It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ideal wattage for 24/7 server?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:01 am
Posts: 13
Location: CA
Just wondering whats everyones thought on the ideal power consumption on a 24/7 home server would be?

Just wanted see what the range would be, also any idea's of what the power consumption price in southern california is?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
A bit too general to answer easily. What types of things will it be doing? eg. media (audio, video or both) streaming, simple file serving/storage, web server, database server, e-mail server, etc. And how many workstation processes will be accessing it simultaneously? How many hard drives? RAID? Will it be on a UPS? Power consumption could range from 50 watts for a simple single drive file server to a couple of hundred watts for a busy streaming media, database or web server.

_________________
Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:01 am
Posts: 13
Location: CA
ahh sorry...

was thinking along the lines of a simple media/streaming server, less than 4 drives, no ups.

I have one built with 3 drives running windows server 2008 and power consumption is around 59w load
SPECS

Commell LE-565 VIA C7 1.5Ghz
768 DDR
20gb 2.5" Toshiba
2x640 WD AAKS
Sparkle 180w MATX PSU

Would this be ideal consumption for 24/7 media server or can I go lower i.e. amd 780g + low power am2 cpu?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 2:21 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
59W is pretty good, and about 10W less than my 780g/ Athlon LE-1640.
I don't have the most efficient PSU though - but it was lying around and I can buy quite a few watts for the cost of a new one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 270
Location: CA
Fit-PC Slim, uses 5-6 Watts. I have it as torrent box, some filesharing, pluse a few other things. Running Ubuntu 8.10 at present.

_________________
My "quiet PC" build: E7500@stock, Ninja RevB (passive), Gigabyte DS3, Corsair 520HX, Antec Solo, Sapphire 5750 Vapor-X , WD Velociraptor, 4Gb G.Skill DDR2-800.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 4:49 pm
Posts: 336
Location: Upper left hand corner, USA
The ideal power consumption would be 0 watts.

(Negative infinity would be good too, except for the size of the power conduits to connect it to the grid. ;-) )

Approaching the ideal - something that will hibernate when not in use and wake up from hibernation reliably (e.g. on timer, wake on LAN, etc.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Pieris - Italy
tnynyn wrote:
ahh sorry...

was thinking along the lines of a simple media/streaming server, less than 4 drives, no ups.

I have one built with 3 drives running windows server 2008 and power consumption is around 59w load
SPECS

Commell LE-565 VIA C7 1.5Ghz
768 DDR
20gb 2.5" Toshiba
2x640 WD AAKS
Sparkle 180w MATX PSU

Would this be ideal consumption for 24/7 media server or can I go lower i.e. amd 780g + low power am2 cpu?


my 24/7 server use 29W in idle and 39W in full cpu, of course measured with wattmeter.

I have a

sempron mobile sms series 25W tdp 2800+ at 1.1V
asrock K8NF4G-SATA2
512Mb ddr 400@266
250GB 2.5" samsung sataII.
picopsu 120W WI + 60W 19V brick

I use vnc to controll it, no usb used and all disabled by bios.

before I had a via that use more power than now with less computational power.

may be with a WD GP 1TB you have to add 4W more.


another configuration I can suggest you is

intel e5200@def 1.1V
giga g31m-s2l
1GB ddr2 800@400
2.5" samsung sata II

I had a similar config, but with g33m instead of g31m, that use 38W in idle


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
Definite, no, on the E5200 system.

Sempron LE-1250 @1.6GHz + 740G -- 22W full load.

Might be able to save more with a Abit AN-M2 which allows more undervolting.


Ideal: XScale based <1W

Nice: Atom Z540 + US15W -- 4.7W TDP.

Atom is better than Geode in the Fit-PC Slim, but not really worth it when paired with any of the power hungry 945G variants.

You will need a special power supply to get efficiency at these low loads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:51 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1726
Location: Northern California.
No UPS on a file server? Are you mad?

Might as well mount the drives with rare earth magnets. :lol:


...


Lowest wattage would be a server running off solar with enough back up to last the length of long periods of cloud cover for you micro climate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:55 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1009
Location: Vancouver
My server is 59W idle.

X2 4000+ @ 1Ghz/0.800V
1GB DDR2
Asus M2A-VM (690G)
3 x 1TB 7200 RPM hard drives (Seagate & Samsung)
Seasonic SS-400ET


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 715
Location: UK
I guess it depends what you want. For just a low power server for NAS and downloading the Sempron is hard to beat. It's both cheap and low power. Suitable mobos are a bit more expensive but that is offset by the cheap CPU and power savings.

