It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 8:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 1650 ppd on a 3850 - does this seem right?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
Q6600 with a 3850. Core priority on the console SMP client is set to idle. Core priority on the systray version of the GPU client is set to "slightly higher."

1650 ppd from the 3850.

2300 ppd from the cpu.

Is this about right?

BTW--I bit the bullet and assigned 100% to the cpu client instead of previous 90% per Aristide. Pandora will have to stutter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:34 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 2425
Location: Earth
I wonder if you could do anything with priorities? FAH should be running at a priority just above the idle process, but that would be worth verifying. Pandora is a browser app so there isn't a lot you can do about that, except try bumping the priority of your browser by one step to see if it helps with the stuttering.

_________________
Join SPCR's Folding Team! <-- Click Here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:12 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I use Bill2's Process Manager. GPU is 1 setting above average, and SMP is dead last, ie only when there's nothing else to do.

Does my video seem a little slow when scrolling in 2D? Yes. Video and other stuff works just fine.

Bill2s PM can be had over at MajorGeeks, and it remembers settings so you don't have to reprogram it every time you give your system DAS BOOT.

I think KKs PPD are about right. If you're running Windows, any version except 7, then you would gain points running that affinity program and 2 iterations of SMP. Stanford doesn't like it but it's worth 1000PPD on average. Problem is Windows doesn't distribute the work efficiently, and the last core doesn't do all that much (another reason not worry about cpu allocation). Win 7 resolves this. Not a problem with Linux, they always got more PPD in SMP with identical hardware.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
Do you prefer Bill2's process manager over Process Lasso or affinity changer?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:28 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I have zip experience with the others, and Bills worked for an newb like me.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
aristide1 wrote:
I think KKs PPD are about right. If you're running Windows, any version except 7, then you would gain points running that affinity program and 2 iterations of SMP.


Can you run two iterations of SMP with a GPU folding at the same time? And it's an ATI card, not an Nvidia with that low CPU usage with the most recent drivers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Whats your CPU usage look like? If its like 50% (1 cpu full load) then forget it.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 6:14 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
it's full usage. i've assigned the systray version of the gpu client to "slightly higher" and the console version to "idle."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group