It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 356 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

How is your Antec Neo HE PSU working out?
Works great, no problems 48%  48%  [ 129 ]
Works, but... (provide details) 14%  14%  [ 37 ]
It failed (provide details) 38%  38%  [ 102 ]
Total votes : 268
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:35 pm
Posts: 7
Well, it took a while - but I finally got my package from Antec last week...they sent me a brand new, retail 430W Antec Neo HE. I wasn't able to install it until this weekend, but I'm pleased to report that it's running great. Antec still needs to work on their communication/RMA setup, but at least my new PC is finally up & running.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:06 am
Posts: 14
Location: AZ
I love mine. Quiet, no whine, no noise, doesn't get hot, and looks great thanks to mod cables. Powers the rig in sig quite nicely. Here's a screenie.

Mod edit: Please keep images smaller than 800 pixels wide.

_________________
Stacker 810 PC P&C 610 8 120’s Gigabyte X58-UD3R 2.0 i7 930 TRUE
6GB Kingston 2000 GTX 470 Auzen Forte Striped Velociraptors and a Mirror


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:28 pm
Posts: 11
hi folks i haven't had time to read up on the 430w neo HE that came with a p150 case I bought the other day, but I noticed in Abit EQ monitoring software that for the -5V reading it says +3.5 and it's in Red. I'm just wondering, is this normal and if not how serious is it? What does it mean??

My motherboard is older.. Abit NF7-S

Thanks for any help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 5
The NeoHE series PSUs are ATX12V version 2.2 compliant. They do not provide any output at -5 volts. If for some strange reason your MB requires -5 volts, then the NeoHE is not for you.

More likely there is some sort of mismatch between the sensors on the board and the monitoring software.

ATX12V version 2.2 PSUs provide:

+12 volts (lots of current capability, multiple outputs)
+5 volts
+3.5 volts
-12 volts (tiny current)
+5 volts, always on for computer standby


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11830
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
-5V has not been needed since ATX12V first appeared. Years and years.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:50 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:30 am
Posts: 151
Location: Beds, UK
unless you are running your fans backwards :wink:

_________________
There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary and those who don't.
My Folds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 7:55 am
Posts: 63
Location: Houston, TX
My NeoHE worked fine for a while, then seemingly died. However it does still work on some other motherboards, just not the one it was purchased to go with (a Tyan socket-939 workstation board).

I did not try to engage Antec in the warranty process.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 3
My NeoHE 550W seems to work on my ASUS boards but with others i've tried such as Foxconn it fails and doesn't boot. It's a shame and now that i've had it for approximately 10 months or so, the noise of the 80mm fan is starting to increase.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London
A brief update on my Neo 380 which I posted on last year, a unit made in Sep 05.

It never gave me any trouble, but the coil-whine I mentioned, although it didn't get any worse, was irksome enough (late-night) that I reinstalled the 300w Nexus a few months ago - and what a relief it was to go back to the sound of nothing but the gentle whooshing of big, slow fans.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 10:37 am
Posts: 148
Well I received a ripped warranty sticker S051201 A21 series he430 inside my P150 which was ordered from Provantage April 27, 2007, and it did not power up my system, The P150 has 2005-12-20 stamped on the main board tray.

The power unit has been rma'ed. I hope the one sent back will work.

On a side note the system spec below powers up fine using the power unit spec'ed here. http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/ ... _spec.html

For reference the systems specs
Opteron 148 @ 2.8
Scythe Ninja
BioStar T-Force 939
1.5GB DDR 400
Geforce 6100
Nec ND-3550A
Samsung MP0402H 40GB
WD800JD SATA-80GB
WD2500YS SATA-250GB
Silverstone SST-ST365

So is anyone else having issues still with this unit Or has it been fixed?

Or is it just a case of getting old stock?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Update.
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 4:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 10:37 am
Posts: 148
I received a replacement case dated Jan 06, and was able to test the system with the neohe430 that was in it. The unit was a revA4 s0604XXXXXXX, and the system ran fine.

I had to put that power unit in the damaged case to be returned to the company though.

A new neohe 430 is on the way to replace the one that I had shipped to antec, and it should be here tomorrow.