You will get good performance from that kind of set up too. The only time it might lag a bit is with heavy processing, say using encryption.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 715
Location: UK
xan_user wrote:
No UPS on a file server? Are you mad?


How much power does a UPS take though?

With NTFS or EXT3 power cuts are not really a problem anyway.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:12 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1726
Location: Northern California.
MoJo wrote:
xan_user wrote:
No UPS on a file server? Are you mad?


How much power does a UPS take though?

With NTFS or EXT3 power cuts are not really a problem anyway.


http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/vi ... 1efe577b2a

Well worth it imo, especially if you've ever lost mobo,cpu,hdd's to a 30 second brown out.
:cry:
My friend runs a readynas and says it takes hours to reboot after a power failure. He gets short power outages a few times a month (lives in a suburb of San Diego.) The $40 bux spent and a few watts juice is well worth it to him.

But roll the dice if you want.

If I fix someones PC I only guarantee my work if they are running a UPS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:08 pm
Posts: 1407
Location: Michigan
MoJo wrote:
How much power does a UPS take though?.

The new Tripp Lite Smart 1000 LCD connected to my iMac takes 10W with nothing plugged in, and a fully charged battey. I tested an old APC BackUPS on another system which took 7W. We have direction from management to turn our systems off at night, but it is really the UPSs that are using more power, and no one shuts those off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 715
Location: UK
It's worse than just the power needed to run the UPS though, as most are not that efficient at the low end. See this post for example:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/vi ... 155#275155

77% efficient...

Here in the UK we don't seem to have the kinds of problems you guys in the US do. Power cuts are very rare and brown-outs are unheard of, at least down here in Hampshire.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:01 am
Posts: 13
Location: CA
Thinking of upgrading my server to a low powered amd...kind of sluggish with the via chipset/cpu and windows server 2008..i did test mine with a kill-a-watt and max on load is 59w..i also have a amd be-2400 and a gigabyte 780g mobo with a 80gb hd, 2gb ddr2 and a dvdrw and it sees around 100w+ load when testing with the kill-a-watt, so im not so sure about that anymore...

i dont really need a ups since its just media, nothing majorly important..they can be re-ripped, although i do have an apc surge protector..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:55 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1726
Location: Northern California.
tnynyn wrote:
Thinking of upgrading my server to a low powered amd...kind of sluggish with the via chipset/cpu and windows server 2008..i did test mine with a kill-a-watt and max on load is 59w..i also have a amd be-2400 and a gigabyte 780g mobo with a 80gb hd, 2gb ddr2 and a dvdrw and it sees around 100w+ load when testing with the kill-a-watt, so im not so sure about that anymore...

i dont really need a ups since its just media, nothing majorly important..they can be re-ripped, although i do have an apc surge protector..


in that case then, no ups is obviuolsy fine.

When i read "home server", i thought the data was important.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 1:20 am
Posts: 85
MoJo wrote:
Here in the UK we don't seem to have the kinds of problems you guys in the US do. Power cuts are very rare and brown-outs are unheard of, at least down here in Hampshire.


On the Isle of Wight, a brown-out is when it's been raining in the night prior to the farmer moving his cows to an opposing field.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 715
Location: UK
tnynyn wrote:
i also have a amd be-2400 and a gigabyte 780g mobo with a 80gb hd, 2gb ddr2 and a dvdrw and it sees around 100w+ load when testing with the kill-a-watt, so im not so sure about that anymore...


The amount at load isn't really important, since the server will be idle 99% of the time. Even if you run BitTorrent the CPU will barely be loaded. With that combo and a good PSU you could expect around 30W idle without any effort.

In fact, even if you rip and re-encode media with it you will still probably save money, because although you use more power when doing it the encoding is much faster than on the very slow Via CPU. You use more watts but for less time, so the overall kilowatt hours will probably be lower.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Posts: 715
Location: UK
The Gangrel wrote:
On the Isle of Wight, a brown-out is when it's been raining in the night prior to the farmer moving his cows to an opposing field.


I live just over the water in Portsmouth! We get regular brown outs in the fine establishments on Albert Road every Friday and Saturday night, but that has nothing to do with the electricity supply.

_________________
http://world3.net


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group