It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can I configure my network this way? (illustrated)
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Sweden
Hello!

I am not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but I'll give it a try. I am wondering if it is possible to configure my network as illustrated in this picture:

http://www.jwebb.se/images/network.png

I want that all computers will get Internet access.
I hope you can help me!

Yours sincerely
Johan

_________________
I apologize if my English is bad, I am from Sweden.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:55 am
Posts: 41
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
try it this way

The important items are:
1. only one router is set as DHCP host; the other set in AP mode.
2. each router have a unique ssid.

You can bridge 2 wlan routers wirelessly if the firmware of the routers support it, all you need is the mac address of the main router and the transmission settings on the second router to be the same as the first(channel,security,mixed b/g/possibly n), and possibly depending on your slave router, disable dhcp functions.

_________________
Antec300+Scythe140mm@500rpm+2x120mm@800rpm/Silencer420W/GB-EP35DS3/E5200+FreezerPro7/8800GTS+AcceleroS1/G.Skill2x1GB-DDR1066/WD5000AAKS+ST3250 :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Posts: 400
Location: Orlando, FL
I did something similar when I was at my parents house a while ago, though it was 2 wireless routers wired to each other since the "main" router's signal didn't go upstairs well. So, I'm pretty sure it is possible, though it might be a pain to set up.

_________________
Main Rig: Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400
Laptop: Asus UL80VT-A1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Sweden
Thank you for your answers!
For the moment, I am not where the routers are, but I will try following your instructions when I get there.

Best regards
Johan

_________________
I apologize if my English is bad, I am from Sweden.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:53 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Plymouth, MI
Looking at my DI-624 interface, it doesn't seem that way.

You would need an alternate firmware possibly. Or, if the wireless can reach the 2nd D-Link, just get a USB or PCI wireless adapter for the 2nd pc instead?

_________________
R.I.P. Felger Carbon & cpemma


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Sweden
psiu wrote:
Looking at my DI-624 interface, it doesn't seem that way.

You would need an alternate firmware possibly. Or, if the wireless can reach the 2nd D-Link, just get a USB or PCI wireless adapter for the 2nd pc instead?


Thank you for your reply!
Well, the wireless signal from the DI-524UP reaches all the computers without any problems, but I don't want to buy wireless network cards for computer 2 and 3. Therefore I thought I could use the DI-624+ (which I already own) to convert the wireless signal from the DI-524UP to ethernet connections. When I get to the place where the routers are, I will check if it is possible to upgrade the firmware. If anyone has any more ideas, I would like to hear. :)

Best regards
Johan

_________________
I apologize if my English is bad, I am from Sweden.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:53 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Plymouth, MI
Try checking over at DSLReports.com -- they are smart over there :)

Also they have lots of FAQS which might have an answer already.

_________________
R.I.P. Felger Carbon & cpemma


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group