So it seems this is a case of getting old stock.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Update.
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:16 pm
Posts: 326
Location: Guelph, Canada
SD-Plissken wrote:
...
So it seems this is a case of getting old stock.


In that case, all the power to you! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 9:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London
Well, now.

Out of curiosity, I jumpered the long de-commsioned NEO 380's ATX connector to power it up and measured the rail voltages.

5v, no load - 5.05v
5v, single IDE CDROM - 4.42v

Too late to RMA it, I wonder?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: London
aleksunder wrote:
Well, now.

Out of curiosity, I jumpered the long de-commsioned NEO 380's ATX connector to power it up and measured the rail voltages.

5v, no load - 5.05v
5v, single IDE CDROM - 4.42v

Too late to RMA it, I wonder?


And it get's better - I'd almost forgotton that i bought and installed ithe NEO at the same time as an Inno3D GT6600 gfx card, which I ended up returning to dabs.com as faulty after much weirdness.

You think maybe that the GT6600 was actually fine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:19 pm
Posts: 2
No joy w/this attempted set up:

Antec P150 - new via Frys March '07 ($50 MIR incentive)
NeoHE 430 revision A4 w/Blue Dot beneath the A4 / SN 06040259844
(no sign of a broken PSU warranty seal)
mobo - Soltek SL-K8AN2E-GR (NIB - via New Egg November '04?)
mobo = nf3 250gb chipset, socket 754
CPU - AMD Sempron 2800+ w/OEM CPU Cooler
RAM - 2x256 (512MB) Kingston HyperX (a matched pair, also new)
HD - 40gig Maxtor PATA, used
Floppy - Sony, new
CD-ROM - Lite-On 52x, new
Vid Card - HIS gf4 ti4200 AGP 4x, used
front case fan - one Nexus 92mm, new

Fans briefly spin up, followed by near immediate shut down. Too late, I notice the Soltek mobo manual reads:

Quote:
Both main power connector and the +12V Power Connector should all be connected to a V2.03 ATX Power Supply so as to boot system with sufficient power.


So much for ATX backwards compatibility.

Trying to establish a 1 amp startup load, swapped vid card to an ATI AGP X800XT, which, unlike the lesser ti4200, requires a 4 pin molex power connection.

Still no joy. Would adding an additional Nexus 92mm front case fan get me there - to a 1 amp load condition?

Object here was to provide my 80 year old father with a readily familiar Windows 98se upgrade, hence the light configuration, modest components.

Alternative configurations and/or PSU recommendations would be most welcome. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:19 pm
Posts: 2
Rcoido wrote:


After much trial and error I discovered the following:
  • With everything plugged in and ready to go, the system will NOT POST. The fans turn on but that's it, no beeps, no video, nuttin.
  • The system WILL POST if there is NO hard drive attached to the power supply (does not matter if it is SATA or PATA, or if there is more than one, or which power cable slot its plugged in to).
  • The system WILL POST with a hard drive attached if there are NO PS/2 devices attached (ie keyboard and/or mouse).
In other words, the system will POST if you disconnect the hard drive OR if you disconnect the keyboard and mouse.

A USB mouse is not a problem, but a PS/2 one is.


UPDATE: Lucky you, Rcoido. Wish I could get that far. Swapped out the generic PS/2 Keyboard w/a new Saitek Eclipse USB Keyboard & the MS PS/2 Mouse w/a new Logitech Trackman Wheel USB Mouse. Same results: case & CPU fans spin up, PSW LED lights up, followed by immediate shutdown. No display, no post, no joy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:03 pm
Posts: 28
I've had the NeoHE 430 since about Jan 07. I've had lots of problems with the combination of the Asus P5N-E SLI mobo and the neo. I had to rma my mobo and finally got a stable setup.

I recently tried to add another 2 gig memory (two sticks) in addition to the 2x512 that I had already (both crucial Ballistix ddr2 800) and it fried my whole motherboard.

I RMA'd my mobo and now I just have the 2x1gig stick in. I'm convinced that the problem is the power supply. It still won't boot if the cd drive is open, it seems to not have enough power to post and close the cd tray at the same time. Now it sometimes won't boot when I turn it on. It starts to power up and then stops. I have to hold the power button in when I start it to get it to boot some times.

