I'm not sure.


http://tsc.overclockers.ru/: "The Successful Crunchers! Russia"

_________________
Thinkpad X200 – SSD bliss, T60p – loud hard drive, Core Duo whine :(
Nothing endures but change


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:04 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
Neil,
Both the Opteron 165 and 170 have 2 x 1 MB level 2 cache.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:50 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4242
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Well we keep slipping, we're down to 130 users, and we can't expect vg30et to continue towing the line.

About 6 weeks ago team 18, ABXZone was on our list of teams we could overtake. When I first looked it would take us 8.3 years to catch up to them. :shock:

With progress we dropped that to 2.1 years. Then it jumped up again. Now we either can't catch up to them at all or it will take more than 30 years. Currently we are in no position to overtake anyone. :(

Come on people :!:

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:54 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4242
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
vg30et wrote:
Sadly I've had several SMP WU's take >5 days on a dual proc Xeon 2.4GHz machine. From what I have read, I would get no credit for these units as they are over the final deadline. I have been forced to run 4x individual instances on these machines.


??? Why have I gotten points for work units that have taken 10-14 days to complete ???

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:52 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
im going to have to look into the SMP client then..

so if i understand correctly, the WINDOWS smp client is faster than 2 single clients (on a dual CPU box) ?

if so, i'll definately switch over, as I only run folding while sleeping and at work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 8:46 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
NeilBlanchard wrote:

Does the Opteron have 1MB L2 caches? My X2 4200+ has only 512KB L2 caches...


yea, I think that's the issue. My lab computer is an x2 4200, and it takes approximately 44min/frame, whereas my opteron at 2.0ghz gets 30min/frame. Almost 15 minutes less on a chip that's 200mhz slower. The cache makes a huge impact, if we don't assume it's memory related.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 12:22 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Seattle
kittle wrote:
so if i understand correctly, the WINDOWS smp client is faster than 2 single clients (on a dual CPU box) ?

Yes, I have 2 dual core machines folding, and my PPD more than doubled :shock: when I switched from the standard console to SMP.

_________________
Antec P180B | Corsair HX520 | Gigabyte DS3L | E8400 @ 3.6 GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800 | EVGA 8800GTS | 2x Samsung HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:01 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4242
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Hey Plissken,

How the heat from your NB? I'm going to jack up my E6400 once I mod my "utlimate" case. Haha.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:57 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:22 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Seattle
It's pretty hot, but I'm not sure exactly how hot. Speedfan shows "system" temp gets up to around 52C.
My system has been folding for months now, with no blue screens or errors, so it seems stable enough. :)
I use the stock NB heatpipe heatsink, removed the dumb foil cover, didn't replace the TIM (yet), no fan blowing directly on it, but good airflow.

_________________
Antec P180B | Corsair HX520 | Gigabyte DS3L | E8400 @ 3.6 GHz | Noctua NH-U12F | 2GB Ballistix DDR2-800 | EVGA 8800GTS | 2x Samsung HD501LJ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:27 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
Plissken wrote:
kittle wrote:
so if i understand correctly, the WINDOWS smp client is faster than 2 single clients (on a dual CPU box) ?

Yes, I have 2 dual core machines folding, and my PPD more than doubled :shock: when I switched from the standard console to SMP.

Well I setup the SMP client on my main PC last nite. i'll have to see how much faster it goes.

other pc needs .net installed first, that should come this weekend.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:20 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
well after letting the SMP clients run on overnite friday, sat & sun on my 2 PCs, it seems much slower. Gauging by the number of percent points complete, 2 copies of the FAH client run 1.5 to 2x as fast as the smp version on the same PC.

anyone else see stuff like this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am
Posts: 105
kittle wrote:
well after letting the SMP clients run on overnite friday, sat & sun on my 2 PCs, it seems much slower. Gauging by the number of percent points complete, 2 copies of the FAH client run 1.5 to 2x as fast as the smp version on the same PC.

anyone else see stuff like this?


SMP may run slower but it should give you a lot more points than a regular WU. To see your ppd total, try using fahmon (http://fahmon.silent-blade.org/)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7335
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello,

If you are running the Windows SMP client on a slower dual core (esp. one with smaller L2 caches), then it may or may not be worthwhile. However, if it has larger caches, and/or you are running the Linux SMP client, then the PPD will be 3-4X higher than two instances of the "regular" F@H client on the same machine.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 11:44 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 4:44 pm
Posts: 336
Location: San Jose, CA
vg30et wrote:

SMP may run slower but it should give you a lot more points than a regular WU. To see your ppd total, try using fahmon (http://fahmon.silent-blade.org/)


ahh so it does.. had to update my old fahMon, and I see the single cpu WUs are 200-600 points, whereas the smp ones are 1500-1700
Definately worth the wait for them to complete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:55 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 1439
Location: New Hampshire, US
I just got two of my friends to start SMP folding for me. I think they have X2's running at 2.2 and 2.4ghz. Small caches compared to my opteron, but my lab computer completes the WU's before the deadline, so I'm not worried. Also, a friend of mine is building a Quad core machine, and has said that he'll fold for me in return for my help assembling. And he's also going to fold with his PS3 under my username. Should be interesting to see how this all adds up.

_________________
F@H
Oldest Setup
Old
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1624 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 55  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group