It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 150 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
Monkeh16 wrote:
I don't see how it can be a software problem, but if the machine boots from S5 it should boot from S3 too. It could easily be the board (DP35DPs are good boards, but.. far from perfect).

Thanks. I agree that it is really strange that the PSU turns on from S5 but not S3. However, I think the board does all it can, by pulling PS_ON# to ground. This is exactly what it is supposed to do and in S5 it works; yet in S3 it doesn't.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 507
Location: England
It's possible it's pulling far too much current from +5VSB when booting from S3 and causing the PSU to shut off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
Monkeh16 wrote:
It's possible it's pulling far too much current from +5VSB when booting from S3 and causing the PSU to shut off.

Agreed, but I cannot remove the last DIMM module, and I did remove ALL USB devices. Moreover, the voltage on +5VSB is 4.95V, which indicates to me that it's not overloaded, and this voltage does not change at all when I press the power button. The only thing that changes is that PS_ON# goes to 0V immediately. The fan of the PSU does not move at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7373
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hi,

Did you test the PSU with a wire in the green pin? Sometimes this "stretches" the contact sleeve enough to keep it from making consistent contact.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Did you test the PSU with a wire in the green pin? Sometimes this "stretches" the contact sleeve enough to keep it from making consistent contact.

Thanks for your hint. I did push a wire into the ATX connector's green and black pins and the voltage goes from 3.8 to 0V when I press the power button during S3. So the green wire MUST be making contact with the mainboard, otherwise it would not transition to 0V.

I'd be interested to hear from other users (or SPCR) if they had any issues with S3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 192
Location: USA
zhell,

Just to let you know, I bought a Nexus Value 430 for another computer I built and have no problems with it. It boots fine and goes into and out of S3 sleep mode without problem. I don't have any of your measuring tools, but the voltage number I get from HWMonitor are:

ATX +3.3V = 3.33V
ATX +5V = 5.00V
ATX +12V = 12.06V

_________________
David A. Lessnau
Antec Solo w/ Scythe S-Flex SFF21E, Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3P, Intel E8400, Kingston KVR1333D3N9K2/4G, MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr, Thermalright HR-01 Plus w/ Scythe Kama PWM 120mm, SeaSonic S12 II SS-430GB, Pioneer DVR-216DBK, Intel SSDSA2MH160G2C1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
Thanks Dave, good to know, I appreciate your feedback.

Nexus let me know they also have a PSU waking up just fine in a test machine. I think it is some incompatibility between my machine and the PSU.
If I get around to do it, I'll try and take some current measurements to see if any component is drawing too much power during S3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:56 am
Posts: 41
Location: Finland
Nexus seems to have new 530W version of this PSU, Nexus NX-5000 R3. Preorder price is similar to 430 value here in Finland.

http://www.nexustek.nl/Nexus_NX-5000_Qu ... y_530W.htm

Can we expect SPCR review of this unit?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
Monkeh16 wrote:
It's possible it's pulling far too much current from +5VSB when booting from S3 and causing the PSU to shut off.

I have measured the current during S3: It is 1.1A, hence well within the specified 2.5A of the PSU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Could it possibly be just an incompatibility with the Intel board?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 10:06 am
Posts: 56
Have you also reported the problem to Intel?

Reading over the Release Notes for the latest BIOS 0572 I see that they have fixed various issues relating to S3 in this and previous BIOS releases, so it's certainly possible there are more issues not yet addressed.

I have an Intel DP43TF, and resume from S5 didn't work for me with the original BIOS that came on the board, but an update fixed the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 507
Location: England
zhell wrote:
Monkeh16 wrote:
It's possible it's pulling far too much current from +5VSB when booting from S3 and causing the PSU to shut off.

I have measured the current during S3: It is 1.1A, hence well within the specified 2.5A of the PSU.


During S3, but what about the draw when resuming?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 9:59 am
Posts: 101
Location: Home
Hello!