I know that there were issues with the modular aspect, and having to have things plugged into the correct jacks.

I think I'm just going to buy a Seasonic or Corsair and dump the NeoHE.

_________________
Asus P5N E-SLI -
Core 2 Duo E6600 -
BFG GeForce 7600GT OC -
Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 (2 x 1gig) -
WD 320g SATA drive -
M-Audio 24/96 -
Antec P150 case -
Antec NeoHE 430W PSU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 3
I just got an Antec P150 case with a NeoHE 430 PS in it and it won't start. The PSU is an "A4" revision with a serial number starting with S0604. The warranty sticker is intact. The installed hardware is as follows:

Gigabyte P35-DS3L motherboard
2GB Corsair RAM
Intel 6550 processor
MSI Geforce 8600GTS
Western Digital 320GB HD
NEC DVD+-RW

My situation is the same as phaedra's above. The fans and lights come on very briefly and then just shut down. Switching the power cables around does nothing and adding extra devices to try and up the load doesn't help. The system does work, however, if I use a different PSU.

I really don't understand why this same issue is still happening almost 2 years after the first reports.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 2:48 am
Posts: 20
Location: Hungary
Those of you with starting problems might try to hook up a small 5 Watt/12 Volt lightbulb to the PSU.

I use a bulb connected to a 3-pin fan header on my motherboard (Asus M2A-VM HDMI). Got the female connector and the wires from and old fan, connected the bulb to the appropriate wires, than to the motherboard and that's all.
Used the same bulb with my prewious MB (Asus K8N), too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:21 am
Posts: 2
I got my NeoHE 430W from a friend who bought the P150-PSU combo as thanks for helping him set up and overclock his PC. While the PSU has worked flawlessly with my DFI nF2 Ultra B, I was unable to get it to boot with a Biostar TForce6100-754 board.

Model: Antec NeoHE 430W
Serial: S0511004439*
- PSU warranty seal was broken when I received it

* I have no idea what the last number is b/c I'm too lazy to take off the PSU cage

Working System:
DFI nF2 Ultra B
AthlonXP 2500+ Mobile
1GB (2x512) PC2700 HyperX
MSI Ti4600 (fanless Zalman)
160GB 7200.7 Seagate SATA
74GB WD Raptor (00FLC0) SATA
P180B w/ 3 Stock Fans

Nonworking System:
Biostar TForce6100-754
Sempron 3100+ Palermo core
1GB (2x512) PC3200 Infineon
eVGA 7600GT KO
250 GB Samsung SP2504C SATA
Microfly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 307
Location: (near) Berlin, Germany
I want to report that I had no problems whatsoever with my NeoHE.

I used it with a Gigabyte K8N SLI - no problems - and I'm using it with my sig system (Gigabyte 965P-DS3, GF8600GTS et cetera...)

No whines, gentlest fan noise. Nice unit.

_________________
My system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 116
sorry if this was mentioned already, but are there any revision numbers to look out for before buying this power supply?

_________________
[ AthlonX2 4000+ | Antec P150 | Suspended WD 500GB SATA | Antec NeoHE430 | Sapphire Radeon X1900GT | Thermalright HR-03 ]

[ TBredB1800+@1.57/1.4v | TT SilentBoost w/ Arctic Cooling Fan 3 @ 5V | Foam-mounted Maxtor 200GB IDE | Enermax NoiseTaker 370W | ATI Radeon 9700 Pro ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Antec Neo HE 430 failed
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:46 am
Posts: 1
Hi!

I also received Antec NeoHe power supply with case P150, everything was working fine until yesterday. I have had it over a year allready. Case itself is ok, although its little too small for my componets. But it failed yesterday after I updated my motherboards bios, it tries to start (lights on, fans spinning and then something like clicking sound and off, it goes over and over like this, only possibility is that it's coming from power supply).

Serial Nro is S05120131386

too bad, it was very silent and had modular wires (very good for this little case), now I have but in Seasonics S12 500W supply, hoping that it will boot ok.

