It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3800+ Dual core system, 37 Watts idle, POST YOUR STATS HERE!
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3
Stats baby! it's all about the stats! If you know you're rigs power consumption please post it here along with your configuration so we will see once and for all who has the most pride and showmanship!

CPU: AMD|A64 X2 3800+65W AM2 2.0G R (running at stock speeds and voltages.)
PSU: Pico PSU
Hard drive: 250GB IDE desktop drive
Video: Integrated video
MB: ASROCK ALIVENF6G-DVI GF6100 AM2
RAM: 2GB DDR2 Kingston value ram.
DVD/CD: SH-S182M/BEBN BK
Idle Watts at wall: 37


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:57 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Minnesota
60w with 3 disks and a normal power supply [vx-450], be-2300, asus motherboard... well you can check the specs in sig :)

_________________
Chris Randel
Network Administrator, Quiet Enthusiast.
Corsair 600t
Lian-Li Q08 FS
Lian-Li Q07 Pics
New - P183 Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
3600+ power measurements (they're a few posts down)

With the 3600+ at CnQ idle was about 41w. This was with integrated 6100, though. My current idle power consumption is probably 10-15w higher because of the 7600GT. All other system specs are the same.

_________________
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:23 pm
Posts: 167
64w on my 4000+ 2.0 :/. I'm eying my PSU...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:32 am
Posts: 489
Location: UK
Er em, am I missing something :)

Why is this thread posted in General Gallery?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 2:07 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I think a more valid measurment is how much work can be done per watt. There was a brief thread under the folding folder, points per day per watt.

My X2 4000+ running flat out FAH SMP is using 95 watts, and its OC'd 15% as well. It idles with 65 watts, and its spinning 3 fans full speed, though 2 would probably suffice.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 4:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:51 pm
Posts: 16
Err, I don't think this is a way to measure power consumtion. :? This is only the apparent power measured at the wall. The energy is measured in KWh (kilo watts per hour) this is active power only measured by counters and the way they bill you, unless you own a very big factory and then you'll pay the aparent power too :oops: . The real power consuption is much more complex. I won't enter too deep, to start a dispute (like the rest of the world - see AMD with their new measure of power consumption - average power consumption, and Intel with their TDP -which is not maximum, but relative too. They fight every day with new sheets and graphics but still no use.)


Question is, how did you measured the power? With a multimeter and extracted the watts out of Amperes and Volts? Or have you used a power analyzer like Extech?? (http://www.extech.com/instrument/catego ... yzers.html)

You know that the PC consumes every time a different intensity, do you?
I mean the consumption is not linear, is like in waves, like a sinus.

In order to find the power in KWh you need to test it exactly an hour :lol: and then you will know to add or subtract with the price of the KWh unit. In my country the KWh is about 50 cents /KWh :shock: and my counter spins like a helicopter :shock: .

Anyway I can't enter here to compete with other PC's, with or without apparent or real power. :(

Plus the others are right, the post sould be moved into the right section...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:28 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
With a kill-a-watt.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 766
Location: Colorado, USA
59W at the wall, measured with a P3 Kill-a-watt. Power factor .99 obviously.

If you want to get technical, you could call them VA, or volt-amps. But the very definition of power is voltage * current, so watts seems appropriate. This is of course if your power factor is unity. I don't know, I stopped taking electrical engineering courses 4 years ago, lol.

x2 3800+ Windsor core @ stock voltage, check hardware specs in my sig "HTPC", this is with a TV card installed in the PCI-E slot as well. EA380 PS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:41 pm
Posts: 177
Location: Buffalo, NY
Fanless [email protected] with 2GB solid state storage, 19W.
Gaming rig, 2.2GHz X2, GeForce 7.8: 75W idle, 145W load.
19" CRT, 100W.

And yes, why IS this in the Gallery?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 2:11 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Plymouth MN
wyse winterm 3230le
300 MHz National Geode GX1
running custom Damn Small linux off of 2gb flash drive
13 watts max


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Posts: 766
Location: Colorado, USA
Hey cheapshot, you should undervolt that badboy. Is it a windsor core or a brisbane core?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group