I bought this Nexus VALUE 430, but am afraid I have a bad unit. Voltages are fine, system boots up perfectly and gets in and out of S3 without hassle. What is making me skeptical is that a kind of "burnt electronics" scent comes out of the PSU. I've had the Nexus only three days now, and this scent is quite strong. Is this normal? Do all PSUs have this and should I be worried?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
whispercat wrote:
Could it possibly be just an incompatibility with the Intel board?

It looks like an incompatibility, yes, question is: which part is at fault. My bet is on the PSU because the board works with two other PSUs and also because Intel developed the ATX specs :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
confusion wrote:
Have you also reported the problem to Intel?

Reading over the Release Notes for the latest BIOS 0572 I see that they have fixed various issues relating to S3 in this and previous BIOS releases, so it's certainly possible there are more issues not yet addressed.

I have an Intel DP43TF, and resume from S5 didn't work for me with the original BIOS that came on the board, but an update fixed the issue.

BIOS might be part of the issue, I have tried several, including the latest versions and it made no difference at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:54 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich
Monkeh16 wrote:
zhell wrote:
Monkeh16 wrote:
It's possible it's pulling far too much current from +5VSB when booting from S3 and causing the PSU to shut off.

I have measured the current during S3: It is 1.1A, hence well within the specified 2.5A of the PSU.


During S3, but what about the draw when resuming?

It does not even begin to resume. And if I put the machine into S3, then short circuit PS_ON# to GND, it does not turn on either.
Even if I put the machine into S3, then short circuit PS_ON# to GND, then completely disconnect the PSU (while keeping PS_ON# connected to GND), the PSU does not turn on either. Only when I then briefly release PS_ON#, then pull it back down, it turns on.

This leads me to conclude that the PSU detects some problem during S3 and decides not to turn on any more -- n no matter if the problem persists or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:56 am
Posts: 41
Location: Finland
I just received my Nexus Value. It's a clear improvement over my older Antec EW with scythe fan mod, but I can still hear it from one meter distance. I would say that the noise character is nice unless you put your ear right next to the psu. I don't currently have anything in my computer that could stress the power supply, but if it won't ramp up considerably under 200W load, I'm happy. This might not be the right choice for extreme silencers, but if you have even single fan running in your computer, going with passive unit won't be worth it.

Edit: Is the fan supposed to make a ticking sound?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Paris
sampo wrote:
I just received my Nexus Value. It's a clear improvement over my older Antec EW with scythe fan mod, but I can still hear it from one meter distance. I would say that the noise character is nice unless you put your ear right next to the psu. I don't currently have anything in my computer that could stress the power supply, but if it won't ramp up considerably under 200W load, I'm happy. This might not be the right choice for extreme silencers, but if you have even single fan running in your computer, going with passive unit won't be worth it.

Edit: Is the fan supposed to make a ticking sound?


I just received mine today too,
Nice improvement from the Earthwatts 380 in my NSK3480 but... the fan ticks too, when the other fans are regulated at min speed with Speedfan (2x92 Yate loons + 1 Noctua), I can definitely hear it ticking from 1 meter.

It is not strong, but silence fanatics like us would notice it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:35 am
Posts: 1
Location: NY
[quote]Edit: Is the fan supposed to make a ticking sound?[/quote]

[quote]...the fan ticks too, when the other fans are regulated at min speed with Speedfan (2x92 Yate loons + 1 Noctua), I can definitely hear it ticking from 1 meter.
It is not strong, but silence fanatics like us would notice it[/quote]

Mine clicks too! The Scythe 12mm fan I have on my ninja CPU
cooler also clicks.
Anyone tried replacing the 430 PS's fan? With which fan?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:15 am
Posts: 317
Location: Under The Desk
Nexus NX-5000

What do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Nexus Value 430 tested on 240V/50Hz
PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
just got one to replace my aging Enermax EG365P-VE (at least 6 years old) fanmodded to a single Panaflo FBA08A for my P4 2.8GHz.

when CPU is stressed (134W) and GPU is maxed out (156W), power draw is 9-11W below what it used to be, which corresponds to an increase in efficiency from 78.5% to 84% if I've properly interpreted the figures provided in the review. Seems like the old Enermax PSU wasn't that bad in the first place.