My system specs are:
mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
processor: core duo E6600
memory: Corsair XMS2 2x1Gt sticks
graphics card: MSI HD2600XT
hard drives: 3 drives
cd/dvd: Samsung sata drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 307
Location: (near) Berlin, Germany
Maybe you fried you BIOS?

_________________
My system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 7
Wow, I wish I had discovered this thread earlier. I spent so much time trying to figure out what was wrong, and I came across this thread by luck on google. I have the NeoHE430 and have the same problem of on boots where fans start up, then everything shuts down. Then I have to wait for a while to get it to turn on, or repeatedly hit the power button until it decides to turn on. I was using it with an Asus A8N-SLI btw. RMAing it to Antec today, hopefully the latest revisions won't be having this issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:14 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 7:18 am
Posts: 1070
Location: UK
Hi All, I have a NeoHE430 that came with a P150 purchased Jan 2007. S/N S06090342614, it’s been powering my system (Asus P5B-E Plus, E6600, 2GB RAM, X1950, 500GB HDD, DVD & DVD-RW) just fine mostly 24/7 since then. Most of the time it’s over-clocked 3 – 3.3GHz and folding (CPU & GPU!) so it’s had a good workout. I would estimate on my hardest benchmarking runs with CPU @3.6GHz that there is towards 200w of DC load.
Just a thought. has anyone with problems tried rearranging the order/positions of the modular cables?
On the plus side for the NeoHE my case has a blow hole that’s an intake and I think the majority of the air into it comes from the blowhole and is therefore at ambient temp and not “pre-heated.â€

_________________
i7 2600k under NH-C14 w/2xTY-140PWM fans, P8P67Deluxe, 8GB RAM, GTX560Ti OC w/TwinTurbo II and BIOS fanspeed mod. 2x120GB HyperX 3K RAID 0 & 2TB EARX in Scythe QuietDrive outside case. Antec Signature 650 fan swapped. CoolerMaster 201C with 2x92 + lower 92mm fan out rear, holes-in-floor and mesh top+front intakes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 307
Location: (near) Berlin, Germany
Earlier in this thread I wrote that I'm satisfied with my NeoHE. Well, I'm no more. Last week it died after a year or so of flawless operation. I had some early warning signs before (had to push power button repeatedly, had to disconnet power and discharge PSU), but I didn't take them serious or blamed the mainboard. But then one day after a nice match of World in Conflict I wanted to boot my machine - but it refused to. I tried the usual tricks and treats, but nothing worked. Then I disconnected almost everything, and passed POST. Then, after reconnecting my disks and stuff, it refused entirely to do anything.

Now I own a S12II 430, and I'm happy so far. Detachable cables were a nice feature, but not that significant in a P180 lightly modded to a P182 cable-wise :D

_________________
My system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:39 pm
Posts: 28
mexell wrote:
Earlier in this thread I wrote that I'm satisfied with my NeoHE. Well, I'm no more. Last week it died after a year or so of flawless operation. I



I hope everyone who is having problems with their NEO-HE PSUs is sending them back to antec for replacements. I think they have a 5 year warrantee and Antec very good about replacing them. I had a NEO HE 500 that worked fine with an Intel DP965LT but it wouldn’t work when I recently tried it with a new Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 board (fans spun up and down etc). I have not had a chance to test the replacement yet but it has a newer S/N. I also had a smartpower 350 fail about 6 months ago (they replaced it with a SP400).

Even if you already replaced it with another brand, you should get Antec to send you a new one so that you’ll have a spare.

GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 307
Location: (near) Berlin, Germany
Quote:
Even if you already replaced it with another brand, you should get Antec to send you a new one so that you’ll have a spare.


That was exactly my plan :D. It's always good to have a spare. I don't even think that the fault I faced is something too uncommon. I just might have hit the wrong end of the good'ol Gaussian curve...

I was always very satisfied with Antec's service so far.

_________________
My system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:38 pm
Posts: 7
Well, I got a new PSU back from RMA. I'm wondering if I should just ebay it as brand new, or take a chance of using it in my system again. Ebay/paypal fees, and shipping PSUs kinda suck. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 356 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group