However, the Value 430 is much quieter than the Panaflo at low speed in the Enermax, and the Enermax will be a nice upgrade for my HTPC as it's much quieter than the PSU in there.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:40 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Australia
Desperately trying to source one of these in Australia. Has anybody had any luck importing them at a reasonable cost? I'd even happily settle for a used one.

Cheers all!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:31 pm
Posts: 822
Location: Melbourne, Australia
j386 wrote:
Desperately trying to source one of these in Australia. Has anybody had any luck importing them at a reasonable cost? I'd even happily settle for a used one.

I was told by one of the guys that works at PC Case Gear in Melbourne (my usual source for quiet PC parts) that the Nexus Value 430 has not received electrical safety certification in Australia, which is why they don't stock it.

If the Nexus PSU hasn't been certified in Australia, I would be a little wary about importing one and using it here.

Depending on your budget, you might want to consider the Seasonic X-series PSUs. The Seasonic X-650 seems to be hovering around $200-$210 at the moment. The lower power X-Series PSUs can be pre-ordered now: the X-400 Fanless PSU is $180 at PC Case Gear at the moment and the X-460 Fanless PSU is $200.

Finding some of the other Editor's Choice PSU's on the Recommended PSU list can be a little hard, but some of the other recommended PSUs shouldn't be too hard to locate.

_________________
My PCs:
Main PC (E5200, G31, Lian Li Q07) | Gaming PC (E6850, X38, 5870 Vapor-X, P182) | HTPC (4850e, 780G, 3450, NSK2480B)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:40 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Australia
JamieG wrote:
that the Nexus Value 430 has not received electrical safety certification in Australia

That's interesting, I wonder on what grounds it failed? Maybe they just haven't had it tested for Australian sale at all?


JamieG wrote:
the X-400 Fanless PSU is $180 at PC Case Gear

I was looking at the X-400 but wasn't really planning on getting a fanless model. Also, the price is a bit too far out of my budget (~$100). My next choice was probably (even though many people apparently don't like the brand) the Cooler Master Silent Pro M500, but I can't seem to source them in Australia either (only their 600w/$129 brothers).

The SeaSonic M12II 520W is looking pretty good, although I'm a little concerned about the noise levels. Also, I can't seem to find an efficiency graph for this PSU. Can anybody vouch for this particular model or know how it compares to other SeaSonic models?

Thanks heaps for your time!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:52 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 10:39 am
Posts: 455
Location: England
j386 wrote:

The SeaSonic M12II 520W is looking pretty good, although I'm a little concerned about the noise levels. Also, I can't seem to find an efficiency graph for this PSU. Can anybody vouch for this particular model or know how it compares to other SeaSonic models?

Thanks heaps for your time!


Don't worry about noise - up to 300W the fan is inaudible (personal experience)
See here and another glowing review can be found on jonnyguru.com

Personally, I think that at it's price point you won't get anything better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 3232
Location: ITALY
j386 wrote:
The SeaSonic M12II 520W is looking pretty good, although I'm a little concerned about the noise levels.

The freshly reviewed Antec TruePower New (also Seasonic based) looks even more promising.

Regards,
Luca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:40 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Australia
Hmm, thanks for the heads-up. Lucky I hadn't ordered yet. It seems a bit too close to call now though... lol

I wonder does the Antec carry the same 5-year warranty?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11975
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
j386 wrote:
I wonder does the Antec carry the same 5-year warranty?

yes

_________________
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:43 am
Posts: 1
j386 wrote:
JamieG wrote:
that the Nexus Value 430 has not received electrical safety certification in Australia

That's interesting, I wonder on what grounds it failed? Maybe they just haven't had it tested for Australian sale at all?


Correct, we do not have a distribution in Australia for the PSU's so until now we haven't had them tested for Australia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nexus Value 430 PSU: Affordable Silence
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:10 am
Posts: 375
Until now? So now they have been tested? What was the outcome?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 150 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group